We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room for Tokyo at a reasonable price in a central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Avanshell Akasaka

Save Saved
You added Hotel Avanshell Akasaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Avanshell Akasaka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-14-14 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 92 hotels in Minato
Paris
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Large room for Tokyo at a reasonable price in a central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Rooms are very spacious for two of us plus our daughter. Our 6-year-old daughter could stay for free which is rare in hotels in Japan in this price range where most of them charge on a per-person basis for anyone aged 6 and above. Her breakfast was not free though. My husband appreciated the massage chair. TV channels were mostly Japanese but we did not go there to watch TV, so we did not mind. Ventilation in the bathroom could be improved. It often smelled damp and humid. We were on the 8th floor but there was absolutely no view. Other buildings were in front of our window and balcony and as a result not much natural sunlight came through to the room. So request a room on the high floor would be my suggestion. We regularly used Akasaka metro station (1-minute walk) and Tameikesanno station (5-minute walk). Wifi is free and a router would be provided upon request. There are a few mini-marts and supermarkets nearby. Lots of restaurants within a 5-10 minute walk. Overall we were happy with our choice of the hotel.

Room Tip: Request for a room on the high floor, facing outside (I think that's the east side).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    57
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
21
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Value for money place in Tokyo, I used to stay at ANA but prefer this place on my business trip as its less than half the price and as a business visitor I pretty much need a place to sleep and connect to Internet when I need to work. I have lived in Tokyo many years and the office was only 2 minutes from this hotel. Very familiar area and only five minutes walk to ANA and literally one minute to subway station.

Rooms are large, clean and has all what you need, microwave, refrigerator, free cable internet, restaurant. Its opposite a 24hour super market, Doutor coffee and lot of restaurants. Akasaka entertainment district is only 5 minutes with lots restaurants.

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you're looking to stay central, avoid racking up a hefty hotel bill whilst still enjoying a nice room - Avanshell is surely the one to choose.
It's right in the middle of Akasaka away from the serious hustle bustle but a 30second walk to the Chiyoda-Line which can link you up to anywhere you need to go in Tokyo.
The hotel is a 5min taxi ride from the ANA-Intercontinental hotel where your Limousine Bus will drop you off from Narita Airport. TOO EASY.
The Italian restaurant downstairs is also on point. That Sicilian chef can cook a great meal and the breakfast is more than satisfactory.

The rooms are clean. I got to enjoy the twin suite which had 2x queen size beds, a massage chair, balcony and a kitchenette. Simply perfect for the prices offered. No questions asked, just go for it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel suite was large and comfortable - like an apartment complete with couch, table & chairs, microwave, refrigerator and separate bar sink. Great for a longer visit to Tokyo. The bed was a bit hard, but otherwise comfortable with a nice fluffy comforter. The corridor/elevator is outside so can be a bit chilly - but the room with balcony was perfect for us. It's within walking distance to two subway lines (Ginza and Chiyoda) so quite handy to get to all parts of town in a jiffy. The hotel is very close to the Akasaka Biz Tower - handy for shopping and restaurants. Also a grocery store is nearby across the street, as well as a laundromat around the corner! We will definitely be returning! A great value!! We took the Friendly Bus from the airport to Ana Intercontinental hotel, then a short taxi ride to the Avanshell. That worked well for us. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel built for big flat at first, then was changed to hotel.
Thats why, a corridor is outside,so if it was rainy or snowy day, you feel really cold...I felt really cold because it was snowy..
Room is quite big and really clean. Break fast is not so bad. But it was narrow between seat and seat, so I couldnt relax.
Location-wise, it's pretty good . The subway(tokyo metro Chiyoda-line, Akasaka station) is just a 1 min walk away.

There is small kitchen, but if you need microwave, you have to book it.
For room amenities, you get really great value with a mini fridge, bathtub, toiletries and a kettle.
Regarding service, well, they get their job done with a smile.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Extremely well located, quiet area with the largest standard rooms of any boutique hotel in Tokyo. 100 meters from Akasaka Station on the Chioyda Line makes it very easy to get to all the best places in the City.a small front desk team are always there to help.the hotel is surrounded by choices cuisine and dining budgets.

Room Tip: All rooms a good just a question twin or double rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Staff were always very friendly and courteous and willing to help.
Our request for extra towells was met with a bag of chocalates and towells within a few minutes at our door. Some plates appreared quickly upon request as did wine and champagne glasses. Nothing seemed too much trouble.
We have probably never seen a bathroom in a hotel kept so clean, no sign of any mould and it was absolutely spotlessly cleaned every day.
The cleaner left us extra towells and bottled water every day knowing we had 2 extra kids in the room and even though we weren't paying any surcharge for them.
We had an excellent sized room for Tokyo of around 50 sqm with small balcony (although too cold to use) for us and 2 kids of 2 and 4 years of age. Room enough to stretch out and for the kids to have some space to play and enough separation at nite for mum and dad to read on their bed with kids asleep at other end of the room. We were originally going to book an apartment in Tokyo for our 16 day stay only to realise what they were calling a 2 bed apartment was only about 30 sqm and the bedroom was an alcove and 2nd bed was the lounge room. This hotel proved a far better choice.
Location is great, with lots of nightlife around, several late nite convenience stores within 100 metres and the subway same distance and the subway has a plethora of restaurants serving all kinds of food from around the world at reasonable prices and providing much needed take away food for parents to have dinner in peace once kids asleep.
Subway station is within 1 change of just about anywhere you want to visit in Tokyo and the Chiyoda line trains are fast and efficient. We found lifts at the station making it easy to get up and down to the platforms from the street, its a modern and new station which obviously helps although most of Tokyo's stations are pram friendly unlike Paris.
We would have no hesitation recommending this hotel and would stay here again whenever coming back to Tokyo

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views and outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Avanshell Akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avanshell Akasaka

Address: 2-14-14 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Minato
#20 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#26 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avanshell Akasaka 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Avanshell Akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avanshell Akasaka Hotel
Hotel Avanshell Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Avanshell Akasaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.