We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gen Yamamoto

Gen Yamamoto
1-6-4 Azabujuban | Anniversary Building 1F, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0045 , Japan
+81 3-6434-0652
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 6,454 Restaurants in Minato
Cuisines: Bar
Good for: Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Lovely drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Gen San is an amazing talent , using natural and seasonal ingredients he would transform your palet into a spring festival , every flavour is tasted and none of em dissolve , truley a master in his own art

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

In this 8 seat bar (reservation recommended!), Mr. Gen Yamamoto offers a selection of seasonal cocktails with fresh, local ingredients. I recommend going for the degustation menu of 6 cocktails and enjoy the ride.

Don't expect to get drunk, but expect some awesome flavors.

A+, would visit again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Revelatory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I came all the way from Los Angeles for Tokyo's cocktail scene. I was not disappointed! The precision of flavor sis astounding. I have an extreme appreciation for the "classics," but this will change the way you look at combining fresh unique ingredients.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Seasonal ingredients in delicious cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

A new bar in Azabu-juban. Yamamoto-San learned his craft in New York, and has created something very special in Minato-ku. A tiny bar that seats eight. Minimalist. Beautiful. Strongly recommend the six cocktail 'degustation' taster menu. Every drink is made with fresh seasonal Japanese ingredients, with different liqueurs. Yamamoto-San explains every course, and every sip tastes fantastic. And for Tokyo, it's pretty reasonably priced. I have a hazy recollection that it cost around ¥6K per person. Reservations advisable. Enjoy!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

A tiny bar, where Mr Yamamoto mixes delicious cocktails in a very serene setting. Unusually there's no music at all here, and the whole atmosphere is very calm.
Mr Yamamoto made us wonderful drinks incorporating fruit from Okinawa where we were off to the next day. He was warm and welcoming and it was a pleasure to drink in his bar.
We asked our hotel concierge to make a booking for us because of the limited space at the bar.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gen Yamamoto also viewed

 

Been to Gen Yamamoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gen Yamamoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.