We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Celestine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Celestine Hotel to your Saves list
Celestine Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-23-1 Shiba, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0014, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Minato
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Still a Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I was previously impressed by my stay at the Celestine. I was of course curious as to whether they have maintained their standards. I can say that they have and clearly more foreigners have become aware of the value offered by the hotel. If you do book at the Celestine, make sure you fly into Haneda Airport which is closer to the city and not as large as Narita. If you do, getting to the hotel is cheap and quick. Take the monorail, which is a one minute walk once you leave customs, to the end of the line (Hamamatsucho). Trains leave frequently but all trains travel to the same end point. Once at Hamamatsucho, take the JR line one stop to Tamachi station. Total cost was 630 Yen. From the station it is approximately a seven minute walk to the hotel. It took me all of 35 minutes from start to finish. If you simply are loaded down with luggage you can take an airport bus (infrequent) or grab a cab from Hamamatsucho station.

The lobby is on the ground floor of an office building with the rooms on the 14th-17th. Be advised that they won't let you check in early. The staff is helpful and all speak serviceable English. The double rooms are comfortable by Tokyo standards. This means small but not tiny as they are in Tokyo hotels of a similar class. The cable TV has some 4 or 5 English language stations for those not fluent in Japanese. Wifi is free and available in the room. The room also comes equipped with an all purpose plug adapter which saved me when I forgot to bring my own. However the best place to work is on the large 14th floor lounge (free wifi) that offers free coffee, tea, mineral water and cookies. There is a garden surrounding the lounge with table where you can enjoy a meal purchased outside the restaurant. The area itself is far from exciting but the subway line is a mere 2 minute walk away as well as the JR line just a 7 minute walk. So it is easy to travel to anywhere in Tokyo. The area also has a web of small, inexpensive restaurants located between the station and Keio University, a short 5 minute walk. The hotel is often discounted and I have managed to snare some very good bargains here.

Room Tip: See if you can get the top floor (17th) with a view of Tokyo Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    173
    42
    6
    0
See reviews for
25
104
61
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lavello, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located in what we can consider 'Greater Tokyo', close to subway and JR stations. As soon as you get into the lobby, you have the chance to experience the order and attention to details so much loved by the Japanese, together with the professionalism and extreme courtesy of staff, who always have a solution for all your needs.
The room, and bathroom, quite spacious, are very clean and equipped with everything you could think of. In addition, the room is perfectly insulated and you wouldn't hear any noise, neither from outside nor from other rooms. Great bed, too, both for size and comfort. Pleasant lounge, on the 14th floor, where you can help yourselves with various kinds of teas and coffees.
Just to summarize: I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Spent 3 nights here, and i have to say it was a lot better than expected. I booked a single room which was quite spacious, and the ammenities provided were more than adequate.
The breakfast buffet was rather nice, and the hotel staff were very helpful.
All in all it was a perfect stay in a nice hotel, I'll definitely be back to stay there!

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

my company booked this hotel for me, I didn't have any idea about position and facilities. at the beginning I was a bit disappointed because the hotel doesn't have any swimming pool or gym, and around it looks nothing interesting. but after the first impression I was so happy of Celestine: 5 minutes walking from Mita station, where you can go all around Tokyo in 15 minutes, just 20 minutes walking from Tokyo tower. there is also JR very close and also Tamachi station or Damien just walking distance. during the way to Tamachi or Damien you can find many local restaurants (cheap and simply delicious, with tatami tables as well!) but also shopping malls with western food. the rooms in the hotel are big enough and with a wonderful view of Tokyo; food quality (especially for breakfast) is very high: I was impressed about the freshness and good flavor for any kind of goods. what I like most in the hotel was the lounge at 14th floor (for everybody!!) you can seat drinking free coffee, tea, cappuccino, water...cookies! and a big garden just in front for smoking (smoking restrictions in japan are very strong), very peaceful place! next time to Tokyo, I will go to Celestine!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have spent three nights in this hotel and our room was quite large, compared to Tokyo standards (though we were three and the added bed took much of the available space).
The hotel is located in a business area that is very peaceful even during the week. Few subway stations are at walking distance (5-10 min.). If you plan to visit the city returning to the hotel multiple times I would suggest a more central location (or you will have to walk a lot, the alternative option being to take the Tokyo taxis that are not cheap at all).

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Good business hotel.
Small room, but large enough, clean, very helpful staff.

Excellent soaps and body lotions. You can find in the room anything you want.

Great facilities. Good breakfast.

Do not seat in caffeteria is extremely expensive, just go around the corner there is a starbucks like coffee shop!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed here recently while on business in Tokyo.
The room I got here was a good size and provided all the amenities needed - expect an iron and ironing board but with a quick call to housekeeping this was resolved.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable.
While I stayed here, something went missing from my room (a complete accident as it was white and blended in with the sheets) - it was accidently sent out with the laundry. The staff where very helpful and managed to have it returned from the company who look after the laundry services.
There is a decent choice for breakfast - probably not the best spread that I have ever had considering the price.

Overall, the location, cleaniness and staff made the visit a good experience. The hotel is located quite close to a section of laneways that are just full of good restaurants and food - so there is not excuse to get out and enjoy some local cusines!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Celestine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celestine Hotel

Address: 3-23-1 Shiba, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0014, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#15 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Celestine Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Celestine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celestine Hotel Minato
Celestine Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celestine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.