We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far bellow my expectations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #4 of 93 hotels in Minato
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Far bellow my expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My expectations on this place were high, but I think that the place has to improve a lot. The room is average; I would say that small and basic. I was surprised that the breakfast was so bad; I mean very small selection to choose from and lacking from authentic japanese food. The location is fine, very convenient to walk around.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    478
    193
    35
    19
    7
See reviews for
109
167
96
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Definately one of the best hotels in Tokyo. The rooms are excellent, spacious, comfortable and of course clean. The staff is very polite and go out of their way to help you. I went to the bar on a tuesday night and it was rocking with live music and has a great atmosphere. Unfortunately i had no time to eat in any of the restaurants except the breakfast buffet which was good as expected. I had a corporate rate there so ended up paying US$400 inclusive of taxes but the rack rate is US$500+. Hotel is very well located. Wifi is free in the common areas as well as the rooms. Can't wait to visit again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A great hotel in a great location. Subway it's there. Shops and restaurants are there, in the neighbourhood. Roppongi is an exquisite location, with nice restaurants and many shops and bars and even brand shops (but who is shopping in Tokyo...?). Hotel amenties are great. Reception is always helpful, rooms are modern, nice and very clean. Breakfast is amaizing. Bathrooms are so fresh and pampering. Try the nice yukata you have there to endulge while relaxing. Spa, pool and fitness are really great too. Definitely a place to indulge Tokyo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

At our check in the dates were completely wrong, the rates too. We had to wait for 30 min to be checked it, mind I had a sleeping toddler in my hands.
We were regular clients, but this time is definitely our last stay at GH Tokyo.
The amenities for toddlers are just awful. There is no potty (we were promised one), the child can climb out of the bed which is dangerous.
Overall disappointment in service.

Room Tip: standard rooms are extremely small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Room is spacious by Tokyo standards, I stayed in other Hotels in Tokyo and this is is really big by Tokyo standards. Rooms and Hotel is so quiet even being so close to Ropongi. Nice Shiny wood floors. Automatic black out shades and blind controls. Limited number of English TV channels, but who would stay in the room if you have the Ropongi area next door. This hotel has an excellent location just the Hotel complex has a great assortment of restaurants and shops and the night life of Roppongi is all within walking distance, with a great variety of restaurants, bars, night clubs. The room was so clean and spotless every time we came back to the room. Still looks like new. The bathroom was spotless and clean and looks brand new. The tub is big two for sure. Big shower area with a rain hand held nozzle.
The meeting facilities are superb. The catering service was excellent for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I also had breakfast at the French Kitchen. Breakfast buffet. Delicious food and excellent service.
The swimming pool and gym facilities are spotless and well maintained. The hotel staff are attentive without being annoying. Definitely a 5 star hotel, they earned it.
Concierge desk is awesome, so friendly and detailed. I asked them to help me with directions to how to get to Kamakura city, they printed out the train schedule, made me a route what stations to go (detail of taking Tokyo Metro and JR Line).
All personnel is so friendly and helpful and respectful as well. Believe me they do not do it for the tips. No tipping in Japan, and not even accepted if you insist.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor to enjoy a great view iconic views of Tokyo like Tokyo Tower , Mount Fuji in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just a quick review following our recent trip to Tokyo; the Grand Hyatt was as expected; polished, competent, professional, perfectly located. The room was a little small for my liking in truth - albeit it was very clean, comfortable and sufficient for our three day stay. I used the gym twice and was satisfied with the equipment present.

As other reviewers have stated, the staff here are above and beyond; each is a gem and whether it's the cheerful nature of Japanese people in general or simply that each staff member at the Hyatt has been specifically trained to be so professional and genuinely "happy", it makes for a very pleasant atmosphere, regardless of what part of this [vast] hotel you may find yourself in.

We strolled into the [very happening] area of Roppongi on two of the nights and it's a really lively spot - the hotel is perfectly located and a great base for exploring - certainly, the shopping center (Roppongi Hills) attached to the hotel is a great retail experience and the assorted restaurants contained within will satisfy any and all tastes and pockets.

Prices here are a little high but it's to be expected - the experience at the Hyatt was a very satisfying one and I'd certainly return when next in Tokyo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Good location near Shinjuku Station, department stores, electric shopping street, bars and restaurants. Large room with fantastic windows that give a panaramic view of Tokyo. Close to Tokyo Municipal Government Tower (TMGT)that has a free observatory on the 47th floor. Bathroom small, dated, but adequate. Comfortable bed. Use the airport bus shuttle located in the circular drive on the West side of Shinjuku Station for a cheaper, but the same, limousine service. Very good bakery and Convenience store, on Ground Level, level 2, well priced and stocked with a wide array of items. Get tourist maps from the Tokyo information bureau located in TMGT.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Minato
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel
Grand Hyatt Minato
Grand Hyatt Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Minato Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Japan
Address: 6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Minato
#4 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#8 Family Hotel in Minato
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.