We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi at value prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roppongi Fukuzushi

Roppongi Fukuzushi
5-7-8 Roppongi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan
+81 3-3402-4116
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 6,448 Restaurants in Minato
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great sushi at value prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Whenever we are in Tokyo we always stop at Fukuzushi to have excellent sushi. The fish is excellent and the portions are good size. Lunch is the best value with 9 pieces of HIGH quality nigiri sushi for $25. The chirashi sushi is also great, but probably a more advanced options for those that do not eat sushi that often. (It is basically shashimi served on top of a bed of rice.)

The staff is excellent and so is their service!

GREAT VALUE!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    8
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Arrive in Tokyo - Eat Sushi Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I've lived in Tokyo for 25 years and this is still one of my favorite sushi restaurants. It is a GREAT deal at lunch where you can get an appetizer, salad, miso soup and sushi for under $30 at current exchange rates. It is a bit more expensive in the evenings but prices are fair and you don't risk getting overcharged for what you eat here like some of the smaller places. Service is very friendly and they have English speaking staff too. Japanese friends are always happy to eat here too...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
“Great sushi at reasonable prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This family owned Rippongi sushi restaurant is located five minutes from the Roppongi metro. It is a good value and the quality of the fish is excellent. You will get a great sushi/sashimi omakase combo for around US$65, complete with soup and dessert. The fish will melt in your mouth. If you don’t want to break the bank and still enjoy a quality Tokyo sushi meal, this is the place!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Fantastic sushi, I wish I would have discovered this place at the beginning of my trip, have been twice in two days and will go again on Monday. Tekka-Don is excellent, fantastic atmosphere, very friendly staff, coffee and dessert after your meal in the lounge. Since being here for almost two weeks, have gone to a lot of places that are crowded with locals and this by far is the best place, everything about it is excellent...

For some of the other posts complaining about the value...go during lunchtime for specials and I ate on a Friday with locals and foreigners and on Saturday the place was packed with only locals, I was the only foreigner. You truly get what you pay for, I ate at a number of sushi places in Tokyo and this place was more expensive but worth the money. Thank you Fukuzushi for a wonderful experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great sushi for those who wants a real sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I live in Tokyo at the moment and I have tasted many sushi (in Japan and in the US). We go here very often and there are always Japanese local clients; many of them are returning customers. You see many foreigners because this is one of the rare sushi restaurants which has a web site in English and it is also featured "Lonely Planet," and English guide book.
If you do not know much about real sushi, you may think this is a pricy place. However a decent "real" sushi does cost you, and far lot more than here (I have gone to many of other places which costed 3 times more)! So under $100 meal at a "real" sushi restaurant is not a rip-off at all!
If you are not ready to spend that much on sushi, I think you should simply go to tknock-off sushi restaurants, the kind that are chains or they serve sushi on a conveyer. But if you want to try a real deal without breaking your bank, then this is a great place to go. You can get the freshest scallop, and mouth watering lightly seared toro, etc.
For those who can handle the real stuff, then I recommend you to sit at the counter and ask the chef for today's catch or recommendation; you can also tell the chef that you prefer certain types of fish or you want to stay away from others. He will serve you what's in season or what they have the best for that day. With a drink of sake and 10 to 12 pieces of sushi, prepare to pay around $80 to $100 depends on what you have. And remember, this is a great deal for a good "real" sushi in Japan!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roppongi Fukuzushi also viewed

 

Been to Roppongi Fukuzushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roppongi Fukuzushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.