We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic Tokyo hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #2 of 92 hotels in Minato
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“fantastic Tokyo hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I recently stayed at the Grand Hyatt Tokyo for four nights and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is very clean and quiet and there are many great dining options around the hotel in Roppongi Hills. The indoor pool is wonderful for when you want a relaxing break from the city (and is free of charge for Gold Passport members). The hotel staff is extremely courteous and helpful and very proficient at English. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the Roppongi station (and that station is not the most convenient because it is on the gray line compared to more central stations such as Shibuya, Shinjuku, or Akasaka-Mitsuke) but I found that many of the recently-built hotels in Tokyo are slightly removed from the major stations due to lack of real estate. I debated between the Grand Hyatt and Park Hyatt for this trip (the Park Hyatt is near Shinjuku but even further from a subway stop) but decided on The Grand Hyatt since they offered a much better rate and was very happy with my decision. I highly recommend this hotel for a Tokyo stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    543
    224
    39
    19
    7
See reviews for
124
191
104
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have very recently stayed 3 nights in this hotel on a business trip. Other than " outstanding" for an hotel in Tokyo there is not much to say.
The staff is very very helpful and efficient ... with lots of class, the sushi restaurant and jazz bar are great, the club floor is a must and hotel is very well located in Roppongi, close to a nice shopping center zone, nice restaurants and bars. Subway is also very very close.
I will be back, definitely !

Room Tip: upgrade yourself to have club/lounge access
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in 2 of the club suites. The service provided by the staff in the Club Lounge was fantastic from the delicious food, printing maps for us and advice for where, how and when to go to find what we wanted. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. We loved the spa and gym too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have previously stayed at this hotel while on business. I was really stuck trying to sort out the best hotel to stay when I recently took my wife and children (9 & 11 years) on a trip around Japan. After quite a bit of debate, I went for the Grand Hyatt knowing Roppongi Hills was a nice area and convenient (I really like the Mandarin Oriental as well, but that neighborhood is quite dull by comparison). The Grand Hyatt exceeded our expectations. They don't have connecting rooms, however arranged rooms across the hall from one another, which is perfect in such a safe city. The rooms are getting on just a bit... still modern, but clearly a busy hotel. That said, the beds are very comfortable, the shower/bath excellent, and the lobby modern and beautiful. This hotel is part of the Roppongi Hills complex, meaning there are alot of dining and shopping options without leaving the complex (which would be a shame, as Tokyo is an amazing city). The one thing which really stands out is service, they really know what they're doing for such a large hotel. The only challenge is that the concierge can get quite busy... the easy solution, just send e-mails and they respond with great information within about half-a-day. My wife loved the spa. The pool area is interesting, beautiful but very serious (not a place for kids to have 'too much' fun). There is a nice range of very high quality restaurants and bars in the hotel, which are well frequented by locals - it feels far better and more exclusive than standard hotel options. Room service is quite good as well, a nice option to park yourself in front of the huge flat-panel TV in the room and kick back. Taxis are always available, the hotel is super efficient with luggage forwarding, the business center is great with things like baseball tickets and cellphone rental, and with a bit of patience the concierge has solid knowledge of shopping and dining choices. And don't be afraid to try the Roppingi Hills movie theater - really cool experience. My opinion of this hotel has only improved!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo - Brazil
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at this modern hotel in Tokyo and the experience was great. The rooms are modern with a little touch of japan in the decoration, so you actually dont feel you could be any where in the world. Its great to travel and see that the hotel had incorporated a little bit of the country you are at.
Breakfast is great, service too. The concierge was also extremely helpful but Roppongi looks like a very new neighborhood, with international brand stores and a little far from the city center.
I think its an excellent choice if you dont mind having to take the subway to go everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Check in at 2:30pm - room not ready (have stayed at this hotel before [it is my company's standard hotel] - this is not the first time this has happened).

For a largely business hotel - the gym is very substandard. At 0615 this morning every piece of equipment and the wights racks were full, with people waiting. In addition - for those suffering jet-lag, the gym is not 24 hour.

None of these are killers - but for a hotel at this price point - this really isn't good enough.

Room Tip: Avoid level 6 (all the bars enter from here)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We recently stayed at the Grand Hyatt for two nights and what a fantastic hotel it is. The room design is stunning, the bathroom/wet room inspiring. Excellent service tops this off. Situated in upmarket Rappongi you are spoilt for choice with excellent restaurants, bars and shopping on your doorstep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Address: 6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Minato
#2 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#2 Business Hotel in Minato
#6 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#9 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Minato
Grand Hyatt Minato
Grand Hyatt Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Minato Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;