We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not suitable for toddlers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Tokyo to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture (Akasaka / Roppongi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #2 of 98 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
“Not suitable for toddlers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

At our check in the dates were completely wrong, the rates too. We had to wait for 30 min to be checked it, mind I had a sleeping toddler in my hands.
We were regular clients, but this time is definitely our last stay at GH Tokyo.
The amenities for toddlers are just awful. There is no potty (we were promised one), the child can climb out of the bed which is dangerous.
Overall disappointment in service.

Room Tip: standard rooms are extremely small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    298
    56
    22
    10
See reviews for
179
247
118
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Room is spacious by Tokyo standards, I stayed in other Hotels in Tokyo and this is is really big by Tokyo standards. Rooms and Hotel is so quiet even being so close to Ropongi. Nice Shiny wood floors. Automatic black out shades and blind controls. Limited number of English TV channels, but who would stay in the room if you have the Ropongi area next door. This hotel has an excellent location just the Hotel complex has a great assortment of restaurants and shops and the night life of Roppongi is all within walking distance, with a great variety of restaurants, bars, night clubs. The room was so clean and spotless every time we came back to the room. Still looks like new. The bathroom was spotless and clean and looks brand new. The tub is big two for sure. Big shower area with a rain hand held nozzle.
The meeting facilities are superb. The catering service was excellent for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I also had breakfast at the French Kitchen. Breakfast buffet. Delicious food and excellent service.
The swimming pool and gym facilities are spotless and well maintained. The hotel staff are attentive without being annoying. Definitely a 5 star hotel, they earned it.
Concierge desk is awesome, so friendly and detailed. I asked them to help me with directions to how to get to Kamakura city, they printed out the train schedule, made me a route what stations to go (detail of taking Tokyo Metro and JR Line).
All personnel is so friendly and helpful and respectful as well. Believe me they do not do it for the tips. No tipping in Japan, and not even accepted if you insist.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor to enjoy a great view iconic views of Tokyo like Tokyo Tower , Mount Fuji in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just a quick review following our recent trip to Tokyo; the Grand Hyatt was as expected; polished, competent, professional, perfectly located. The room was a little small for my liking in truth - albeit it was very clean, comfortable and sufficient for our three day stay. I used the gym twice and was satisfied with the equipment present.

As other reviewers have stated, the staff here are above and beyond; each is a gem and whether it's the cheerful nature of Japanese people in general or simply that each staff member at the Hyatt has been specifically trained to be so professional and genuinely "happy", it makes for a very pleasant atmosphere, regardless of what part of this [vast] hotel you may find yourself in.

We strolled into the [very happening] area of Roppongi on two of the nights and it's a really lively spot - the hotel is perfectly located and a great base for exploring - certainly, the shopping center (Roppongi Hills) attached to the hotel is a great retail experience and the assorted restaurants contained within will satisfy any and all tastes and pockets.

Prices here are a little high but it's to be expected - the experience at the Hyatt was a very satisfying one and I'd certainly return when next in Tokyo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Good location near Shinjuku Station, department stores, electric shopping street, bars and restaurants. Large room with fantastic windows that give a panaramic view of Tokyo. Close to Tokyo Municipal Government Tower (TMGT)that has a free observatory on the 47th floor. Bathroom small, dated, but adequate. Comfortable bed. Use the airport bus shuttle located in the circular drive on the West side of Shinjuku Station for a cheaper, but the same, limousine service. Very good bakery and Convenience store, on Ground Level, level 2, well priced and stocked with a wide array of items. Get tourist maps from the Tokyo information bureau located in TMGT.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
349 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Have stayed at the Grand Hyatt in Roppongi a number of times before. The hotel never dissapoints. Although expensive but much of Tokyo and Japan fits into that category. Everything is fantastic. If u have had a late night out, the hotel has two sets of blinds in every room, so no way you will be woken by morning sunlight. The beds are extremely comfortable. And if needed the hotel has an extensive list of DVD's for viewing. And hotel has great location next to Roppongi Hills Shopping Center. Excellent...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was our first family trip to Tokyo. After a spectacular mistake involving the Hyatt reservations call center, the general manager at the Grand Hyatt personally interceded to make things right. He and the executive assistant manager more than met the task. We were upgraded to a corner suite with club access. We were on the side of the hotel facing Mt. Fuji, which involved some spectacular sunset and sunrise views of the mountain and city. Staff is efficient and attentive. The club was busy, but never crowded, and again, very attentive staff whenever assistance was needed. The room featured bedside controls for lighting and window shades. Although there were other occupants nearby, we never heard any noise within our room. Public spaces in the hotel are beautiful. As this was a family trip, the Roppongi area was our preference over the other Hyatt locations in Shinjuku. We absolutely made the right call - the subway connection is very close by, and the Roppongi Hills complex area has plenty of great restaurants and shopping just steps away. I would highly recommend this hotel, and I hope to return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of the hotel, facing opposite from the Mori tower offer some very fine views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I have come to Tokyo for business for the last 6 years and I have always stayed here. I have been very satisfied with the location, the service (including the level of English among the service staff), the room (including wifi connection) and the restaurant. It offers everything a business traveller could wish for. The one thing that stands out among these years is the efficiency of the staff and the service they provided - they are always very reliable. Once I had a misunderstanding of the timing of a meeting, the hotel sent a car with an experienced driver to take me through the short cut and less jammed roads to the meeting place. Another time we needed a few more rooms at the last minute at the high season, the hotel provided them without too much fuss (I don't know how they found the availability, but it certainly didn't look like they weren't full). I also liked the spa very much although it is quite pricey (but then what do you expect in Tokyo)!

Room Tip: I always have a standard room which has quite reasonable space for Tokyo hotels. It is certainly su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 76 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 stars 1,759 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 98 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 1,784 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akasaka / Roppongi
The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo
The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo
#5 of 98 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
#3 of 65 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 854 reviews
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 76 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 stars 2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Address: 6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#2 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#3 Business Hotel in Minato
#9 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, HotelTravel.com, Venere, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Minato
Grand Hyatt Minato
Grand Hyatt Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Minato Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.