We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic Tokyo hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Tokyo to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture (Akasaka / Roppongi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #4 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“fantastic Tokyo hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I recently stayed at the Grand Hyatt Tokyo for four nights and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is very clean and quiet and there are many great dining options around the hotel in Roppongi Hills. The indoor pool is wonderful for when you want a relaxing break from the city (and is free of charge for Gold Passport members). The hotel staff is extremely courteous and helpful and very proficient at English. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the Roppongi station (and that station is not the most convenient because it is on the gray line compared to more central stations such as Shibuya, Shinjuku, or Akasaka-Mitsuke) but I found that many of the recently-built hotels in Tokyo are slightly removed from the major stations due to lack of real estate. I debated between the Grand Hyatt and Park Hyatt for this trip (the Park Hyatt is near Shinjuku but even further from a subway stop) but decided on The Grand Hyatt since they offered a much better rate and was very happy with my decision. I highly recommend this hotel for a Tokyo stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jv282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have very recently stayed 3 nights in this hotel on a business trip. Other than " outstanding" for an hotel in Tokyo there is not much to say.
The staff is very very helpful and efficient ... with lots of class, the sushi restaurant and jazz bar are great, the club floor is a must and hotel is very well located in Roppongi, close to a nice shopping center zone, nice restaurants and bars. Subway is also very very close.
I will be back, definitely !

Room Tip: upgrade yourself to have club/lounge access
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank bebs59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
121 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This is my fifth stay at the Grand Hyatt, but the first since they refurbished the rooms. It was an eight day stay in April 2013 (room 1411). I travel a lot and thus remains one of my favourite hotels in the world. It is handily located in the Roppongi Hills complex, so you are directly above a subway station and a nice shopping complex.
Above all the staff are terrific, the concierges in particular going to great lengths to accommodate my many requests. The rooms are very good, modern and with comfortable beds and excellent showers. There are plenty of electrical sockets and very good room lighting. The gym is not the largest but is fine, and there is a pool too. Above all, everything works very efficiently. We put in some laundry and despite just using the standard rather than express service, it came back within a few hours, and was picked up from our room within literally seconds of calling housekeeping. If you get frustrated by lengthy waits for lifts/elevators in hotels you will love these. I tried counting the seconds from pressing the call button to the lift arriving, and only once got to ten seconds in the whole stay. To give an idea of the service, my wife's laptop had a hard disk crash and she needed to use a PC for some hours at the business centre. Normally this is (quite reasonably) charged for if you want an extended session, but they waived the fee since her laptop had broken. If you book club level rooms then the 10th floor club lounge is available, providing drinks and snacks. This is very well run, and their house champagne served here is not some cheap brand but Louis Roederer, arguably the best non-vintage champagne. It is all these little details that set the Grand Hyatt apart. A really superb urban hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy Hayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in 2 of the club suites. The service provided by the staff in the Club Lounge was fantastic from the delicious food, printing maps for us and advice for where, how and when to go to find what we wanted. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. We loved the spa and gym too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotPeanut65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have previously stayed at this hotel while on business. I was really stuck trying to sort out the best hotel to stay when I recently took my wife and children (9 & 11 years) on a trip around Japan. After quite a bit of debate, I went for the Grand Hyatt knowing Roppongi Hills was a nice area and convenient (I really like the Mandarin Oriental as well, but that neighborhood is quite dull by comparison). The Grand Hyatt exceeded our expectations. They don't have connecting rooms, however arranged rooms across the hall from one another, which is perfect in such a safe city. The rooms are getting on just a bit... still modern, but clearly a busy hotel. That said, the beds are very comfortable, the shower/bath excellent, and the lobby modern and beautiful. This hotel is part of the Roppongi Hills complex, meaning there are alot of dining and shopping options without leaving the complex (which would be a shame, as Tokyo is an amazing city). The one thing which really stands out is service, they really know what they're doing for such a large hotel. The only challenge is that the concierge can get quite busy... the easy solution, just send e-mails and they respond with great information within about half-a-day. My wife loved the spa. The pool area is interesting, beautiful but very serious (not a place for kids to have 'too much' fun). There is a nice range of very high quality restaurants and bars in the hotel, which are well frequented by locals - it feels far better and more exclusive than standard hotel options. Room service is quite good as well, a nice option to park yourself in front of the huge flat-panel TV in the room and kick back. Taxis are always available, the hotel is super efficient with luggage forwarding, the business center is great with things like baseball tickets and cellphone rental, and with a bit of patience the concierge has solid knowledge of shopping and dining choices. And don't be afraid to try the Roppingi Hills movie theater - really cool experience. My opinion of this hotel has only improved!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo - Brazil
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at this modern hotel in Tokyo and the experience was great. The rooms are modern with a little touch of japan in the decoration, so you actually dont feel you could be any where in the world. Its great to travel and see that the hotel had incorporated a little bit of the country you are at.
Breakfast is great, service too. The concierge was also extremely helpful but Roppongi looks like a very new neighborhood, with international brand stores and a little far from the city center.
I think its an excellent choice if you dont mind having to take the subway to go everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erica_fri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Check in at 2:30pm - room not ready (have stayed at this hotel before [it is my company's standard hotel] - this is not the first time this has happened).

For a largely business hotel - the gym is very substandard. At 0615 this morning every piece of equipment and the wights racks were full, with people waiting. In addition - for those suffering jet-lag, the gym is not 24 hour.

None of these are killers - but for a hotel at this price point - this really isn't good enough.

Room Tip: Avoid level 6 (all the bars enter from here)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 stars 2,049 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 101 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,024 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Andaz Tokyo Toranomon Hills
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 101 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Address: 6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#3 Business Hotel in Minato
#4 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#5 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, JAPANiCAN, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Minato
Grand Hyatt Minato
Grand Hyatt Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Minato Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing