We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb room with huge bathroom” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-2-6 Shimbashi, Minato 105-8621, Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Superb room with huge bathroom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had 2 extremely comfortable nights here. The room had a king bed with a Tempur (special foam) mattress. My husband and I are very different weights/heights and I have spinal arthritis yet we both slept well. The bathroom was huge with a separate bath and large shower and many amenities - also good lighting.

The hotel is close to Shimbashi Station. (But if you have a lot of luggage you're best to take a taxi to/from the hotel.) There are many cafes and restaurants in and around the station if you want somewhere close by.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    155
    41
    12
    6
See reviews for
91
90
40
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Everything about this hotel was a treat -- the attentive staff, the over-the-top decor in the public spaces and the room, the incredible variety of shampoos, lotions, brushes, and sewing kits. Staff responded immediately to any question, came promptly to pick up our bags at 6:00 am, and made it very easy to book the shuttle bus to Narita. Not inexpensive, but nothing in Tokyo really is. I would book here again for my next trip.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel is easy to get to from Narita airport - take the Airport Limousine service, and it stops right at the hotel's front door. Rooms were nice - a little small, but that is common for Tokyo, where space is at a premium. Decor a litte strange - sort of a faux French - but the restaurants were nice, particularly Enchantee for breakfast.
But it is indeed important to note that there are only a few Westerner guests there - it mainly caters to Japanese visitors. Thus the number of non-Japanese television stations is very limited, and some of the staff speak only a little English - but they are very friendly and helpful, and, after all, you are in Japan, so some immersion in the culture and language should be viewed positively. They do have a pool and health club, but it is in an annex building, not within the hotel itself. The lounge on the 21st floor is nice, and they occasionally have well known jazz artists performing there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the railroad station tracks - there can be some noise from the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

A very high class hotel very close to the Shinbashi station. The rooms are large and are very high spec and very comfortable. Food in the hotel is expensive but there are street food and restaurant options nearby, with also a 7/11 and McDonalds a few minutes away close to the subway station.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Chose this hotel as it was close for business. As it turns out, the hotel's location near to many train stations, and the Ginza district - is simply fantastic! Only hiccup was that we wanted non-smoking rooms but were given smoking rooms. but they did do their best to put some deodorizer. The room keys are unique - am so used to card keys, didn't expect to use an old style key. Decor is tasteful reminding one of being in a european setting. rooms are large, clean and the bathroom if FULLY STOCKED with everything you need (well - the rest can be bought at 7-11). Free WIFI included in room. Short 5 min walk to Ginza (including Hooters) with excellent food and shopping options. If you're hungry late at night, nearby 7-11 and lawsons sell packaged meals. Overall, an excellent, comfortable and extremely pleasant stay. Will be sure to return if biz takes me back to Tokyo. Highly recommended and value for the price you pay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here our last night in Tokyo as they had direct bus service to Narita. We were upgraded to a king superior room which was quite large with all the amenities. Easy walk to shops, restaurants, Tsujiki fish market and the subway. Price was about $325 per night. Very clean, free wifi and great location.

Room Tip: We had a top floor room. Very quiet with lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times (mostly for business) but my last trip in Nov 2011 was with my wife for a short getaway holiday. Having stayed at Dai0Ichi numerous times I decided it was best to stay there again. Gorgeous European sized room (unlike typical Japanese hotels), this grand dame of Tokyo does not disappoint. The breakfast that came with the stay gives 3 different choices every morning - continental breakfast, japanese breakfast, or buffet breakfast at the opposite annex - quite good I must say. Location wise, you can't go wrong with this hotel as it is near Shimbashi station, 2 blocks away from Ginza food street(plenty of amazing food choices), and a short subway ride to the Imperial Palace grounds. The room is well maintained and the bathroom comes with every imaginable toiletry pack you can think of! I can't think of anywhere else more convenient to stay in Tokyo, and this place give the best bang for the buck!

Room Tip: If you do not want the breakfast option (choose not to pay for it) there is a Mcdonalds and many oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-2-6 Shimbashi, Minato 105-8621, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#15 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#17 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo Japan
Dai Ichi Hotel Minato

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.