We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property with Great Food and Services” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Tokyo to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture (Akasaka / Roppongi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Chico, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property with Great Food and Services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have stayed at the Grand Hyatt Tokyo two times. This is a beautiful property with a first class Club Lounge and wonderful amenities and service. We stayed in two different suites on the Club floor. The views from both were really spectacular. The bathrooms are a fond memory. The toiletries are a cut above other Hyatt's especially in the US. The Oak Door Restaurant is superior during our two visits. I did not expect a restaurant in a Tokyo hotel to present this style of cuisine as well as they do....but this was great!! and the prices were a value, if you can imagine a value in Tokyo. We visited in the October and November time frame and so perhaps the hotel was not too busy as the Club Lounge was not crowded and the food excellent. I will always look forward to returning to this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a view facing Mt. Fuji.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    284
    53
    22
    9
See reviews for
165
231
117
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed in a Club King, which was an excellent, large room with good facilities and was well appointed. The bed was large and very comfortable. The service was better than expected, checkin on the club floor being swift and efficient. Originally told that checkin was from 3pm, we were in our room before 11am. If you can, go for a higher floor, the view from the lift area on the 19th floor was spectacular, that from our room on the 12th, good only.

As it was a very wet day, used the club lounge quite a lot. Free Ipads were useful as the wifi signal in the lounge was not too strong. The only drawback here was a very noisy group of corporate Japanese who came in for lunch, they seemed be be competing over who could shout loudest.

The food and drink that was provided during the cocktail hour was rather good, but the ambiance was rather spoilt by a couple of antipodean parties that were intent on eating and drinking as much as they could neck

A little miffed to find that the club lounge only opened at 7am, as we were leaving for a mid morning flight out of Narita and had to exit the hotel at 6:50. Only discovered that they would have provided us with breakfast in the room when we got home. This was poor communication.

Loved the rest of the hotel, great location and easy access to the Metro, and the shopping centre and Mori tower and its wonderful art museum.

Did not use the bars or restaurants, but looked at most of them and there was a wide range of food styles and the bars seemed very popular.

One final really good point, the Airport Limo Bus service starts at the hotel. It does stop at two other hotels a little later, but here you are guaranteed a seat.

Would certainly come back and stay again.

Room Tip: Get as high as you can for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I liked almost everything in this hotel - the location, the service (especially in the Club Lounge), the swimming pool area, breakfast, room. We had a big enough room high up with a nice view over the Roppongi skyscrapers. The personnel at the hotel is fantastic. The only minus comes from the too crowded Club Lounge. Club should be a relaxing place to enjoy your breakfast or afternoon tea but now there were too many people and even some families with small kids behaving less well.

Room Tip: Choose a room high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My expectations on this place were high, but I think that the place has to improve a lot. The room is average; I would say that small and basic. I was surprised that the breakfast was so bad; I mean very small selection to choose from and lacking from authentic japanese food. The location is fine, very convenient to walk around.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Definately one of the best hotels in Tokyo. The rooms are excellent, spacious, comfortable and of course clean. The staff is very polite and go out of their way to help you. I went to the bar on a tuesday night and it was rocking with live music and has a great atmosphere. Unfortunately i had no time to eat in any of the restaurants except the breakfast buffet which was good as expected. I had a corporate rate there so ended up paying US$400 inclusive of taxes but the rack rate is US$500+. Hotel is very well located. Wifi is free in the common areas as well as the rooms. Can't wait to visit again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
514 reviews 514 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 178 cities Reviews in 178 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A great hotel in a great location. Subway it's there. Shops and restaurants are there, in the neighbourhood. Roppongi is an exquisite location, with nice restaurants and many shops and bars and even brand shops (but who is shopping in Tokyo...?). Hotel amenties are great. Reception is always helpful, rooms are modern, nice and very clean. Breakfast is amaizing. Bathrooms are so fresh and pampering. Try the nice yukata you have there to endulge while relaxing. Spa, pool and fitness are really great too. Definitely a place to indulge Tokyo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

At our check in the dates were completely wrong, the rates too. We had to wait for 30 min to be checked it, mind I had a sleeping toddler in my hands.
We were regular clients, but this time is definitely our last stay at GH Tokyo.
The amenities for toddlers are just awful. There is no potty (we were promised one), the child can climb out of the bed which is dangerous.
Overall disappointment in service.

Room Tip: standard rooms are extremely small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Address: 6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#2 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#2 Spa Hotel in Minato
#3 Business Hotel in Minato
#9 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, JAPANiCAN and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Minato
Grand Hyatt Minato
Grand Hyatt Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Minato Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.