We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Celestine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Celestine Hotel to your Saves list
Celestine Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-23-1 Shiba, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0014, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #17 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel, excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

What a great hotel! I had to travel to Tokyo with a mind to keep costs under control so was forced away from the usual 4/5* or quaint/boutique/design hotels I try to stay in usually when I travel. I found Celestine through doing a bit of research online and thought I'd give it a go. Given the low price relative to competition, I had some concerns that it would not be great, even with all the good tripadvisor reviews. I was delighted to be proven wrong!

I got the Superior Double Room, which is one of their smaller doubles. The room is indeed small, but not uncomfortably so - there is a good sized king bed, a desk with just about enough space to work and they have even managed to include a small sofa and coffee table. Wardrobe space is limited, so perhaps not the best place for an extended stay. I was impressed with the finish of the room. The hotel has clearly been recently renovated and everything looks pristine and modern. Also impressed with the attention to detail, for example in providing bathrobes and an excellent selection of toiletries, useful to a light-traveler like myself with carry-on bags only. As an added bonus, the hotel has a 24-hour convenience store at the back that sells drinks, light snacks etc. Last but in no way least, all the staff speak perfect English and are very nice and helpful.

The downside? The area is not the most happening and you'll need to take public transport in the day and some taxis to get back home late at night and the latter will add to the total bill. Still, the price difference from anything remotely similar in, say, Roppongi, will more than offset this outlay. The hotel would also benefit a lot if management could strike a deal with a nearby gym for guest use. Finally, it would be great if in addition to the Japanese channels the TV had a few international ones, if only news-channels to keep up to date with what is happening. If the latter two points were addressed, this place would get 5 out of 5 for me.

Room Tip: If you add a comment asking for a particular kind of room, you are likely to get! I asked for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    191
    44
    6
    0
See reviews for
25
116
65
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monaco
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I found this hotel several years ago and stay there each time I visit Tokyo. It is the top 4 floors of an office building. The staff are really helpful, breakfast which I usually take is also good value for money and quite an extensive buffet for Tokyo. Free hi speed internet is a real bonus and very helpful for when doing business. It is centrally located close to Toei Mita Line, Shiba Park station and also very close to the Monorail heading out to Haneda Airport. Being not so old the list of amenities in each room is impressive, I usually get a double deluxe room which I find spacious enough when either I or with my wife are in Tokyo. The price is also very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
so california
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I have have stayed in this hotel couple of times and is my best experience so far in Tokyo. The hotel's lobby, rooms etc. are really not intimidatingly small. Although on one occasion, i booked the room thru my local office who got me very good deal but turned out the room was quite small and without a couch.

Best thing I like about this hotel is a nice restaurant, quite neighborhood and proximity to Central Tokyo locaitons. I do not mind walking a kilometer or so (when not raining), so it is perfect if you are looking for business class clean and nice hotel.

Room Tip: Their website gives clear details on room size and tarrif.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed at Celestine Hotel for a business trip in September. The staff there were extremely polite and helpful. I was also very impressed by the food and services for breakfast in the restaurant. There were great selections for both traditional Japanese and western style breakfast. Free high-speed WiFi access was another bonus. The room was very clean and comfortable. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay for a business trip. Highly recommended for a business trip in Tokyo.

Room Tip: Elevator is not near any room. It'd be good to choose one near elevator if not want to have a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I typically stay at higher class hotels in Tokyo, but had to get here for city overbooking. THe Celestine is not the fanciest hotel, Pool and Gym are absent, but rooms lack nothing compared to those I go to in 5 stars hotels (especially amenities). There's a fine lounge and personell is kind, with good, very good English (also the cleaning team, I found out).
The GrandRock restaurant deserves a special mention. Nice architecture, some less fancy details, but the chef displays excellent european selection. It's not the busiest in town, probably, but this restaurant deserves high ranking for food, dressings and service. I rarely am surprised by what is offered, but here I had two fully regenerating dinners.
To sum up: not the fanciest, but a safe, decent well located option.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms like ending with -32-33-34 have terrible view but are pretty large. Rooms ending like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Celestine is a top 4* hotel (don't expect 5* facilities). I was positively impressed as I ended up there- sceptical - during the busy IMF week and our usual corporate hotels were full.
Good location, Nice lobby, friendly staff, nice well equipped room with decent size for Tokyo standards. The bed was comfy, the view through the big windows very nice. I had north east facing and could see the Tokyo tower.
There is free wifi across.

Highlight: there is special filter coffee package available something I haven't see elsewhere.

Only downside? There are not linked with any frequent flyer programm.

I did not try breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms start high up (floor 14-17) so there is view from every side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Celestine Hotel for 4 nights while we were in Tokyo. The hotel is a short walk from Toei Shibakoen Station, as well as Mita Station (exit A10 / A8) which has both Mita Line and Asakusa Line. Hotel staff spoke reasonable English, and were all very helpful. Their breakfast buffet was excellent both in terms of quality and choices!!!

To save some transportation costs, my husband and I bought the 1-way Airport Limousine tickets with Tokyo Metro 1-day Passes (promotional price, about 400-600 yen off the full price). The Airport Limousine dropped us off very conveniently in front of the hotel. (The Airport Limousine tickets alone is 3,000 yen per person, but if you throw in the Tokyo Metro Pass, and but them as a set, it only cost you 3,100 yen per person. There might be a minimum purchase of 2 sets, though.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Celestine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celestine Hotel

Address: 3-23-1 Shiba, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0014, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#15 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Celestine Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Celestine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celestine Hotel Minato
Celestine Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celestine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.