We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Tokyo to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 908 Reviews
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Grand experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed for 3 days and truly enjoyed it. My experience in Japan so far has been the Mandarin ( the very best), the ritz- carlton ( 2 notch down vs Mandarin because of less luxury, stained carpet and indifferent staff) the Okura ( slightly below the ritz- carlton ) And the Imperial ( 2 to 3 notches below the Okura). In a nutshell, if you can afford it, go straight to the Mandarin with no second thoughts. A very good alternative for your pocket. Location is great: in roppongi hills, attached to a shopping mall. The staff was very pleasant ( not the caliber of the Mandarin, but still great). The room was spacious, elegant. Modern, and had a large glass window with a good view. The bed was large and quite comfortable. i liked the large, modern bathroom , with toilets separated, and all amenities. I will return with great pleasure to the Grand Hyatt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    251
    45
    21
    9
See reviews for
137
203
113
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here in March 2013. Have stayed here before and love the hotel. Tokyo is expensive so just accept it. The breakfast is great and they have some neat breakfast options. Had seven lattes over one breakfast and still the same price. The rooms are very comfortable and very spacious by Japanese standards. Dined at the Italian restaurant in house and the food was very good. The bonus, the rooms have two sets of blinds, so if your schedule allows u can sleep past sunrise - what a fantastic bonus. The staff are very oblinging - great hotel. And is served directly from Haneda or Narita airports.n

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

During my latest trip to Tokyo, I stayed here for 4 nights. Hotel can easily boasts of one of the biggest rooms in Tokyo. I ate at the in house Italian restaurant and food was excellent. Restaurant staff was generous enough to take a pic of our group and even present a printout of the same. Overall staff was very courteous and ready to help in whatever ways possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

It's hard to complain about anything here - the service and facilities are excellent. The food in every outlet is good - although expensive, the portions are generous. The lunches in Chinaroom and The Oak Door are good value. French Kitchen has wonderful brunches.
I've stayed in a standard room for 2 nights - comfortable and chic,nice bath, ordinary bath products. I had the pleasure of seeing the presidential suite once during a dinner party, which is exquisite.
The hotel has a minimalist design throughout with some pretty naff sculptures in the lobby but the restaurants are all have impressive decor and are well designed.
The staff are great at the Grand Hyatt and I am familiar with many of them in the dining outlets as I lived in the area for years. They are a friendly, international bunch.
The Oak Door bar is quite busy and fun with reasonably priced, high end wines for Tokyo. They really should do something about the music and it's always full of hookers in that bar but I don't mind having a drink there.
One of the best things about the Grand Hyatt is that it's linked to Roppongi Hills, which contains great shops, bars and restaurants, a kids play area, a park, an art gallery and a luxurious, world class cinema. The facilities and outlets here cater to all price ranges.

Room Tip: See if you can get a club suite, it's good value. Sign up for a Hyatt Gold Passport if you haven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip for a week in February and could not have been happier! I do a lot of business travel, and fortunately, am able to stay at nice hotels. This was no exception! From the way I was greeted to the way I was taken care of during my stay until my check-out, I was well taken care of.

From the bed to the bathroom, this was one of the best experiences I've had.

While I usually go into detail on my hotel stays, I'm going to cut this one short, as there really isn't much more to say than this was one of the most amazing hotel experiences I've had!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Hyatt in Roppongi is an excellent stay while in Tokyo. Service is at its best Japan-style, clean, super efficient, good rooms and an excellent fitness center.
The restaurants are good, but somewhat pricy even for Tokyo. However food is good and fairly plentyful for Japan standards.
The hotel is an intergral part of a mid-size shopping mall with easy access to the Roppongi Dori and metro. Roppongi is one of the most busy parts of Tokyo but not the nicest area by any standards.
Well worth a stay while in Tokyo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

High-end hotel on most all accounts. Very good dining and general service. Rooms are sound proof and very quiet. Top floor views are spectacular. Convenient to most major center-city attractions. A bit pricey, but not more so than it's direct competitors. Linked to Roppongi Hills both physically (tunnels and walkways connect them) as well as in certain management aspects (joint logistics on certain kinds of events and whatnot) -- what this means is that you have a great hotel and a major dining, entertainment, and business center in the exact same location. This is Big City Tokyo, about as far as one can get from traditional ryokan inn.

Room Tip: As with most tall buildings, the higher the room the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Address: 6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Minato
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#3 Business Hotel in Minato
#4 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#12 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Minato
Grand Hyatt Minato
Grand Hyatt Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Minato Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.