We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ROYAL PARK HOTEL THE SHIODOME, TOKYO

Save Saved
You added ROYAL PARK HOTEL THE SHIODOME, TOKYO to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ROYAL PARK HOTEL THE SHIODOME, TOKYO
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-6-3 Higashi-Shinbashi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8333, Japan   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 93 hotels in Minato
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Decent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel is nothing special but I thought it was a relatively good value for Tokyo, especially since the rate we booked included wifi access and buffet breakfast. We were very satisfied here.

We arrived quite early, around 9 am, planning to store our luggage and continue on for the day's touring. Surprisingly, they said the room was ready and we could check in without a fee, so that was a pleasant surprise. The room was fine, not huge but decent sized for Tokyo and with good light and a nice view of the river and a portion of the Hama Rikyu gardens There was sufficient couter space in the bathroom, a large shower and the usual good array of toiletries and nightwear.

Breakfast got a bit crowded, but the layout of the breakfast room minimizes the scrum feel unless you're seated right by the buffet tables. The selection of breakfast items was good - one table of salad, one of Japanese items, one of breads, one of Western eggs and bacon, etc. There are made-to-order eggs and a coffee machine you can use to make lattes.

The location is convenient to both the subway and the JR trains, and an easy walk from Tsukiji fish market and the aforementioned Hama Rikyu gardens. You can catch a boat from the gardens up to the Asakusa neighborhood, then take the subway back. That being said, the location was a litle weird because the hotel is in an office building in the middle of an office park area. Fortunately, there are quite a few restaurants around the nearby train stations, but the immediate area was pretty deserted on the weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    328
    335
    71
    21
    3
See reviews for
110
178
95
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time in Japan so I don't have any real basis for comparison. The hotel is fine without being especially memorable. The location is very good being close to lots of restaurants and easily accessible to metro and underground stations.

The rooms are okay. They are a bit small. There was no water in the room also which is a pain especially after travelling long haul and feeling dehydrated and jet lagged. This was compounded by the vending machine not being stocked with water aswell.

I used the gym also which is very basic. There is a nice bar on 24th floor but it closes early (11pm) which may just be the law in Tokyo so can't knock them for that.

My last comment was that on checkout, I asked them if there was a facility to shower when I returned to pick up my bag for the airport. There wasn't. This is not a big deal but I thought if was a missed opportunity to leave a good impression with departing guest.

Overall, it is a decent hotel without being especially memorable .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caserta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel is well located in Shiodome Tower, both metro and JR are available, so location is great. The staff of the hotel is always available and ready to accommodate any request in the perfect Japanese hospitality style. The restaurant and the bar are also very good. The lobby is very elegant, rooms are small but new, so in general very comfortable, and most important not noisy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood Shores, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We go to Tokyo once a year and we always make sure we stay here. The staff is so helpful, especially the concierge. Turnover is low so we get the see the same people every year. The rooms are great and some have good views. Breakfast is always excellent with excellent Japanese and western selection. My favorite is the salad bar because its so fresh everyday but I always make sure I try a little of everything because they all look delicious!

The location is great. It's sandwiched between 2 train stops: JR stop is Shimbashi (make sure from the train platform you get off at the exit to Shiodome) and regular subway stop is Shiodome. It's 2 JR stops from Tokyo Station, 1 subway stop from Tsukiji Fish Market, and walking distance to Ginza. There are lots of restaurant options across the hotel tower all within 2 minutes including the Carretta Shiodome as well as the City Center. Next door is the Nippon TV station. Don't forget to check out the unique Miyazaki clock outside the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Never intended in staying near Shiodome. The area never appeared to be convenient to me, but post Tsunami, the prices for hotels dropped significantly and I chose it based on price and tripadvisor recommendations.

I was not disappointed.

The location is actually far more convenient than I once thought. It's situated near Shinbashi (Shi"m"bashi) and Shiodome stations. The former is on the Yamanote line, which for travellers new to Tokyo, is the most convenient way to get around Tokyo (it's a 59 minute loop, which covers nearly all main tourist areas of Tokyo and is included in the JR Railpass if beginning or ending your pass).
Side note here: If you are a foreign tourist visiting for a short period, be sure to apply for the JR Railpass prior to leaving. It provides the most convenient, affordable travel around Japan.

As per nearly all Japanese hotels, the staff are extremely pleasant and the facilities very clean. This isn't an area where Japanese fail. The one sore point with most foreigners (particularly from large countries like US, Canada, Australia), is that Japanese hotels are small.

Not so with the Royal Park. Large glass windows and open plan rooms make the rooms feel airy. They also have modern large bathrooms.

I travelled in May 2011.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

While the location of the metro (for most lines except for the oedo line) station is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel, I would still prefer it to staying in the heart of Shinjuku, where I'd have to jostle and squeeze my way into the trains, along with hundreds of other people. The downside is if you feel really hungry after 9pm the choices are slightly limited.

The view in our room was fantastic, overlooking the river. Internet was free, both at the lobby (on 25th flr) as well as in the room. The first 2 days, connection was weak and patchy. I called to ask about Internet and reception said they'd reset the system. Had fantastic connection after that.

The room itself was comfortable, clean, and staff were very helpful.

Hotel is close to Tsujiki (seafood) market, and 1 stop away from Ginza (where we did last minute shopping before leaving).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here at the Royal Park Shiodome Tower for 4 nights in late November. This is a very nice hotel and has incredible views of Tokyo. I love how the lobby is not on the ground floor. It’s very clean and inviting and has amazing views from the lobby and breakfast area. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We had a double room, and it is a bit smaller than most US travelers are used to. I wouldn’ t say it was small, but it was cozy. The bathroom is clean and I love the large glass enclosed shower. There is decent space in the bathroom, which is nicely appointed. We had a great view of the city from our room.

Breakfast was very good. I had the western breakfast and the eggs, pancakes, and breads were delicious. I really enjoyed breakfast looking at Tokyo through the window. The service was incredible – the front desk and concierge were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. There is not a whole lot to do around the hotel, but the subway is just a short walk away (we weren’t in the hotel that much anyways). Overall, I really enjoyed my stay here. I was very comfortable and have to give the hotel 5 stars for my pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ROYAL PARK HOTEL THE SHIODOME, TOKYO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ROYAL PARK HOTEL THE SHIODOME, TOKYO

Address: 1-6-3 Higashi-Shinbashi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8333, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#6 Family Hotel in Minato
#6 Spa Hotel in Minato
#8 Business Hotel in Minato
#8 Luxury Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ROYAL PARK HOTEL THE SHIODOME, TOKYO 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel welcomes you with its stylish décor, convenient surroundings and flexible service. A mere three minute walk from the JR, Yurikamome and three subway lines. Free wired and wireless LAN service in all rooms and Lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your ROYAL PARK HOTEL THE SHIODOME, TOKYO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Park Shiodome Tower Hotel Minato
Royal Park Shiodome Hotel
Royal Park Shiodome Minato
ROYAL PARK HOTEL THE SHIODOME, TOKYO Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ROYAL PARK HOTEL THE SHIODOME, TOKYO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.