We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Rooms, Clean, Posh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Avanshell Akasaka

Save Saved
You added Hotel Avanshell Akasaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Avanshell Akasaka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-14-14 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 93 hotels in Minato
Utsunomiya, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Big Rooms, Clean, Posh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

I'm only writing this because some previous reviews seem unreasonable. This is a very good hotel. It is all you could ask for. It costs about $130, but the third night is free. We greatly enjoyed walking around from this exellent location. I can only guess that the critics normally stay in $500 rooms.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    55
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
20
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

We booked the Avanshell using the Agoda booking service, so our twin suite came out to cost about $130 US per night. At that price, it was a fantastic deal. The rooms are absolutely huge, particularly by Japanese standards - easily three times the size of other rooms at the same price point in the neighbourhood. This was great for spreading out and packing our luggage for our return trip, and relaxing after a long day. The Akasaka location is quiet, but close to the subway and good restaurants. Staff spoke enough English to deal with all our requests with no difficulties. Free LAN access in the rooms. The balcony was a nice feature as well!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

We stayed here twice during our trip in Japan. The rooms are large (much larger than anywhere else that I have stayed in Japan), comfortable and clean. The room we stayed in had a small lounge, television, writing desk, fridge, and large cupboard. Bathroom was also very spacious. The double bed was comfortable. The hotel doesn't have any non-smoking rooms, however the staff had deodorised the room before we had arrived, so only had a faint smell of smoke. The room had free internet, if you had your own computer and lan cable. The hotel is close to Akasaka subway and a 15 minute walk from Akasaka-Mituske (which takes you directly to Ginza and Tokyo). We found the place excellent value for money and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

We stayed here late Feb 2010, no complaints, but a little on the expensive side for what it offers. Staff were friendly and the location is good (close to Akasaka metro, as well as Roppongi, Shibuya areas and a few metro stops away from Shinjuku). One positive comment is that the rooms are bigger than other hotels in Tokyo. Also, there's a great little sushi restaurant around the corner called maruisushi.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Avanshell Akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avanshell Akasaka

Address: 2-14-14 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#20 Family Hotel in Minato
#26 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avanshell Akasaka 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Rakuten, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Avanshell Akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avanshell Akasaka Hotel
Hotel Avanshell Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Avanshell Akasaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.