We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hotel of the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Tokyo to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture (Akasaka / Roppongi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #3 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
166 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“My favourite hotel of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I love this hotel because:
- Spacious room, interior modern but classy
- Great location, in Roppongi hills
- 25m distance beautiful indoor swimming pool and great gym
- Quality breakfast (although in the main buffet, there is no Japanese), bread and cheese are especially good there
- Everything you need is there with superior quality and style

Definitely not cheap, but this place won't disappoint you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    298
    56
    22
    10
See reviews for
179
247
118
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I arrived at an awkward hour, tired and slightly grumpy. The reception staff were the epitome of good service, and made me feel better immediately. The room was superb (apart from the view over the roof of the adjoining mall, but I can forgive that), and the location was not just perfect for my business trip but ideal for a wander on my own. The quality of food and drink was excellent and I would find it difficult to fault anything. Hopefully I'll be back!

Room Tip: See if you can look out away from the mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Asia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a really good hotel and definitely top 5 I ever stayed in. Everything they do is brilliant. The taxi boys outside, the front office, house keeping...everything.

My room was spacious and super clean. Every little detail was perfect and the house keeping team is great. Just a small detail how they organize your stuff next to the bathroom mirror. Everything lined up just perfect. Nice bath, nice rainfall shower, nice Japanese toilet, cool TV and great storage.

Bed was comfortable and the window blind was so good it was almost scary. If you take it down all the way there is not a single stream of light entering the room no matter how sunny it is. Great TV channels and the working desk and internet was perfect for me.

I was fortunate to have Grand Club access and it was amazing. The service and helpfulness with questions and everything was spot on. The two hour free flow food and drinks in the evening was excellent. Cheese and wine to Tokyo sunset! Breakfast was great here to even if not having the full spread.

Location is great and you have everything in reach. Still my best dining experience was in the hotel. I will review that separately because it was so good!

Just one more little detail...my wife asked me if I bought two new shirts. I replied...no dear this how the laundry comes back in the Grand Hyatt Tokyo...just amazing!!!!

I just hope I can return many times to this place! My first visit to Japan was mind blowing and what a great country it is.

Room Tip: Get a room allowing you to use the Grand Club!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This beautiful well located Hyatt goes above and beyond any of this chain. From the entry to check-in to great rooms with fantastic bathroom, you will be made to feel most welcome and comfortable. No problem with "no feather" room request and some one called to confirm that fact. Easy access to Mori Tower where there is a fabulous view of the City. The Breakfast buffet is better than any I've had in the States. Not inexpensive; but worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Grand Hyatt Tokyo is a class act. Decent size rooms that are maintained in a spotless condition (white glove treatment wouldn't pick up any dust here). Twice daily housekeeping means your room is always looking good. Breakfast buffet is fresh and tempting and table service is efficient yet discrete. Great fitness centre and pool. However above all else the service from every staff member was simply outstanding. Whilst Japan is renown for good service this hotel was a step up. Gracious personal service at every turn. Many 5 star hotels could learn from this. I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Having already stayed at the Park Hyatt Tokyo this time last year, I opted to spend four nights at the newer Grand Hyatt Tokyo. As with the other Hyatt hotels I've stayed at in Japan, the service was efficient, and overall, my friends and I had a very comfortable stay at the hotel.

Unlike the Park Hyatt situated in the quiet business area of Shinjuku, the Grand Hyatt is nestled into Roppongi Hills, a ten year-old upscale shopping mall with an attached office tower. The surrounding area is busy, with plenty of restaurants and shops, and well located to several Tokyo Metro stations (although not the Yamanote line). The area does attract more Westerners than other parts, and at nights caters to revelers looking to go out, so at times can feel a bit touristy.

My friend and I shared a Club Twin for the four nights, which granted us access to the Club Lounge for breakfast (7:00 to 10:30 am, except weekends where the hours were extended to 11:00 am) and evening cocktails and canapés (5:00 to 7:30 pm), as well as full access to the fitness center and pool facilities. I would encourage spending (or using the extra points) to upgrade to a Club room as the overall value is hard to beat and helps differentiate the hotel from the more refined, but less inclusive Park Hyatt.

The room itself was modern and well laid out, with a view overlooking the Mori Tower and Tokyo Tower. With twin beds, the main area felt less spacious than at the Park Hyatt with only a single easy chair to relax in, and another positioned along the workspace along the wall. However, the bathroom was very large with separate shower / bath facilities, toilet, and closet. There was a sliding door which provided privacy when showering which makes the room easy to share with a friend. Beds were firm, but of good size, and the room featured all of the amenities you would expect of a five star hotel: safe, TV and DVD player, iPod/iPhone dock, coffee/tea facilities, minibar, iron, shoe shine, etc.

Overall, the Club Lounge made for a relaxing stay. Breakfast was continental style, with a good selection of fruit, pastries, and cereals available. A few warm dishes were also available, but given the large number of visitors, it felt at times lacking. The view from the lounge though is peaceful and the overall ambience pleasant and modern. In the evenings, evening canapés and cocktails are served which makes a nice break in the day when sightseeing. Champagne, red and white wine, beer, and soft drinks were all available, along with cheeses, hors d'oeuvres, and deserts.

The fitness center and pool were excellent, with modern equipment and a long, wide pool perfect for swimming laps. The changing rooms featured massage chairs, a small selection of snacks, hot and cold soaking baths, a sauna (although under repair during our stay), and all of the amenities you would need to prepare for the day.

Overall, service was excellent at the hotel. The Park Hyatt felt more personal given it has less guests, but the service at the Grand Hyatt was still top notch. Twice daily housekeeping was fantastic, hanging up clothes after a late night and arranging shoes, and those at the fitness center making sure all your needs were looked after. The club lounge felt at times understaffed (on some days, entering the lounge you would be escorted to a seat or asked your drink preference, while other days you were left on your own), but it could have also been an unexpected number of guests arriving at the same time.

In the end, the Grand Hyatt is an excellent five star hotel. On value, a Club room at the Grand Hyatt provides you with amenities that are all extra at the Park Hyatt, so staying on points you might have a better overall experience. But in the end, I found myself missing the service at the Park Hyatt, where instead of checking in at the front desk I was immediately escorted to my room, and upon leaving offered bottled water to take along on the ride to the airport ... small touches for sure, but those that leave a lasting impression.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A return to the Grand Hyatt and a welcome one. I had room number 905, no views to speak of, not huge, but very quiet and comfortable, which consistently delivered a good nights sleep. Staff all very helpful, bathroom and room all well-equipped, enough plug points, bottled water and good tea facilities and wifi on tap. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 76 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 stars 1,751 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 98 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 1,780 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akasaka / Roppongi
The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo
The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo
#5 of 98 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
#2 of 65 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 853 reviews
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 76 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 stars 2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Address: 6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#3 Business Hotel in Minato
#3 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#10 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Minato
Grand Hyatt Minato
Grand Hyatt Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Minato Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.