We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opulent, Convenient and Expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Tokyo to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #3 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Opulent, Convenient and Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I love to stay here with my boyfriend- it's one of his favorite hotels. We always receive some gift such as sweets or small souveniers. We love the black-out blinds. We also like the deep Japanese-style soaking bath, the TV in the bathroom, the shower before bath Japanese-style ritual is always nice, and makes you feel super clean. The amenities are plentiful- but I don't really care for their bath products. They have nice yukata cotton sleepwear, and fluffy cotton robes. The toilets do not have doors- so you have to shut the sliding bathroom door for privacy. The rooms are kept absolutely spotless.
There can be confusion figuring out how to use all the bedside control buttons, though!
Breakfast buffet is abundant and you can make special requests of the chef if it's not busy.
The restaurants and bar are expensive, but good quality.
There is an EXCELLENT movie theater and Joel Robuchon Bakery in the complex next door. Also, a great shop for choccy lovers, known as "H." I like the Fondant there with a glass of bubbles.
The spa tends to be rigid and always full. There is a hefty fee to use anything extra, internet, gym entrance fee, spa facility fee, etc. So, I prefer to get a massage delivered from my dependable mobile spa service, Swedish Massage Tokyo http;//www.swedishmassagetokyo.com
They provide European style bespoke customized massages 24 hours. A big bonus for a late night bedtime relaxation massage!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    241
    43
    19
    9
See reviews for
133
198
109
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Roppongi Hills, connected with Mori tower,cool shopping mall.

Room is nice, each has a huge bath, rain
shower with a TV screen @bathroom

The breakfast is nice,breads and pastries, fresh fruits, salad, cereal, yogurts, smoked salmon and cheeses. For cocktails they offer a variety of crackers and cheeses, dips, nuts and a full bar.
There are many kinds of dishes and appetizers, They served me what the chef cooked on the spot.
French toast and Iberian pork was delicious.

When I take out the medicine from the bag, one of staff coming me to ask"Shall I bring you water or hot water? " I was so happy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue bell
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We originally were going to stay at the Park Hyatt (more highly rated, the whole "Lost in Translation" vibe) but we thought this might be a better location for us. So heading into our stay, we were a little concerned if we made the right choice. Well, our fears were dispelled as soon as we reached the front desk.

We stayed here for 4 nights and can't wait to go back. The rooms, although not overly large, were perfect for the two of us - great bed, high tech features (especially the amazing toilet), wonderful shower, and really quiet. We were fortunate to have access to the Club Lounge, which was simply amazing. And the location is right on top of the Roppongi subway station. We were able to get to anywhere in the city easily. However, the main plus to the Grand Hyatt was the service. The staff were so helpful and were willing to do anything we asked. Just a great hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

what a beautiful hotel. The hotel is located at roppongi hills an expat area and adjacent to a big shopping, entertainment, restaurant complex. despite some of the reviewers claiming the rooms are small, my room was rather big. the bed was huge. the service is just incredible. the restaurants were superb. i used the business lounge, the service was just fantastic. One evening the General manager had a cocktail which i participated and that was a nice touch. All in all its one of the best hyatt's i have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great location with amazing restaurants only add to the superiour service that this property has to offer. Living up to it's name, the Grand Hyatt Tokyo is an exceptional addition to that famous Japan hospitality brimming throughout the capital. The only negative about this hotel are the sizes of the rooms. If you are not staying in the immense swimming pool clad suite (that all the celebs stay in) then chances are you will be disappointed with the size of your room. Everything else gets my highest marks and I would suggest anyone to stay here or simply visit for an amazing meal in one of the famous restaurants. Side note: The Oak Door restaurant on the forth floor has an Italian sommelier who is nothing less than the best of the best.

Room Tip: It's best to stay in a suite (paid or using points for an upgrade) because the regular rooms wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freshpho
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When I booked the room they said three people max. Totally true! The rooms were tiny, you couldn't even put a rollaway bed in a king room. We had to book two rooms for the family...terrible part was there were no rooms that were adjacent so my husband had to stay with half our kids during our trip. Their crib was nice and fancy...usually in other Hyatts they give the babies a pack and play. This was a legitimate crib. Another aspect I loved about the room was their blackout shade. I couldn't tell when sunrise was. It was that dark!

We frequented the hotel swimming pool. The people here are very fussy! First they made our family of five wear hair caps, including the baby. Then they tell me the baby can't go into the pool. Poor baby kept crawling to the pool. I was heartbroken to see how much he wanted to go in so I took him upstairs to the bathtub in our room. Really disappointed because my family loves to swim.

When my husband was about to go to the pool, the attendant made him wait until they took a huge bandaid to cover his tattoo. Now that is overkill!

The positive was the champagne in the grand club and the runny eggs for breakfast.

If you have small children, this is not the place to go. If you have tattoos, this is also a no-no.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is about an hour from the airport located in Tokyo. Not only is it located right next to some really nice premium shopping but the rooms and service are great. Spacious rooms and very helpful staff. This is a hotel that goes the extra mile with a smile. If you forget things like contact lens solution (mine was taken by the tsa agent) or other things like hair spray, deodorant etc they have a list of things they can give you free of charge. Didn't try the restaurants at the hotel but heard from friends they were good. But then again Tokyo had so many awesome places to eat within a few mins from the hotel. They do have a few tv channels in English and most things have some instruction in English for those who do not read japanese. I travel the world and this is one hotel i would Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Address: 6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#3 Spa Hotel in Minato
#3 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#3 Business Hotel in Minato
#12 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Minato
Grand Hyatt Minato
Grand Hyatt Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Minato Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.