We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Celestine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Celestine Hotel to your Saves list
Celestine Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-23-1 Shiba, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0014, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Prague
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel at a very good location. Also value for money. Gym / pool would be nice but one can walk in the nearby park offers place for excercise. Plenty of authentic places nearby and the tube which is very close is in Ginza in just a couple of minutes.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    186
    43
    6
    0
See reviews for
25
112
63
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good service, awesome concierge, metro station(s) nearby, room clean and calm but slightly too small, big nice breakfast buffet (but exactly the same every day), a lot of small restaurants nearby, stayed here over new-year 12/13. value for money ok. only setback (the semi-double room is definitly too small for two people).

Room Tip: The semi-double Room is not big enough for two adults!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toshima-ku, Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday night and was pleasantly surprised. It's located not too far from Tokyo Tower and as such I asked if the hotel staff would mind placing us in a room with a view. We got what we asked for with a partial view of Tokyo Tower and a beautifully clear view of Mount Fuji in the distance.

Room size was pretty big by Japanese standards with a nice sized bath. The buffet breakfast was filling and offered a large selection of both Japanese and Western food.

What I liked most about this place was the 14th floor. There is a communal lounge with a library which opens up onto a roof top surrounded by the 15-17th floors. So there's a totally private square/garden area with tables and chairs in which to enjoy free condiments and have a read. Free wifi too!

Saw the Japanese hammer thrower Murafushi at breakfast too!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great hotel and location in Tokyo. Stayed there for business several times and have had a very pleasant experience every time. Nice modern rooms, large European/Asian/American style breakfast, and super-friendly staff. Walking distance to all major subway lines, temples, Tokyo Tower, etc. etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is perfect, especially for business trips. It is right in the middle of the business district. Staff is waiting outside to help you with your lugage. There is Wifi throughout the hotel, and there are some lounges on some floors where you can relax, have some coffee or just sit and talk.
The staff's English is OK, but not perfect but don't expect it to be anywhere in Japan. Little priecy but same for all hotels in Japan, for everything basically if you are used to European standards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

What a great hotel! I had to travel to Tokyo with a mind to keep costs under control so was forced away from the usual 4/5* or quaint/boutique/design hotels I try to stay in usually when I travel. I found Celestine through doing a bit of research online and thought I'd give it a go. Given the low price relative to competition, I had some concerns that it would not be great, even with all the good tripadvisor reviews. I was delighted to be proven wrong!

I got the Superior Double Room, which is one of their smaller doubles. The room is indeed small, but not uncomfortably so - there is a good sized king bed, a desk with just about enough space to work and they have even managed to include a small sofa and coffee table. Wardrobe space is limited, so perhaps not the best place for an extended stay. I was impressed with the finish of the room. The hotel has clearly been recently renovated and everything looks pristine and modern. Also impressed with the attention to detail, for example in providing bathrobes and an excellent selection of toiletries, useful to a light-traveler like myself with carry-on bags only. As an added bonus, the hotel has a 24-hour convenience store at the back that sells drinks, light snacks etc. Last but in no way least, all the staff speak perfect English and are very nice and helpful.

The downside? The area is not the most happening and you'll need to take public transport in the day and some taxis to get back home late at night and the latter will add to the total bill. Still, the price difference from anything remotely similar in, say, Roppongi, will more than offset this outlay. The hotel would also benefit a lot if management could strike a deal with a nearby gym for guest use. Finally, it would be great if in addition to the Japanese channels the TV had a few international ones, if only news-channels to keep up to date with what is happening. If the latter two points were addressed, this place would get 5 out of 5 for me.

Room Tip: If you add a comment asking for a particular kind of room, you are likely to get! I asked for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I found this hotel several years ago and stay there each time I visit Tokyo. It is the top 4 floors of an office building. The staff are really helpful, breakfast which I usually take is also good value for money and quite an extensive buffet for Tokyo. Free hi speed internet is a real bonus and very helpful for when doing business. It is centrally located close to Toei Mita Line, Shiba Park station and also very close to the Monorail heading out to Haneda Airport. Being not so old the list of amenities in each room is impressive, I usually get a double deluxe room which I find spacious enough when either I or with my wife are in Tokyo. The price is also very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Celestine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celestine Hotel

Address: 3-23-1 Shiba, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0014, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#15 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Celestine Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Celestine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celestine Hotel Minato
Celestine Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celestine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.