We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Effervescence

L'Effervescence
2-26-4 Nishiazabu, Minato 106-0031, Tokyo Prefecture
+81 3-5766-9500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 6,559 Restaurants in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 22 Reviews
Price range: $40 - $131
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: L’Effervescence is a French word, which has the literal meaning such as “liveliness” or “bubbles” and also includes figurative meanings such as “to make something happen” “give birth” “to evolve” and “to make people gather”. It is said the original meaning of “Restaurant” comes from the word “restaurer = to recover”.
Regina, Canada
1 review
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The service by Kohei Taguchi as Chef Sommelier was exceptional. The dining experience was too. Our menu was delightfully entitled "un souhait et la lumiere." What followed was 11 courses of delicacies, including one called "from an idea of apple pie #1." A culinary treat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic. One of the best meals I've ever had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Fantastic food. From start to finish. Not only that but the service was first class. Informative, witty and warm. My friends were blown away by the whole experience and declared the dessert "the best they'd ever had". Overall, an excellent experience and highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Superb combination of French and Japanese cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had the full menu at lunch time and were blown away by some of the combinations done by the Chef. Lots of modern techniques used, deliciously fresh ingredients and nice textures. Service is top notch and the interior is made to really make you feel comfortable. The lunch menu is a real bargain, especially for a Michelin restaurant. Definitely coming back next time when I'm in Tokyo!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A Japanese chef's French inspired perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Lunch here was probably the best meal of our trip to Japan. Chef takes simple local ingredients (such as a turnip in his signature dish) and creates inspired dishes. Staff are attentive and knowledgeable and have such pride in the cuisine. Dessert was a revelation and included a clear espresso flavoured jelly, but all equally memorable.

Do visit but be sure to book in advance!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

a new world will open when you eat in tabsolutely magical place. I was there for dinner, and I really enjoyed it. for me it was without any doubt one of the best meals I had in my life. the chef, Namae Shinobu, has created an incredible menu where each dish coming to the table surpirsed me more than the previous one. one above all, the Taiwanese tea which was - in the same small coffee cup - presenting something which was vertically conceived, with the left and right parts different in texture and temperatures: amazing!
very design place, with professional, kind and good English speaking staff.
shoudl I go back to Tokyo, I would eat there again for sure, and I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Effervescence also viewed

 

Been to L'Effervescence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Effervescence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.