We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Tokyo to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #3 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Excellent staff, very helpful and friendly. Perfect location in Roppongi Hills with plenty of activity. Modern room with great view on the 9th floor. Breakfast was included in our package compliments of American Express.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    258
    46
    21
    9
See reviews for
143
206
112
348
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I do not speak fluent Japanese. I had no problem communicating with the very friendly staff. You see the pride they take in their hotel. We had a king bed room. The bed is great (firm). Every inch of the bathroom is amazing! If you forgot your tooth brush, don't worry, maintenance items are included.Ii did not need a converter for electronics. There are plenty of restaurants in hotel. The breakfast buffet is good. The bacon is thin. The coffee is weak. The pastry shop is tasty. I found that I am not a big fan of traditional Japanese food, so I will not rate food of other restaurants in hotel. The service was still superb. There is a Starbucks right outside if you need it.

Room Tip: We did not see a necessity to upgrade above king room unless you need a double sink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have stayed there few years ago and was very pleased.
Nice rooms are still pleasant with great bathrooms. amenities are very good quality
great laundry and good room service.
Problem......
We have ordered a car from the concierge, a day in advance, as we had no news we though that everything was ok
Surprise, in the morning they told us that all cars were booked by the government. we took taxis.
In the evening, After enquiring why they could not have found a car in the city ( there is no war in Tokyo) and a friend had one from Okura hotel, they found one to drive us to the restaurant and take one of my guest to Haneda airport.
MISTAKE>>>>>>>.900000 JYens which is approximatively ( US$ 900.00)
I know Tokyo is expensive but this is a rip off.
I have checked out and went to the Park Hyatt which has one of the best service in Tokyo

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

First hotel when we landed in Tokyo after a long trans-pacific flight. It felt great to be welcome in such an awesome manner which gave us the first glimpses of supreme Japanese Hospitality. We got upgraded to an awesome large suite with phenomenal facilities (The rice crackers and nuts were so delicious that I'm still craving for those). Great location near some great restaurants and shopping with a subway station very near. The price was quite expensive though; the upgrade kind of compensated for that. The service outdid the ones in Pensinsula or Park Hyatt. And oh, phenomenal breakfast (included in the rate) too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

What can I say! This property should be considered the Flag Ship in the Hyatt Chain! From the moment I arrived, it was all about pampering the guest (me) from the doormen, to the FD Agents they make you feel welcomed. The property is spectacular. Not too long ago, I wrote a review about the Grand Hyatt in Seattle. Well my friends, the journey continues with the Hyatt Family. I decided to try out this property and play hooky on my Starwood family again. No disappointment here. This property has it all; local shops, restaurants, public transportation, walking scenery and well trained associates. The number one credo here is “The Guest is the most Important Element.” Well, they believe, breath, and act on that credo! Tokyo is beautiful without hotels, yes I know.. we need places to stay. Well, I’m happy and excited to tell you that if you were going to choose a property…This is it! Stop looking and book that room! This place and the location is FAB!!!

This Senior Contributor gives this property 5 Golden Mangos!! I’m from the Caribbean and prefer mangos to stars..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Rooms were nice but a tad smaller than the ones we stayed in at the Park Hyatt Tokyo. The lounge had a nice assortment of breakfast items, but minimal in Japanese selection. Nice view of Mt. Fuji and Tokyo Tower. Walking distance to restaurants, shops, and metro stations. Helpful concierge in person and via email.

Room Tip: Ask for view of Mt. Fuji.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip and it was great! Super nice hotel, very clean, great services (e.g. restaurants, gym, etc), solid location, and the service was outstanding.

Areas for improvement would be the wi-fi, which was a tad slow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Address: 6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#3 Business Hotel in Minato
#3 Spa Hotel in Minato
#13 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Minato
Grand Hyatt Minato
Grand Hyatt Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Minato Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.