We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for roppongi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of the b roppongi

Save Saved
You added the b roppongi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
the b roppongi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-9-8 Roppongi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 93 hotels in Minato
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good for roppongi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Located very centrally for Roppongi, you liternally cannot move for dining options and nightlife. After having travelled around Japan, we found this to be very western area.

Very easy to find, underground station a few metres away so follow directions from hotel and you really cannot fail to find it. You've got a couple of underground line options at the hotel so is quite a good base if wanting to head to various areas of the city.

WiFi is available in the lobby and there's a little PC you can use.
We had a higher room category, on the corner with many windows.
Large room overall, bathroom was of a good size with good quality amenities and a hairdryer.
We had a little seating area by the TV and a desk so could spread out. But, not a lot of storage space for clothes. View to Toyko Tower and bright lights of the area. Was not too noisy as we were a few floors up. Only real disturbance was an earthquake one night!

Breakfast was adequate western/japanese fare, so you could fill up a little bit before going out.
Hotel staff helpful when we needed them to be, e.g. looking up airport train times, but we didn't ask that much of them.

At the end of the day, would recommend to you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotels, Manager at the b roppongi, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear uktraveller1982

Thank you for choosing the b roppongi and for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and took full advantage of the location and all that the area has to offer. We certainly agree, you are in the heard of the entertainment capital of Tokyo, with so much going on, but the hotel is a quite retreat in the centre of all the action. It is also easy to access the sites right across Tokyo.

We also have a choice of rooms to suit each guest - and some of the larger ones allow extra space to relax.

We trust that on your next visit we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    103
    38
    5
    0
See reviews for
17
46
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our stay at the B Roppongi was nice. It is located right on the main strip of Roppongi and just steps from the subway. It was very easy to get to from the Tokyo subway station with our luggage in tow. We had a fantastic view of the Tokyo tower from our room. The room was very tiny and dated, though. There is very little room for luggage or bags, so we had to open our luggage on the bed, close it when done, and keep them standing behind the door when not in use. The bathroom was a decent size but also quite old and worn in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotels, Manager at the b roppongi, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear yelobug

Thank you for your comments and for choosing the b roppongi. We are pleased that you had a great view of Tokyo Tower from your room - it really makes you feel like you are in the centre of the city.

We do have a range of room sizes in the hotel, and all sizes are clearly listed on our website. If you would like more space for future visits, you can always select the option for a larger room.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at B Roppongi for 7 nights. The location was good.
it's easy to find , just a block away from Roppongi crossing or from subway exit 5, you can see the sign of the hotel.

The staff was very helpful with English speaking. They do help you with directions.
The room was small but it's enough for us (typical of Japan rooms hotel), however there were tons of restaurants, bars, and grocery stores nearby, so you don't have to worry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotels, Manager at the b roppongi, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear dheedey

Thank you for choosing the b roppongi, and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased you were happy with the hotel facilities and servives, and also with the location which is very central and easy for travel all around Tokyo.

We will also pass on your comments to the team - I am sure they will be delighted - they certainly try very hard to ensure all guests are happy and enjoy their stay at the hotel and in Tokyo.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Great location, just steps away from the nearest subway station. Although the subway is not one of the main interchange, it provided the convenience of travelling.

Our room faced the entrance of a nightclub, so we have morning call at around 430am when the crowd disperse :)

Room is clean and neat. We could even catch a glimpse of the Tokyo Twr from our room!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotels, Manager at the b roppongi, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Awval

Thank you for choosing the b roppongi and for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It is in a convenient location, and allows easy access across the city.

The hotel is in the entertainmet area of Tokyo so it is quite a busy and bustling place. We are sorry that you were disturbed early in the morning on your visit.

We do hope to have the opportunuty to welcome you back to a b hotel soon.

Kind regards
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The B is in a very good location for the bars. A small block from Roppongi Crossing. It's a great place to stay if you intend on staying in Roppongi until the wee hours and want to stagger back.

It is a very basic hotel. It is very much no frills hotel. The room is small and basic and it seems like you are on a cruise ship. The washrooms were completely plastic and was obviously a mobile unit put in each room.

The breakfast was not that great. Food was basic and not very good.

The service was not good. The people could barely speak english and did not acknowledge you existence.

Roppongi is not that convenient when going to other places by subway. Just to go to Omotesando, Shibuya or Harajuko you needed to transfer lines.

Better to stay somewhere else if you plan on visiting other sites other than the Roppongi bars.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room on the 2nd floor as you may be able to catch the lobby wifi. Also, bring a lap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b roppongi, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hi dlee_15,

Thank you for choosing the b roppongi and for taking the time to share your experience.
As you mentioned, our location is one of our strengths; you can explore and have fun in Roppongi without worrying about catching the last train of the night.

It is such a disappointment to hear you find our service was not good. I will share the comments with the team and try preventing it from happening again.
Some rooms such as single rooms are Tokyo sized. If you prefer a bigger room, I would like to recommend our superior twin rooms. The room size is almost doubled.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly. There was free wifi in the lobby. The breakfast was good- they had a large selection of fresh foods, both eastern and western. I liked staying in this area, it was good for nightlife.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b roppongi, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hi ktitone,

Thank you for staying at the b roppongi and for taking the time to write a review of your stay.
We are pleased to hear that your experience was positive. I appreciate your comment about the team members - I will be sure to pass it on to them.
Please come back and see us again.

Kind regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Do ask for a room located on the back as these are more quiet–especially room 507,505 on the 5th floor and other floors that are situated at the back of the hotel.

After our initial first visit -see my previous review- we decided to give this hotel another try and stayed for a few more days. Contrary to our first visit this time we had booked a deluxe twin –at the back –overlooking a quiet street. The rooms are comfortable and reasonably sized. The bathroom has a good shower and all the amenities of a deluxe hotel although more towels would be a plus. This time our bathroom and linen was impeccable.

The best features of the hotel are the extensive breakfast –really good coffee, royal Japanese and Continental breakfast - and the helpful and friendly staff. Well trained English speaking people working here.

Although we prefer to stay in a quieter neighbourhood next time this hotel in Roppongi is well recommended for a short stay in central Tokyo.

Room Tip: Do ask for a room located on the back as these are more quiet–especially room 507,505 on the 5th flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b roppongi, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hi eedeecee

Greetings from the b roppongi! Thank you for returning to the b roppongi and for the time to write your second review.

We remember you left a comment about the bathroom - I am glad that we were able to meet your needs this time. Thank you always for your generous comment about our breakfast and the team members. I will make sure to pass it on to the team.

Thank you again for choosing the b roppongi. Please come back and see us again!

Kind regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to the b roppongi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b roppongi

Address: 3-9-8 Roppongi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 93 hotels in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — the b roppongi 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten and Venere so you can book your the b roppongi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Roppongi Hotel Minato
b Roppongi Minato
b Roppongi Hotel Minato
The b Roppongi Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the b roppongi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.