We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“He is a Master of Sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Bar Yasuda

Sushi Bar Yasuda
4-2-6 Minamiaoyama | Minamiaoyama426 FloorB1F, Minato 107-0062, Tokyo Prefecture (Akasaka / Roppongi)
+81 3-6447-0232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6,780 Restaurants in Minato
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $67 - $84
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“He is a Master of Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

He used to own his Sushi Restaurant in Manhattan New York. He is a Master of Sushi.

If you want to eat the best Sushi, then go to Yasuda. When I go back to Tokyo once every year, this is the first place I go and eat.

He goes to Tsukiji Fish Market Tokyo to get his fish for customers every day (he only uses the best quality), and he only uses the best of best Japanese rice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    9
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Amazing food and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Wow! This was one of my top dinning experiences.

We arrived at opening and were seated by Yasuda-sans wife.
One other couple came in after us. There was only 5 of us in the restaurant for
almost 2 hours. The restaurant is plain, but the sushi and chef are the stars.

We got the Omakase service. Chefs choice. We were then treated to the best sushi we
have ever had. Yasuda-san chats with you explaining what you are eating. He is receptive for you to ask questions and chat with him.

You never knew what he would pull out of his magical refrigerated box for the next piece of sushi. The other couple said they like liked anchovies. Bam! Yasuda pulls one out of the box and makes us sushi from it.

The variety of sushi is amazing. On some types you may try the same fish from two different countries. We had 3 different types of Uni (short and long spiked, and black).

I could go on about this place Just go!.

Make a reservation before you go. This is done via e-mail. Yasuda-san is quick to reply.

In closing my son (16) said this was the best meal he ever had. He doesn't know if he can eat sushi again after having the best.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“We still are amazed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We went without a reservation, and were warmly welcomed. We had to sit at a table, but the experience was superb. Chef Yasuda made us feel at home and explained each plate that was presented. I could have gone all evening. I had to stop at 30 pieces, but i wanted to go on. I would highly recommend to all.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Chef Yasuda does not disappoint, even when you travel 12 hours from NYC->TOKYO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Yasuda-San is amazing - aside from the stories he can tell you, the sushi is sublime. This is some of the best sushi I've had and I've lived in Tokyo and New York and chased the best sushi in town for over 20 years.

Sushi master Yasuda has been a part of my life for as long as I can remember. When my father was a young (and poor) Japanese businessman in NYC, sitting in front of Yasuda-San was his big splurge. I can say the same for myself, and when I convinced my husband to sit at the sushi bar and eat anything that Yasuda-San put in front of him, he couldn't help but agree.

If you've been to Yasuda in NYC and you're in Tokyo, please go to his new restaurant in Minato-Ku. It is hidden and small (you may need to give the taxi driver a map) but it is an amazing experience.

If you're visiting Japan and love sushi, get a lot of recommendations from locals and any Japanese people you know. Sushi is to Japan what burgers are to New Yorkers - everyone has a favorite and they are all different, but one is not necessarily better than the other.

I do love Yasuda-San though...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Think you know sushi?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Before you think of going to Jiro's or any of the other 3 star Michelin sushi establishments, I would recommend going to Yasuda's restaurant. Not only does he give you an absolutely amazing dining experience, which is a little easier on the wallet he provides his diners with an insight into what sushi is.

For some of the experienced sushi connoisseurs they may feel like they've heard it all before. However go in with the right attitude and expect a fun and relaxing evening with one of the best sushi masters.

We ordered the omakase and ended up eating 27 pieces or something like that before we ran out of time as the restaurant was closing (late sitting). Too be fair I would of struggled to of eaten any more, the walk to the metro station after was very slow

Two nights after I did go to one of the coveted sushi restaurants in Tokyo and I think without this visit I really wouldn't of appreciated it as much. This restaurant should be on every sushi lovers list

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Bar Yasuda also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Bar Yasuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Bar Yasuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.