We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience to remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kobe Beef Kaiseki 511

Kobe Beef Kaiseki 511
Akasaka 4-3-28 | Dear Plaza Akasaka, B1, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture
+81 3-6685-0511
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6,697 Restaurants in Minato
Price range: $45 - $187
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Winter Vacation : 12/29(Mon)~1/4(Sun) Sunday and National holiday are closed.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“An experience to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

For the price we paid, the meat got to be top notch and it wasn't disappointing! Based on reviewers' feedback, we only came here focusing on the Kobe beef and that's all we ordered - "a la carte" w/o opting for the course menu. We also ordered the foie gras appetizer and the Kobe beef jerky and we thought we could do without the latter and order foie gras x 2. In any case, we had a good evening and also got complimentary drinks. And some beef ramen noodles as souvenirs to bring home with. A good find!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    23
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Overrated dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I brought my wife there for a romantic dinner during our honeymoon. First, the staff and service is excellent and they give detailed information about the food that you're given. Second, the food is decent but not great and the Kobe beef is hidden behind lots of other ingredients. Out of the 9 dishes, three didn't contain Kobe beef and in four of them the amount of beef was less than 5-10 grams. In those dishes you wouldn't know the beef was there if they didn't tell you. The last two dishes were fantastic and the only ones deserving of the price tag (37000 yen for two, including wine). The hearthbaked Kobe (tender, full of taste and wonderfully prepared) can also be had at lunch for a whole lot less, so if you want to go there, use that option. The wine list contains 4 (!!!) options = disappointing.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Although maybe a little on the pricey side, worth every penny. We enjoyed the 8 course menu which consists of small but excellent dishes from soup, seafood, not to mention the mouth watering beef that just melts on your mouth. I didn't want the meal to end it was just fantastic & nice touch to offer a complimentary drink with the meal. Not to mention the gift of noodles and accompaniments to make your own Kobe Beef dish at home, just disappointed I could take it home. I'll attempt to recreate at home following the receipt guide. Visit this restaurant, you would be disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A truly delicious steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Kobe beef kaiseki is on an unassuming street, with a gorgeous entryway. Some people said it was tough to find, but google maps got us there without a problem. We were greeted at the door, and shown to a very luxurious booth.

My husband and i got the western style 5 course meal. Our first course was a veggie dish, which was super interesting. It looked kind of like a veggie cake. The veggies were fresh and delicious. The second course was tongue in a thick potato broth. My husband had some, but i couldnt touch it. The steak was AMAZING. We upgraded from the sirloin that is included in the meal to a tenderloin. Completely worth the upcharge- it was so tender that it melted in our mouths. The dessert was creme brulee over a red bean paste, which was also beyond delicious.

The service was off the charts good.unlike anything i have ever experienced. The waiters are numerous, but not bothersome, and all of them are more than willing to help you. An excellent example of fine japanese style service.

Additionally,the restrooms are beautiful. I love a good bathroom :)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We chose the Japanese menu consisting of 9 dishes all with Kobe beef one way or another. The waitress informed us in good English of what we were being served. Definitely the place to go to try Kobe beef!

We even got a goodbye gift from the restaurant - noodles to cook at home!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kobe Beef Kaiseki 511 also viewed

 

Been to Kobe Beef Kaiseki 511? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kobe Beef Kaiseki 511, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.