We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-2-6 Shimbashi, Minato 105-8621, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 95 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 368 Reviews
Lower Gwynedd, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed a few nights here for business and it was a perfect central location for everything I needed to do. Subway station entrances were very close by and you can see the trains from the hotel. Every once in a while I could hear them but it wasn't awful at all.

The room was nice and pretty roomy. The bathroom was spacious and had the multi-functional Toto commodes --lol.

The staff was very friendly and the concierges helped with opportunities for sight-seeing. They were kind enough to write detailed directions in both English and Japanese in case I got lost. I would highly recommend going to the fish market and exploring the Asakusa Kannon Temple which is a short subway ride away.

The restaurant/lounge offered a good variety of food and there were two options for breakfast--Asian and American. The American breakfast was tasty and service was efficient.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    151
    40
    10
    6
See reviews for
85
88
41
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I booked in this through booking.com and the rooms are rather small but well appointed the rooms service is very limited with full breakfast being served from only 7 am and lunch and dinner frm 11 am to 9.30 pm and late night service from 9.30 pm to 11.30 pm , and room service is closed from 11.30 pm to 6.00 am .
Also TV channel selection is very limited and there are no international staff in the reception and the conceirge desk , and during my stay there where a lot of trainees who had very poor English language skills , please do not misunderstand me , the staff are very friendly and helpful and will go out of their way to get your issues taken care of , but I expected the management to have some experience in addition to the staff in training .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very good hotel. location is perfect, a good starting point for the main attractions. also for business is recommended. good facilities and services. i ve already been here 4 times and always had a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is located really well - you can leave the basement of the hotel and walk directly in 3 minutes to the metro Shimbashi Metro Station (Ginza Line - other lines a bit further walk), also the main JR railway system. In Tokyo the easiest way around is by train/metro. The hotel is fine, good internet, nice rooms, both Japanese restaurants and a restaurant serving western food including breakfast) - nice view of Ginza from the bar on the top floor. There are good restaurants a short walk away in Ginza (the Ginza Corridor just the other side of the railway line is a street full of nice restaurants and bars) - also you can quickly walk into Shimbashi itself for the authentic Japanese experience of bars and restaurants people go to before taking the train home after work. I will stay here again when going back to Tokyo. One thing I will do is seek a room away from the railway line and as high up as possible. The noise of the railway didn't bother me, but I would imagine if I was closer to the railway (I was on 9th floor) I may have heard it more at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I usually always stay at the Imperial Hotel whenever i'm in Tokyo but this one time, our business trip was over (no more rooms at our corporate rate at the Imperial) so we had to stay in a cheaper hotel (my employer also has very preferential rates here) and spent 4 nights at the Daiichi.
Both hotels are very close to one another so the location is great. The rooms and bathrooms are somewhat spacious for Tokyo. The staff was very nice (as always in Japan) but i guess i've always been spoilt by the Imperial so i wasn't really wowed. I found the breakfast not to be fantastic either (but then again, blame it on the Imperial :p). It's also a business hotel.

All in all, very nice hotel if it's all your employer can afford.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one week on a business trip and found it to be clean and comfortable.

Service
No problems. All staff I encountered spoke good english and were easy to understand.

Room
MY room partially faced onto the rail line. Whilst it did not bother me, I was able to hear trains even with the curtains closed, which may annoy some people. The facilities in the room were good and I found the bed and pillows particularly comfortable. The air conditioning was silent which is something I have learnt from experience not to expect in hotels. I would not describe the room as large (my large suitcase got in the way on the floor) but I understand for Tokyo standards this was quite good (similar to NYC).

Location
Perfect to explore Tokyo. A 5 minute walk to Ginza and a 2 minute walk to the nearest train station which I would recommend using to explore the city.

Food
I never ate in the hotel as there were plenty of eateries nearby (even a McDonalds if you are not the adventurous type).

Overall I was very comfortable staying at this hotel. My only niggle was that clearly some of the rooms permit smoking so I found the corridors to be quite smokey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever visited. A bit pricey, but worth it! The room was luxurious, as was the bathroom (which was filled with complementary beauty gifts). The staff was incredibly attentive and courteous. And the location was just perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-2-6 Shimbashi, Minato 105-8621, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#16 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#17 Business Hotel in Minato
#25 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo Japan
Dai Ichi Hotel Minato

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.