We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it moves” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo

Save Saved
You added Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-6-3 Higashi-Shinbashi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8333, Japan   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Minato
Korenov, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“it moves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Nice hotel, but if you are afraid of heights do not stay in this property. I stayed here and I swear this hotel is swing side ways consistently. I not sure if this is the way it is built, but found this to be very scary.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e-netrps, Assistant Manager, e-net at Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your stay with us at Royal Park Shiodome Tower.

I'm sorry to hear that you felt the building was swinging consistently, it's because of the unique structure of this building, which is quake-absorbing/base isolated system. Basically, this is to avoid serious damage when there is an earthquake and is completely safe. However, this flexible structure, sometimes we describe it as bamboo, make the building shake/swing a little, when there is a strong wind as well. Therefore, please be assured that the building structure has no problem at all.

Thank you very much again for posting a review and we are looking forward to have an another opportunity to welcome you back here in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    361
    73
    21
    4
See reviews for
121
198
99
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Probably should wait a few months while the hotel completes renovations. Lobby Lounge is currently closed and the menu at the 25th floor restaurant is limited. I was asked to change rooms during my three night stay last week because of renovation work scheduled to be done on my floor. Not sure why they didn't know that before I checked in. Very inconvenient!!! At least they could have offered a discounted room rate or free breakfast, but that was not even considered. I'll find a different hotel for my next Tokyo visit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e-netrps, Assistant Manager, e-net at Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at Royal Park Shiodome Tower and we are very sorry for the unfortunate experience that you have encountered during your last stay. I do sincerely apologize for the distress.

Please be assured that we have shared your comments with our team, reported to the Management and started an investigation on how it had happened and who took part in your room assignment so that we would be able to prevent the same incident happen again in the future.

Again, please accept our sincere apologie for all the incident that you have experienced, also we are grateful for your comments posted on the review and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is my third year in a row to stay at the Royal Park Shiodome as I attend an annual trade show at Tokyo Big Site. The property is just a few steps away from the Shiodome rail station which runs directly to Big Sight. Taxis to Big Sight take about 15 minutes and ran me around $25. The property itself is clean, modern and affordable. The lobby is on the 24th floor with great views of the city. The lobby bar was closed this trip for renovations so will be even better when completed. The rooms are spacious (for Tokyo standards) and very comfortable; I usually pick the mid-level room catagory. I had a mini-bar and amble desk space in my room. Staff really makes this property stand out, several recognized me by name and went the extra mile to make me feel comfortable. Breakfast buffet was very good as was the traditional Japanese restaurant. Only downside was lack of room service. To make up for that, you can order delivery via the in-room television internet (not the most user friendly system though). There is a 24 hour convenience store at the base of the the building along with a 24 hour Kinkos. There are also many moderate and fast food restaurants in the Shiodome complex and nice upscale restaurants in neighboring Ginza. This will continue to be my home base when in Tokyo.

Room Tip: Go for a mid-level room category. Walk into Ginza by following the railroad tracks (10-15 minutes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e-netrps, Assistant Manager, e-net at Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your continuous patronage at Royal Park Shiodome Tower and it was indeed a great pleasure to receive such a wonderful feedback.

To see those comments regarding to our location, as well as the explanation of the Shiodome complex would be definitely an useful source to make decision, for those who considering this area for their destination to have an accommodation.

Tokyo Big Site, is well known as for their conference and exhibition venue and recently, they are even running an Anime/Manga fair twice a year, which scale is growing very fast, involving non-Japanese fans. This area will become more famous towards Tokyo Olympic Games, in 2020!
Also, please check that the Tsukiji Fish Market is also walking distance, next to the Ginza shopping district.

We do apologise for the inconveniences you have encountered whilst your stay regarding to the Lobby-Rounge renovation. This will be completed soon and re-opened on the 1st of October 2013 with an modern/ambient atomosphere, of course the great view remained.

Again, we sincerely thank you for time to write a review, as well as the compliment for our staff, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

From the moment I checked in until I sadly departed the Royal Park staff treated me with care and respect. My extremely well-cleaned room had the quietest cool air circulating to help me sleep peacefully. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and expertly prepared. The entire staff displayed care and respect for the guests while attending to their every need. The concierge solved every request efficiently and with a warm smile. This hotel was a great value and located adjacent to so many downtown Tokyo restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e-netrps, Assistant Manager, e-net at Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at Royal Park Shiodome Tower.

We are more than delighted to learn that your stay with us was a pleasant and we greatly appreciate your comments towards our staff, which is vely reassuring. Please be assured that we will strive to deliver high level of a service, as well as the cleanliness of our guest rooms.

It would be a great pleasure if we could have an another oportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
We, again, sincerely thank you for your time to write such a positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 7 nights for a combination of a business trip and 2 days of sightseeing.
Perfectly located at Shimbashi Station, so everything is easy to reach. Regarding the value I got a really good hotel at a very reasonable price. Fish market, Ginza and Hamarikyu Garden is within walking distance (Asakusa, Adihabara, Shibuya by subway in about 20min.).
The hotel is clean, staff is friendly - the room in the tower floor offered free breakfast and free minibar.
If I have to come back to Tokyo I would take the same hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e-netrps, Assistant Manager, e-net at Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at Royal Park Shiodome Tower.

We are more than delighted to learn that your stay was pleasant and your feedback regarding to our location, will be very useful for the future guests.

Also, please be assured that we will continously consentrate on providing clean and comfortable accommodation, as well as the friendly approach towards all the valued guests for the future.

We thank you for your comments and are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is in the best location if you want to go shopping or sightseeing. It is literally 100m to the railway station and about the same to the Ginza shopping area. The rooms aren't large but they are adequate and clean. We were upgraded to a business room which had a full office desk complete with PC, printer and everything one would need for business. The staff are wonderful and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. I would recommend this as a very central location for business or sightseeing. It also has a great restaurant in the foyer that serves wonderful vegetarian food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e-netrps, Assistant manager, e-net at Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at Royal Park Shiodome Tower for your visit to Tokyo.

We are more than delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay, accommodation, restaurant and the service we provide. It is indeed a great pleasure to receive such a compliment for our staff and so please allow us to share your comments, which will be a great motivater.

Again, we thank you for your time to write a feedback and we are looking forward to have an another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very friendly staff. Big and comfortable rooms.
Breakfast has large selection of food.
Very good location. Close to Public Transport.
Very close to Shimbashi, where good restaurants of Japanese, Chinese, European Cuisine are located. Airport Limo rons to/from Hotel direct to Narita.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e-netrps, Assistant Manager, e-net at Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your time to write a feedback and we are more than delighted to learn that your stay was a pleasant one.

We appreciate your positive comments for our front staff, as well as the location, which will be very useful for the future guests.

Thank you again for your review and we do look forward to have an another opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo

Address: 1-6-3 Higashi-Shinbashi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8333, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#6 Family Hotel in Minato
#6 Spa Hotel in Minato
#7 Business Hotel in Minato
#8 Luxury Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel welcomes you with its stylish décor, convenient surroundings and flexible service. A mere three minute walk from the JR, Yurikamome and three subway lines. Free wired and wireless LAN service in all rooms and Lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Park Shiodome Tower Hotel Minato
Royal Park Shiodome Hotel
Royal Park Shiodome Minato
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.