We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Avanshell Akasaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Avanshell Akasaka to your Saves list
Hotel Avanshell Akasaka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-14-14 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture (Akasaka / Roppongi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Mpls
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the size of my room. It had a desk, a table, two beds, and a microwave and refrigerator. The breakfast that was included was also quite good. The room was very clean. It is centrally located and the price was reasonable for the location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    59
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
25
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel is in Akasaka, a high-end location in the heart of Tokyo. For the location, the price is very reasonable. Also, it has unusually spacious rooms for Tokyo standard. The hotel is very quiet.

There are loads of restaurants and conbini stores nearby, so meals are easy to come by. Breakfast in hotel's Italian restaurant is 1,000 Yen per person, and if you are tired of that, there are other choices within 5 minutes of walk (an excellent 24x7 Korean Beef Noodle place, a few cafes, Yoshinoya, etc).

The hotel is right next to Akasaka subway station and is less than 10 minutes walk away from another nearby subway stations - together they gave you access to Chiyoda, Hibiya, Ginza, Marunochi lines and more.

There is a coin laundry closeby (3 minutes walk). Ask the front desk for direction. There are many convenience stores nearby, as well as a Japan Post office (whose ATM is super friendly to foreign debit cards).

There isn't too much shopping nearby, but Ginza / Shinjuku is a short ride away.

Free wifi is available, so is power adapter. Just ask.

The only complaint I have is the service can be a little rigid based on Japan standard. I had a few pieces of luggage that I want to store at the hotel while I travel out of city. The hotel refuses to help, with the reason being I don't have future reservation with them. This is not very friendly for I stayed in the hotel for 6 nights, and expect better treatment.

Other than that, it is definitely a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Location is quiet so all rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We loved this hotel, with it being just down the street from the B-flat Jazz Club. One
block further down is a side street full of Japanese and Korean restaurants. It's a great
area!
We paid the equivalent of 100 euro for our room and is was like a junior suite, with
ample twin beds, a kitchenette with coffee maker and a microwave oven. On one side of
the room was a nice long table for eating (or for placing our suitcases).
The bathroom was an average size and very comfortable. Water pressure in the shower
was fine.
We had the ¥1300 breakfast downstairs (about €10) and it was a small buffet where i
could enjoy sausages and eggs (leaky but tasty) and miso soup with garnishes.
My husband had cereal and very authentic and well-made croissants. Of course there
were the usual coffee, tea, juices, etc.
Being able to eat it on the terrace and observe the hustle and bustle of the street was a
plus!
The staff at the desk soeaks English and are very hospitable and helpful. This is
definitely where we'll be in our next visit.
The WIFI is free and they give you a little pouch - the antenna and accesories- to make
the connection.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillesand, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in September on a business trip. My first trip to Tokyo, and got this hotel recommended from colleagues - mainly due to size of rooms. I had a standard room and it was really spacious. Price is also very competitive compared to the more well-known hotel in the city. Staff was also very helpful with all the requests I had. It is not a luxury-hotel, but it is deinfetely one to recommend in Tokyo. I will use this next time I - without any doubt!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had 2 different rooms for our 3 day stay. Both were spacious, one with a lounge area with couch and TV, and a queen size bed, the other with a kitchenette (microwave, sink), dining table and chairs and two very large single beds. Both rooms were very spacious, with more storage than most hotels. Stylish decor, good bathroom (shower over bath). Akasaka is a vibrant and interesting area with many good eating places, bars and supermarkets. Try the one next to entry 2 of Akasaka station (right by the lane at the side of the hotel). We bought a sumptuous spread, a bottle of good Aussie wine for one meal, for 2500 Yen. Fast Wifi, excellent service and easy access to everything make this hotel a great choice and good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my 12 year old daughter at Hotel Avanshell in April. The rooms were so much larger than the typical Tokyo budget hotel, without an astronomical price. No smoking smell either! There is no restaurant in the hotel but there is breakfast available in the Italian restaurant next door. A Starbucks and Tullys are 2 mins/one block away at Akasaka Sacas, next to Akasaka subway station on the Chiyoda line.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed in the twin bed room plus massaging chair, great! The room is spacious (equipped with the Bible) and clean and so is the toilet (equipped with shampoo, conditioner, soap, hair dryer, clean towels, bath robes, etc). The staffs are very helpful, giving information about public transportation and directions. The location is close to Akasaka station (Exit 2), it's just 3 minutes walking. Only the wifi connection on the sixth floor could not work well. They can help you to book the limousine bus to Haneda (JPY 1.100). The location of the limousine bus is 10 minutes walking at Ana Intercontinental Building, but you can go there by taxi (JPY 1.150). I definitely recommend this hotel to others although without breakfast. You can find a lot of restaurants, convenient stores, Burger King nearby the hotel.

Room Tip: Twin bed or Business room is quiet, spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Avanshell Akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avanshell Akasaka

Address: 2-14-14 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Minato
#19 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avanshell Akasaka 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Agoda and Rakuten so you can book your Hotel Avanshell Akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avanshell Akasaka Hotel
Hotel Avanshell Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Avanshell Akasaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.