We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Tokyo to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #3 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Falls Church, Virginia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Two caveats: (I) this was my first trip to Japan, so I have no other Tokyo hotels with which to compare the Grand Hyatt, and (ii) by the generosity of a colleague I was able to upgrade to the Grand Club.

That said, I had just a great hotel experience. The room was a bit on the small side compared to the U.S., which I am told is typical, but impeccably furnished and maintained. The bed was extremely comfortable and the work space was good.

What impressed me most was the service. Even apart from the niceties of the Grand Club (including dedicated concierges), everyone was friendly and helpful. The staff goes to great lengths to make your stay comfortable, and do so by nature and nature of the business, as there is no tipping in Japan.

The location is also excellent, within a short walk from the subway and close to many attractions.

I consider myself lucky to have stayed here, and lucky in being likely to return next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    241
    43
    19
    9
See reviews for
133
198
109
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern - Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

If you are looking for a hotel which is in the middle of everything you make a good choice with a reservation in Grand Hyatt. I stayed in this hotel for 5 days. The room was nice and tidy but you see that the time has come to renovate. Due to the fact there is no fresh air coming into the room, it was a bit smelly. On the other hand the room had a great airconditioning. Silent with a very nice and soft cooling air. Congierges are very adequate en willing to help. We also dinend in two of it s Japanese restaurants which where both very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Nice hotel, rooms are comfortable, good location and nice swimming pool and spa.
The staff were very helpful and gave us good suggestions for things to do in Tokyo. The buffet breafkast was good and rich. Overall I recommend this.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Good hotel with good value rate ( platinum and diamond member).

Room are spacious for Tokyo standard, bakery at ground floor is good.

Location is at the center of tokyo( ginza) good for exploring tokyo. About 5-10 minutes taxi ride to major attractions.

One important thing tough, if you can chose grand hyatt or park hyatt....always chose park hyatt! Its so much better.

Stayed here 2 nights, for holiday.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

It was a very comfortable stay at the Grand Hyatt.

The staff were all very helpful. The concierge helped us with several dinner reservations and made excellent suggestions for alternatives when our first choice was fully booked. The housekeeping responded quickly too - bringing salt when I needed a salt gargle for my throat, and buckwheat pillows when we found the regular pillows too soft. The only exception was that it took 2 calls to get the broken blind in our room fixed.

The swimming pool and the spa area were very nice. I enjoyed my swims in the pool.

The most significant minus of our stay was that we didn't get a nice view in our room.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

In line with Grand Hyatts outside the US, this is a very modern, luxurious hotel in Rappongi, a very lively area of Tokyo. Spacious rooms, super modern and clean, in good tradition with high class Japanese hospitality. Everything works, everything is clean, everything is shinny. Service is very good and courteous although the front desk can be crowded at times.

I tried their restaurants and they were superb. One of the best sushi places I have ever tried (and believe me I've been around Japan a lot).

I was on business meeting mostly banks in the financial district, so the location was not suitable for that (but I knew that in advance, it was my choice).

Overall, a great place to recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, Midi-Pyrenees, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

In the Middle of Tokyo. This hotel is very central, quiet, deep carpet, extra clean, super breakfast, privante parking, friendly people... Difficult to find something better, assuming that I'm travelling around the world for business and That's one of the 3 best ones I've never seen.
I didn't have the same to swim and relax, but the swimming pool is wonderful + a terrasse roof where you can get your breakfast... Wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Address: 6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#3 Spa Hotel in Minato
#3 Business Hotel in Minato
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#12 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Minato
Grand Hyatt Minato
Grand Hyatt Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Minato Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.