We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms, and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Tokyo to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture (Akasaka / Roppongi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #4 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms, and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in the Grand Hyatt Tokyo for work, and it definitely lived up to its name. The hotel is very modern looking and staff were ready to greet right from when I got out of the taxi. Check in was quick, and I was quickly brought up to my room which was very spacious, compared to a lot of other Japanese hotels. Loved the layout of the room and the "hi-tech" toilet in it!
Thoroughly impressed by the hotel's extra services as they had a list of items that you could request for if required at no extra cost. It's not often, that a hotel tells you what they have that you could use, instead of you having to ask if they have it.
Room service was great, and the food excellent as well. What impressed me as well is that all the staff, from the bell boy, to the front office staff, to the room service staff all spoke really good English!
Location wise, there's nothing to complain about since it is connected to the shopping centres in Roppongi Hill. It was easy to get around, and being quite central, taxis were also not too expensive to get around.
Thumbs up to Grand Hyatt!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Getassha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Roppongi Hills, connected with Mori tower,cool shopping mall.

Room is nice, each has a huge bath, rain
shower with a TV screen @bathroom

The breakfast is nice,breads and pastries, fresh fruits, salad, cereal, yogurts, smoked salmon and cheeses. For cocktails they offer a variety of crackers and cheeses, dips, nuts and a full bar.
There are many kinds of dishes and appetizers, They served me what the chef cooked on the spot.
French toast and Iberian pork was delicious.

When I take out the medicine from the bag, one of staff coming me to ask"Shall I bring you water or hot water? " I was so happy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eri0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue bell
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We originally were going to stay at the Park Hyatt (more highly rated, the whole "Lost in Translation" vibe) but we thought this might be a better location for us. So heading into our stay, we were a little concerned if we made the right choice. Well, our fears were dispelled as soon as we reached the front desk.

We stayed here for 4 nights and can't wait to go back. The rooms, although not overly large, were perfect for the two of us - great bed, high tech features (especially the amazing toilet), wonderful shower, and really quiet. We were fortunate to have access to the Club Lounge, which was simply amazing. And the location is right on top of the Roppongi subway station. We were able to get to anywhere in the city easily. However, the main plus to the Grand Hyatt was the service. The staff were so helpful and were willing to do anything we asked. Just a great hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
163 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

what a beautiful hotel. The hotel is located at roppongi hills an expat area and adjacent to a big shopping, entertainment, restaurant complex. despite some of the reviewers claiming the rooms are small, my room was rather big. the bed was huge. the service is just incredible. the restaurants were superb. i used the business lounge, the service was just fantastic. One evening the General manager had a cocktail which i participated and that was a nice touch. All in all its one of the best hyatt's i have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budsy987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great location with amazing restaurants only add to the superiour service that this property has to offer. Living up to it's name, the Grand Hyatt Tokyo is an exceptional addition to that famous Japan hospitality brimming throughout the capital. The only negative about this hotel are the sizes of the rooms. If you are not staying in the immense swimming pool clad suite (that all the celebs stay in) then chances are you will be disappointed with the size of your room. Everything else gets my highest marks and I would suggest anyone to stay here or simply visit for an amazing meal in one of the famous restaurants. Side note: The Oak Door restaurant on the forth floor has an Italian sommelier who is nothing less than the best of the best.

Room Tip: It's best to stay in a suite (paid or using points for an upgrade) because the regular rooms wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTruthOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freshpho
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When I booked the room they said three people max. Totally true! The rooms were tiny, you couldn't even put a rollaway bed in a king room. We had to book two rooms for the family...terrible part was there were no rooms that were adjacent so my husband had to stay with half our kids during our trip. Their crib was nice and fancy...usually in other Hyatts they give the babies a pack and play. This was a legitimate crib. Another aspect I loved about the room was their blackout shade. I couldn't tell when sunrise was. It was that dark!

We frequented the hotel swimming pool. The people here are very fussy! First they made our family of five wear hair caps, including the baby. Then they tell me the baby can't go into the pool. Poor baby kept crawling to the pool. I was heartbroken to see how much he wanted to go in so I took him upstairs to the bathtub in our room. Really disappointed because my family loves to swim.

When my husband was about to go to the pool, the attendant made him wait until they took a huge bandaid to cover his tattoo. Now that is overkill!

The positive was the champagne in the grand club and the runny eggs for breakfast.

If you have small children, this is not the place to go. If you have tattoos, this is also a no-no.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freshpho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is about an hour from the airport located in Tokyo. Not only is it located right next to some really nice premium shopping but the rooms and service are great. Spacious rooms and very helpful staff. This is a hotel that goes the extra mile with a smile. If you forget things like contact lens solution (mine was taken by the tsa agent) or other things like hair spray, deodorant etc they have a list of things they can give you free of charge. Didn't try the restaurants at the hotel but heard from friends they were good. But then again Tokyo had so many awesome places to eat within a few mins from the hotel. They do have a few tv channels in English and most things have some instruction in English for those who do not read japanese. I travel the world and this is one hotel i would Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kanban25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 stars 2,046 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 101 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,018 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Andaz Tokyo Toranomon Hills
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 101 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Address: 6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#3 Business Hotel in Minato
#4 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#5 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Minato
Grand Hyatt Minato
Grand Hyatt Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Minato Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing