We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-2-6 Shimbashi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8621, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Honolulu, HI
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Daiichi Hotel in Tokyo is an elegant hotel with a European feel. Our room was quite spacious by Japan standards. It easily fit 3 beds, one a roll away. All beds where comfortable , the linens very luxurious. The bathroom was also roomy & had both a bathtub and separate shower. A clean, clean room. The service excellent . Everyone was helpful and friendly. I enjoyed staying here and would not hesitate to return.

Extra bonus --many food places located just across the street. There's a Lawson's (a convenience store) across the street . There you can pretty much get an entire meal that's very tasty. Not just fast food, a real meal.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    147
    37
    10
    6
See reviews for
83
87
40
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed at Dai-Ichi Anex hotel for 4 nights and absolutely loved it. Its right across the street from Dai-ichi Tokyo, which is a more expensive hotel. Our hotel was very affordable, amazing location, steps away from major train station, surrounded by tons of restaurants and bars. The room was clean and comfortable, and actually kind of big comparing to other hotels we stayed at. Their staff was super helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel in order to attend a wedding.

Probably this isn't the best hotel in Tokyo, given that there are Mandarin Oriental, The Peninsula, Four Seasons Marunouchi, Park Hyatt, etc etc. The hotel is a bit dated perhaps but not in a bad way. Nothing here is flashy and overwhelming, which might be better that way.

The room for the twin beds are quite large for Japan. The staffs are well-trained to offer service but without being obtrusive. It's a relaxing and pleasant hotel for middle aged or elderly ladies and gentlemen who know how to spend money comfortably without overspending.

Overall, it's perfect. Nothing extra, nothing less; a decent hotel for a decent price.
Plus it's a three-four minutes walk to Shimbashi station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel is located in Shimbashi with all the salarymen and office ladies near to Ginza with numerous rail and underground connections. Being in the middle of this working environment, there are lots of less touristy food options with plenty of 500 Yen Japanses fast food establishments as well as beign directly opposite MacDonalds. This is where you buy the ticket from the vending machine outside and hand it to the kitchen staff in the restaurant. As such, english can be a problem however do perservere.

The hotel room was enormous for Japanese hotels with a massive bed and a table and chairs. Due to it's age, there is slight wear and tear however our room was clean and comfortable. The decor is olde world and this extends into the bathroom however there was both a standalone shower and bathtub. Book ahead and request a wireless router for the room or bring your own alon got take advantage of in room wifi. My only issue was that the router provided seem to only access to one computer at a time.

The concierge and hotel staff all spoke excellent english and were really helpful providing maps for all the attractions.

If you want a good sized room in an excellent location then I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: As mentioned, you can hear the trains so ask for a north facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had 2 extremely comfortable nights here. The room had a king bed with a Tempur (special foam) mattress. My husband and I are very different weights/heights and I have spinal arthritis yet we both slept well. The bathroom was huge with a separate bath and large shower and many amenities - also good lighting.

The hotel is close to Shimbashi Station. (But if you have a lot of luggage you're best to take a taxi to/from the hotel.) There are many cafes and restaurants in and around the station if you want somewhere close by.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is great! Prior to staying at the hotel, I had several questions, and the hotel always responded via email. Communication with the hotel was great. The hotel is accessable from the Narita Airport by bus shuttle (to and from the airport). This is extremely convienent door to door service. I recommend using this service, unless you want to figure out the train and subway system after a long flight, and carry your bulky luggage on a busy train. Check in (and check out) was very easy. Staff was very friendly and most spoke English, or found someone who did speak English. Staff was also very knowledgeable about Tokyo, exchanging foreign currency, and local restaurants. The hotel is able to exchange some foreign currency. If you have other types of uncommon currency, then there is a bank close by who may be able to exchange your money. The hotel location is great for Tokyo visitors. It is a few minute walk to the Shimbashi station, which will get you to anywhere in Tokyo quickly. The hotel is within walking distance of Ginza, the famous Tsukiji fish market, and tons of restaurants (Japanese, formal, casual, McDonalds, KFC, and many many more). If you need to buy unique Japanese toys for kids, the hotel is within walking distance to a large toy department store (Hakuhinkan). There are two 7-11 type corner stores on either side of the hotel, which also sells food and drinks. Our hotel room was spacious and very clean. Wired or wireless internet is available. The room had all of the amenities you could ever need. We were lucky enough to have a view of Tokyo Tower from our room, and saw it lit up every night. The hotel interior decorating is fine. We did not try the food at the hotel because there were so many local restaurants to try. Compared to other Tokyo hotels, this hotel is good value. We were sad to leave the hotel because our experience was so good. I would stay here again.
Hotel Feature Tip: The hotel provides a free daily newspaper to your door each morning. If you do not want this newspaper, then remember to tell them not to deliver it in order to be kind to the environment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Everything about this hotel was a treat -- the attentive staff, the over-the-top decor in the public spaces and the room, the incredible variety of shampoos, lotions, brushes, and sewing kits. Staff responded immediately to any question, came promptly to pick up our bags at 6:00 am, and made it very easy to book the shuttle bus to Narita. Not inexpensive, but nothing in Tokyo really is. I would book here again for my next trip.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-2-6 Shimbashi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-8621, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#15 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#17 Business Hotel in Minato
#24 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo Japan
Dai Ichi Hotel Minato

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.