We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Art, Amazing Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mori Art Museum

Mori Art Museum
6-10-1 Roppongi | 53F, Minato 106-6150, Tokyo Prefecture
+81 3-5777-8600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 86 Attractions in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 290 Reviews
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum, located in Roppongi Hills, is one of Asia's largest spaces for contemporary art.
Okinawa, Japan
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Excellent Art, Amazing Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is definitely a must do if you are in Tokyo, the museum has excellent artwork which keeps changing so be sure to check the website for details, the nearby Roppongi Observatory is also pretty good for excellent views of the city.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    103
    40
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Impressionist and Modern in one exciting place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Hard to believe that one could find such an incredible assemblage of Art in one place. Allow a couple of hours to take it all in. Not too crowded either and a fair entrance fee, although we were part of a Tour. The layout is extraordinary and well conceived by a serious Curator. Not sure how long the installation remains, but check to see. One of our better Art experiences.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, NS, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Go for the art, stay for the view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I wanted to see one art gallery in Japan, and I chose this one. 1500 yen is a bit expensive in my opinion, but I loved the art and the city view is a nice bonus.
The food available is reasonably priced if you want to stay for a snack.
I went late afternoon and spent a couple hours in the gallery, then got to see the city at dusk and then lit up at night. Beautiful. The art gallery is open until 10pm.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lublin, Poland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Multi- sensory attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We went there for a city view(you can go to the roof, with helicopter landing but got drawn in by an excellent exhibition "love". A cross section of artwork on the theme - Japaneese and international. Could have spent half a day there easily.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Mori Art Museum is a delightful place to vist. It is situated in a very modern and beautiful comtemporary architectural complex, Roppongi Hills. Situated in the 53rd floor it houses an interesting comtemporary museum and an obervation tower with splendid views of Tokyo. Love was the title of the exhibit I saw, which really was done in a way to comprehend what Love has meant to people through ages and styles. I would highly recommend it to anybody that enjoys comtemporary art and design.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mori Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Mori Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mori Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.