We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Tokyo to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture (Akasaka / Roppongi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #3 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This Grand Hyatt, unlike most other Grand Hyatts, is truly a five star hotel. The check-in is a bit chaotic, but everything else is excellent. The rooms are as nice as those at the Park Hyatt and the food is very good. The location is outstanding, with many great restaurants and shops just steps away. This is a perfect choice if you like the youthful expat atmosphere of Roppongi.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    292
    55
    22
    10
See reviews for
171
240
118
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed for 3 days and truly enjoyed it. My experience in Japan so far has been the Mandarin ( the very best), the ritz- carlton ( 2 notch down vs Mandarin because of less luxury, stained carpet and indifferent staff) the Okura ( slightly below the ritz- carlton ) And the Imperial ( 2 to 3 notches below the Okura). In a nutshell, if you can afford it, go straight to the Mandarin with no second thoughts. A very good alternative for your pocket. Location is great: in roppongi hills, attached to a shopping mall. The staff was very pleasant ( not the caliber of the Mandarin, but still great). The room was spacious, elegant. Modern, and had a large glass window with a good view. The bed was large and quite comfortable. i liked the large, modern bathroom , with toilets separated, and all amenities. I will return with great pleasure to the Grand Hyatt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
342 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here in March 2013. Have stayed here before and love the hotel. Tokyo is expensive so just accept it. The breakfast is great and they have some neat breakfast options. Had seven lattes over one breakfast and still the same price. The rooms are very comfortable and very spacious by Japanese standards. Dined at the Italian restaurant in house and the food was very good. The bonus, the rooms have two sets of blinds, so if your schedule allows u can sleep past sunrise - what a fantastic bonus. The staff are very oblinging - great hotel. And is served directly from Haneda or Narita airports.n

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

During my latest trip to Tokyo, I stayed here for 4 nights. Hotel can easily boasts of one of the biggest rooms in Tokyo. I ate at the in house Italian restaurant and food was excellent. Restaurant staff was generous enough to take a pic of our group and even present a printout of the same. Overall staff was very courteous and ready to help in whatever ways possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

It's hard to complain about anything here - the service and facilities are excellent. The food in every outlet is good - although expensive, the portions are generous. The lunches in Chinaroom and The Oak Door are good value. French Kitchen has wonderful brunches.
I've stayed in a standard room for 2 nights - comfortable and chic,nice bath, ordinary bath products. I had the pleasure of seeing the presidential suite once during a dinner party, which is exquisite.
The hotel has a minimalist design throughout with some pretty naff sculptures in the lobby but the restaurants are all have impressive decor and are well designed.
The staff are great at the Grand Hyatt and I am familiar with many of them in the dining outlets as I lived in the area for years. They are a friendly, international bunch.
The Oak Door bar is quite busy and fun with reasonably priced, high end wines for Tokyo. They really should do something about the music and it's always full of hookers in that bar but I don't mind having a drink there.
One of the best things about the Grand Hyatt is that it's linked to Roppongi Hills, which contains great shops, bars and restaurants, a kids play area, a park, an art gallery and a luxurious, world class cinema. The facilities and outlets here cater to all price ranges.

Room Tip: See if you can get a club suite, it's good value. Sign up for a Hyatt Gold Passport if you haven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip for a week in February and could not have been happier! I do a lot of business travel, and fortunately, am able to stay at nice hotels. This was no exception! From the way I was greeted to the way I was taken care of during my stay until my check-out, I was well taken care of.

From the bed to the bathroom, this was one of the best experiences I've had.

While I usually go into detail on my hotel stays, I'm going to cut this one short, as there really isn't much more to say than this was one of the most amazing hotel experiences I've had!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Hyatt in Roppongi is an excellent stay while in Tokyo. Service is at its best Japan-style, clean, super efficient, good rooms and an excellent fitness center.
The restaurants are good, but somewhat pricy even for Tokyo. However food is good and fairly plentyful for Japan standards.
The hotel is an intergral part of a mid-size shopping mall with easy access to the Roppongi Dori and metro. Roppongi is one of the most busy parts of Tokyo but not the nicest area by any standards.
Well worth a stay while in Tokyo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Address: 6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#3 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#3 Business Hotel in Minato
#10 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Orbitz, Otel, JAPANiCAN and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Minato
Grand Hyatt Minato
Grand Hyatt Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Minato Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.