We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roppongi Fukuzushi

Roppongi Fukuzushi
5-7-8 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture (Akasaka / Roppongi)
+81 3-3402-4116
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #602 of 7,151 Restaurants in Minato
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Fantastic sushi, I wish I would have discovered this place at the beginning of my trip, have been twice in two days and will go again on Monday. Tekka-Don is excellent, fantastic atmosphere, very friendly staff, coffee and dessert after your meal in the lounge. Since being here for almost two weeks, have gone to a lot of places that are crowded with locals and this by far is the best place, everything about it is excellent...

For some of the other posts complaining about the value...go during lunchtime for specials and I ate on a Friday with locals and foreigners and on Saturday the place was packed with only locals, I was the only foreigner. You truly get what you pay for, I ate at a number of sushi places in Tokyo and this place was more expensive but worth the money. Thank you Fukuzushi for a wonderful experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank EarthWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Den Haag
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great sushi for those who wants a real sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I live in Tokyo at the moment and I have tasted many sushi (in Japan and in the US). We go here very often and there are always Japanese local clients; many of them are returning customers. You see many foreigners because this is one of the rare sushi restaurants which has a web site in English and it is also featured "Lonely Planet," and English guide book.
If you do not know much about real sushi, you may think this is a pricy place. However a decent "real" sushi does cost you, and far lot more than here (I have gone to many of other places which costed 3 times more)! So under $100 meal at a "real" sushi restaurant is not a rip-off at all!
If you are not ready to spend that much on sushi, I think you should simply go to tknock-off sushi restaurants, the kind that are chains or they serve sushi on a conveyer. But if you want to try a real deal without breaking your bank, then this is a great place to go. You can get the freshest scallop, and mouth watering lightly seared toro, etc.
For those who can handle the real stuff, then I recommend you to sit at the counter and ask the chef for today's catch or recommendation; you can also tell the chef that you prefer certain types of fish or you want to stay away from others. He will serve you what's in season or what they have the best for that day. With a drink of sake and 10 to 12 pieces of sushi, prepare to pay around $80 to $100 depends on what you have. And remember, this is a great deal for a good "real" sushi in Japan!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SandJ2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We ate here and had the set menu, it wasn't the cheapest 15,000 yen approx 100 gbp but we felt it was worth it.

We sat at the counter and watched the chefs prepare our sushi which was very fresh.

The staff were very attentive and welcoming, we speak no Japanese.

Overall we would go back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dav555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not even ordinary sushi, extraordinary prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I travel about 130 days a year and have eaten sushi from San Diego to Shanghai. I don't get what others are talking about here. The Yellowtail was stringy, Scallops were tasteless and Eel was flamed with a gas torch and tasted like petroleum. All for $75 for 6 dishes. Asked if Nigiri shushi was two pieces per order (at average $11.00 per order) and was told yes. Nigiri in this restaurant is one piece per order. Wait service was very good. Seating was immediate as there was only one other couple in the restaurant at 7:00pm.

I had a sushi lunch at Itamae and was satisfied with excellent quality and fast service for $16 including sake. So many people say that Tokyo is expensive. That's only if you fall into the tourist traps.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler_N0t_T0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had the set dinner menu with Sashimi, salad, soup and dessert. The food was high quality and the service was wonderful...very attentive.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ltsao01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roppongi Fukuzushi also viewed

 

Been to Roppongi Fukuzushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing