We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Hotel Avanshell” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Avanshell Akasaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Avanshell Akasaka to your Saves list
Hotel Avanshell Akasaka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-14-14 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 92 Hotels in Minato
Brecht-BE
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great stay at Hotel Avanshell”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hotel is ideally located in the centre of Tokyo. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, separate living room . Bathroom has all the amenities you need.There is a big TV. Wi-Fi is present ,you can get a free set of cables and router a tthe reception

Breakfast is outside at a nearby restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    57
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
21
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
東京
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Can you find that large room in Tokyo?

I have stayed in a double room for a night.
This room is quite spacious by Japanese standards.
The room is very clean, and modern.
There is a coffee maker, a big TV, a pair of slippers, a bathtub, and a massage chair.
About Wi-Fi access, you have to borrow it at the reception. (It's free).

The location is at the centre of the Tokyo, also it is very quiet and safety at night.
It takes only 2 minutes from the Akasaka Station of the Tokyo Metro Line.
I recommend you this hotel, because mostly Japanese hotel rooms are very small.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inuvik, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

At the end of a backpacking trip spent mostly in hostels, I decided to treat myself to a stay in a real hotel, knowing space comes at a premium in Japan. But for an incredibly good price, this hotel spares no convenience. I wasn't disappointed by the size or amenities of the room, and the location is wonderful. Close to Shibuya, Harajuku, the Imperial Palace, Tokyo Tower and Roppongi, and nestled in its own entertainment district, Akasaka is a wonderful jumping off point for exploring the east side of Tokyo (or the whole city, if you don't mind trains). The hotel staff were kind and patient with my broken and basic Japanese, the checkout time is noon, and the room was totally fantastic. I'd stay here again in a moment!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband, two college-age children, and I had a very enjoyable stay in two adjacent rooms here. The rooms are huge and light (we were on an upper floor), including room for a desk, table, and balcony. Wifi is free--but ask for a router for each computer as the connection does not reach very far. The twin beds are larger than in the U.S. (almost full-size), and nice and firm--slept great. We did not initially pay for the included breakfast, but it's a really nice western style breakfast with fruit, french toast, croissants, juices, green salad, rice, cappucino, etc., and we ate there every morning. The entire staff speaks English; all were very pleasant and willing to help. They even lent us an adapter when we forgot ours (Japan uses the same two-prong outlets as in the U.S., but if your computer or appliance has a third prong, it will not fit into the outlet). Location is right outside Exit 2 of the Akasaka stop, and a short (5-minute) walk from the Tameike-Sanno stop. Also, there is a Citibank branch and ATM a 7-minute walk from the hotel, as well as quite a few restaurants and shops in the immediate vicinity, although it is not walking distance to most of what you'll want to see. Would definitely stay here again.and recommend highly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Spotless, VERY spacious room with plenty of space with shelf, cupboards and wardrobes.
The bed was super comfortable – hard type that you don’t sink in to! The wireless as well as cabled internet was free – however it appeared only one device could be connected. The location was great as well – only a couple of minutes walk from Akasaka subway station. A small sink with a little fridge and a microwave was a little bonus. Coffee bags were nice touch.
All in all, it was nice hotel – would recommend especially to people who need to stay long term in the middle of Tokyo!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were two couples, one in a double and one in a twin. Both rooms were spacious (Huge in Japan terms) and lovely. The twin also had a small kitchen. Location is good, close to two train stations (not JR) and to restaurants and supermarket.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque NM
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I chose this hotel for its location and its room size. It is only a minute from Akasaka station on Chiyoda Line and six or so minutes from
Tameike Sanno station and a few more minutes from Akasakamitsuke on Ginza line which is the oldest line and runs through many major areas in the central part of the city, Shibuya, Omotesando (Harajuku), Hibiya (Imperial Palace near by), Tokyo, Ginza (Tsukiji near by) Nihonbashi, Kanda (Akihabara), Ueno and Asakusa. There are two supermarkets (one of them stays open twenty four hours), many reasonably priced restaurants, Burger King, McDonald's and a small park within a few minutes of walk. The hotel has seventy two rooms, I believe. The lobby is not large but all the front desk staff spoke good English and they were courteous, helpful and friendly and made us feel welcome. The room we had is the smallest they offer but is very spacious with a queen size bed, a sofa and a coffee table, a large TV, a desk and a chair with a serving set for instant coffee and tea. As you go in there is a space to take off shoes and change to slippers as customary done in Japan. This space has a built in cabinet to keep shoes and umbrellas from which I guessed the hotel must've been built as apartments originally. The bathroom is large with a spacious counter, a nice size tub and a modern washlet toilet. There is also a small veranda although the view from our room was not great. The air/heat control worked very well.
There is an Italian restaurant Osteria Peppo's in the same building. Their menu is limited but what we had was excellent, from what I understand, very authentic to the owner's native land. Although we did not try they also serve breakfast for which coupon you can get at the hotel.
The only negative thing we thought was that the room needed more lighting for its size. The room seemed a bit dark..
We thank all the people who work there including room cleaning members for making our three-day stay very comfortable and enjoyable. I am planning to make reservations here for my next trip to Tokyo with my son and his family in the fall.
.

Room Tip: It may have better room light and a better view on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Avanshell Akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avanshell Akasaka

Address: 2-14-14 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Minato
#22 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#26 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avanshell Akasaka 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Avanshell Akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avanshell Akasaka Hotel
Hotel Avanshell Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Avanshell Akasaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.