We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo

Save Saved
You added Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-2-6 Shimbashi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8621, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 92 hotels in Minato
North Salt Lake, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great one night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of our anniversary trip. The hotel was in a great location being very close to several train/metro stops. There were many places to eat and shop around the hotel and the service was exceptional. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Asks for a room overlooking the Tokyo Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    136
    34
    10
    6
See reviews for
79
79
38
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

From the outside the Dai-ichi looks very imressive as it would do to any westerner visiting Tokyo, it is a very traditional hotel and had probably been standing 30-40 years plus. A grand lobby awaits you from the entrance, with staff rushing to carry your bags for you. The reception staff are very well versed in English and very helpful. checking in is not too much of an ordeal.

The rooms are clean and well presented with a mini bar, TV (limited english) an assortment of complimentary toiletries even combs and hair brushes. If you are fortunate to be near the top the view of Tokyo is outstanding. The hotel boasts a top floor restaurant, gym and pool in the annex across the road. As the hotel is in the centre of Tokyo location is not an issue. Step out and your in the hussle and bussle of one of the worlds most renound cities.

At £160 a night (basic) you can see where your money is going, it is a tad inconvienient that the pool and gym are across the road in the annex and this is one of my main gripes. It is however only about 50 yards across the road so really im only nit picking here. The main carpet scheme is royal red and is grand but looks worn in some areas. These are the only negative points i have for you.

It is said the Dai-ichi is only bested by the Imperial hotel in Tokyo, but second best was more than good enough for me.

Room Tip: Get to the top for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed 6 days.
Great location, very clean, but so amny things could be better.
Really a 3.5 OVERALL BECAUSE:
- TV is only in Japanese, but for two news channels in English!
- No gym, that with the hotel is outside and you have to pay too much a medium to low quality gym
- food is by far too expensive. Go out and you will find similar quality at 1/2 the price

Room Tip: Be prepared for all speaking poor english
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

After some assessment and recommendation from the website where is a good area to spend our holiday, we finally picked Ginza and Hibiya area. We didn’t realise it was a long holiday weekend in Japan (14 October 2013) therefore most of the hotels are fully booked. Anyway, we finally decided to stay at this hotel based on location, availability of the room and review from TripAdvisor. We stayed at the 19th Floor room - Premier Floor so we get access to their Premier Club – free continental breakfast, free tea time, free alcohol (5.30h – 8.30h), and also free usage of wifi in our room and access to health club. The location of this hotel was fantastic – next to shimbashi station, within walking distance to Ginza area, and Imperial Palace. You have so many selections of good restaurant and shopping places in this area. The staffs were very polite, helpful and attentive to your needs. The room were not brilliant but still nice with a complete set of amenities from Shisedo and L’occitane. As previously wrote by others, the down side was the noise from the railway as you can hear it from your room. Anyway, we were happy with our selection and enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great room, reasonably sized with minibar, work area, electric toilet with lots of functions. The staff are extremely helpful and polite. The hotel has several restaurants although they are a lot more expensive than some of the surrounding bars. Overall a good hotel but and somewhat expensive

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is perfect in terms of location. Walking distance to the subway and walking distance to Ginza. Lots of restaurant around. Very accessible.
The rooms are old style and the carpets have a lot of stains. The cushions on the chairs are gone. The bathroom amenities are very nice.
Service in this hotel is very good. They are very attentive to your needs and very helpful.
I would recommend this hotel if you visit Tokyo. Just don't expect a lot in terms of the condition of the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Gwynedd, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed a few nights here for business and it was a perfect central location for everything I needed to do. Subway station entrances were very close by and you can see the trains from the hotel. Every once in a while I could hear them but it wasn't awful at all.

The room was nice and pretty roomy. The bathroom was spacious and had the multi-functional Toto commodes --lol.

The staff was very friendly and the concierges helped with opportunities for sight-seeing. They were kind enough to write detailed directions in both English and Japanese in case I got lost. I would highly recommend going to the fish market and exploring the Asakusa Kannon Temple which is a short subway ride away.

The restaurant/lounge offered a good variety of food and there were two options for breakfast--Asian and American. The American breakfast was tasty and service was efficient.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-2-6 Shimbashi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8621, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#16 Business Hotel in Minato
#18 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#25 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo Japan
Dai Ichi Hotel Minato

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.