We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The New Sanno Hotel is a Jewel in the Orient!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Sanno Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minato
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Sanno Hotel
Save
You added New Sanno Hotel to your Saves list
4-12-20, Minami-Azabu, Minato 106-0047, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty lodging in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 164 Reviews
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The New Sanno Hotel is a Jewel in the Orient!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

Very few 'perks' exist for active duty and retired military types nowadays but this one ranks right at the top. Well appointed decor, excellent staff, and great price/value. Convenient location for doing all the touristy things available in Tokyo. The hotel has a Tours Desk to help you decide what to do during your stay. The dining opportunities available at the hotel range through a large gamut: A breakfast coffee/pastry snack bar, a traditional style sandwich snack bar, a coffee shop style dining room, a Japanese restaurant and culminate at an elegant gourmet dining room with ala carte or fixed price offerings. The fixed price menu offers some rather exotic choices and is very reasonably priced at slightly less than $50.00 per adult. This is a very enjoyable dining experience. On Sunday an all you can eat buffet for less than $25.00 per adult is available. One day laundry/dry cleaning is available through room service plus a well maintained coin operated laundry facility in the basement. DVD movies are available through the desk at a minimal charge. Cautions!!! Taking the train/subway from the Narita airport to the hotel is a cultural experience but it involves lots (No, Really! Lots) of stairs climbing at some stations. Take the bus (see the hotel site for info) as it offers basically door to door convenience and is also quite a bargain at about $30.00 per person. Taking a taxi from the airport to the hotel or anywhere in the downtown Tokyo area costs approximately $250.00 - one way!! The hotel only has 149 rooms so make your reservations as early as possible - you'll be glad you did.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — It's too far for me to visit more often.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    30
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
64
41
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

Ditto most of the other reviews. Not only is this a phenomenal deal for downtown Tokyo, the rooms are spacious for an Asian big city hotel. Add in the great price and it's an incredible deal.

Also, try the restaurant. We were amazed at the prices in Tokyo restaurants. And typically, I find hotel food to be overpriced and not inspiring. The Japanese restaurant at the New Sanno, though, is a great deal and very good. One of the best meals we had particularly at that price.

Book as early as possible!!!! That being said, most people book early, especially at DODDES breaks, to hold a spot just in case...and then many end up canceling closer to the time of the reservation. So, you can sometimes snag last minute spots. Also, if you're on orders, you can use that for leverage.

  • Liked — Price!! Price!! Price!!
  • Disliked — It can be a bit hard to find. Follow the directions from the hotel, but all the sudden you're wlking along a city block and, bam, there's the New Sanno!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

Wonderful stay. Good location. Great food, especially the Japaneese restaurant. Rooms could be bigger, but not for this price anywhere. Concierge service was very good and helpful.
Everyone was kind and thoughtful. (Saw waiters helping with the high chairs and strollers.) Beautifully decorated public areas and very clean. We already have reservations for almost 2 weeks in March 2009.

  • Liked — Friendly/helpful staff.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

This hotel is top of the line for military establishments! It has reasonably priced restuarants, a Starbucks, a pool with sauna and hot tub, an Exchange, and much more. The Heros restaurant was open until 11pm for those late night snackers. The rooms are clean and nicely presented with WiFi and mini refrigerator. Fresh towels daily and oh so soft toilet paper :) Each morning a newspaper was placed at our door. I was very impressed with all the amenities it offered.

Although it is located in the city, it is within walking distance to the subway for easy access to other parts of Tokyo.

I don't see how anyone can complain about The New Sanno.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

First off, the complaint about having to walk up a ramp and then on to the hotel entrance is ridiculous! It's all of 50 yards...who cares! Anyway, this hotel has it all. Fine dining, coffee shop w/Starbucks, pizza, family dining and much more. Rooms are everything you need but maybe not everything you want. Overall, a very pleasant surprise for a military hotel in the heart of Tokyo. Lastly, about 45 minutes on the train from Disney.

  • Liked — Has everything you need, and very inexpensive to eat
  • Disliked — Pool area, definitely for 10 and under
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misawa Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

After our long flight into Tokyo we were very excited to get to the New Sanno, eat dinner, and get to bed. Once we arrived by airport limo we had to pull all of our baggage (8 bags, car seat, and baby) up a long outdoor ramp to have our id's checked. Then another walk to the hotel entrance. Once we got inside we went to the desk to check in. I had booked on the hotel's website and marked the box for NO ROOM SUBSTITUTIONS. Well they ignored my request and now we were stuck in a room with one bed for the 4 of us. I was not very happy and extremely tired. So we figured we would make do versus going out into Tokyo at night to try and find another room. We get into our room which was more like a motel room, and order room service. It took 45 minutes for room service to arrive so in the mean time I got ready for bed, pulled back the sheets to find several large hair balls in our ONE bed! That was the final straw for me. It was a cheap motel trying to impersonate an expensive resort. I will never stay here again! I would much rather spend the money and have a nice comfortable and reliable place to sleep!!! This place is nasty!

  • Liked — not a thing
  • Disliked — did not get the room type I reserved, food was bad, 90 minutes from Narita, room was dirty, cheap motel
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2008

If you qualify to stay here it's worth every penny. Available to active duty military, their families and DOD sponsored civilians. Check website for qualifications. Location is downtown Tokyo and room price beats anything on civilian market. Wired Internet in each room. Excellent restaurants in building especially the Japanese one. You get really spoiled. http://www.thenewsanno.com/location/location.html

  • Liked — Price for downtown Tokyo
  • Disliked — Walk upstairs at subway station after a day of sightseeing.
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Sanno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Sanno Hotel

Address: 4-12-20, Minami-Azabu, Minato 106-0047, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty lodging in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is open only to holders of specific United States Military Identification cards. Please contact the hotel directly for further information. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
New Sanno Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Sanno Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.