We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome luxurious Hotel, Superb quality service in the heart of the Ropongi area, Excellent location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #3 of 93 hotels in Minato
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Awesome luxurious Hotel, Superb quality service in the heart of the Ropongi area, Excellent location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Room is spacious by Tokyo standards, I stayed in other Hotels in Tokyo and this is is really big by Tokyo standards. Rooms and Hotel is so quiet even being so close to Ropongi. Nice Shiny wood floors. Automatic black out shades and blind controls. Limited number of English TV channels, but who would stay in the room if you have the Ropongi area next door. This hotel has an excellent location just the Hotel complex has a great assortment of restaurants and shops and the night life of Roppongi is all within walking distance, with a great variety of restaurants, bars, night clubs. The room was so clean and spotless every time we came back to the room. Still looks like new. The bathroom was spotless and clean and looks brand new. The tub is big two for sure. Big shower area with a rain hand held nozzle.
The meeting facilities are superb. The catering service was excellent for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I also had breakfast at the French Kitchen. Breakfast buffet. Delicious food and excellent service.
The swimming pool and gym facilities are spotless and well maintained. The hotel staff are attentive without being annoying. Definitely a 5 star hotel, they earned it.
Concierge desk is awesome, so friendly and detailed. I asked them to help me with directions to how to get to Kamakura city, they printed out the train schedule, made me a route what stations to go (detail of taking Tokyo Metro and JR Line).
All personnel is so friendly and helpful and respectful as well. Believe me they do not do it for the tips. No tipping in Japan, and not even accepted if you insist.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor to enjoy a great view iconic views of Tokyo like Tokyo Tower , Mount Fuji in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    528
    215
    38
    20
    7
See reviews for
118
190
104
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just a quick review following our recent trip to Tokyo; the Grand Hyatt was as expected; polished, competent, professional, perfectly located. The room was a little small for my liking in truth - albeit it was very clean, comfortable and sufficient for our three day stay. I used the gym twice and was satisfied with the equipment present.

As other reviewers have stated, the staff here are above and beyond; each is a gem and whether it's the cheerful nature of Japanese people in general or simply that each staff member at the Hyatt has been specifically trained to be so professional and genuinely "happy", it makes for a very pleasant atmosphere, regardless of what part of this [vast] hotel you may find yourself in.

We strolled into the [very happening] area of Roppongi on two of the nights and it's a really lively spot - the hotel is perfectly located and a great base for exploring - certainly, the shopping center (Roppongi Hills) attached to the hotel is a great retail experience and the assorted restaurants contained within will satisfy any and all tastes and pockets.

Prices here are a little high but it's to be expected - the experience at the Hyatt was a very satisfying one and I'd certainly return when next in Tokyo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Good location near Shinjuku Station, department stores, electric shopping street, bars and restaurants. Large room with fantastic windows that give a panaramic view of Tokyo. Close to Tokyo Municipal Government Tower (TMGT)that has a free observatory on the 47th floor. Bathroom small, dated, but adequate. Comfortable bed. Use the airport bus shuttle located in the circular drive on the West side of Shinjuku Station for a cheaper, but the same, limousine service. Very good bakery and Convenience store, on Ground Level, level 2, well priced and stocked with a wide array of items. Get tourist maps from the Tokyo information bureau located in TMGT.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Have stayed at the Grand Hyatt in Roppongi a number of times before. The hotel never dissapoints. Although expensive but much of Tokyo and Japan fits into that category. Everything is fantastic. If u have had a late night out, the hotel has two sets of blinds in every room, so no way you will be woken by morning sunlight. The beds are extremely comfortable. And if needed the hotel has an extensive list of DVD's for viewing. And hotel has great location next to Roppongi Hills Shopping Center. Excellent...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was our first family trip to Tokyo. After a spectacular mistake involving the Hyatt reservations call center, the general manager at the Grand Hyatt personally interceded to make things right. He and the executive assistant manager more than met the task. We were upgraded to a corner suite with club access. We were on the side of the hotel facing Mt. Fuji, which involved some spectacular sunset and sunrise views of the mountain and city. Staff is efficient and attentive. The club was busy, but never crowded, and again, very attentive staff whenever assistance was needed. The room featured bedside controls for lighting and window shades. Although there were other occupants nearby, we never heard any noise within our room. Public spaces in the hotel are beautiful. As this was a family trip, the Roppongi area was our preference over the other Hyatt locations in Shinjuku. We absolutely made the right call - the subway connection is very close by, and the Roppongi Hills complex area has plenty of great restaurants and shopping just steps away. I would highly recommend this hotel, and I hope to return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of the hotel, facing opposite from the Mori tower offer some very fine views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I have come to Tokyo for business for the last 6 years and I have always stayed here. I have been very satisfied with the location, the service (including the level of English among the service staff), the room (including wifi connection) and the restaurant. It offers everything a business traveller could wish for. The one thing that stands out among these years is the efficiency of the staff and the service they provided - they are always very reliable. Once I had a misunderstanding of the timing of a meeting, the hotel sent a car with an experienced driver to take me through the short cut and less jammed roads to the meeting place. Another time we needed a few more rooms at the last minute at the high season, the hotel provided them without too much fuss (I don't know how they found the availability, but it certainly didn't look like they weren't full). I also liked the spa very much although it is quite pricey (but then what do you expect in Tokyo)!

Room Tip: I always have a standard room which has quite reasonable space for Tokyo hotels. It is certainly su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I can see why this is the #2 hotel in Minato! We booked here via CX Holidays, the holiday package arm of Cathay Pacific. We got an automatic upgrade to a Grand Room on the Club floor with a free bottle of (nice) red wine included. Thank you, CX Holidays!

We've been sightseeing and shopping around Tokyo before. Our sole purpose for booking this vacation was to eat as much Japanese food as possible. The hotel is located in Roppongi, which is the perfect area for a culinary tour! It's also attached to the Roppongi Hills shopping center, which is a large and beautiful shopping mall.

The hotel wifi on the Club level is pretty fast. The breakfast and cocktails in the Club Lounge are not bad. The Nagomi Spa & Fitness center has a 20m swimming pool with three lap lanes and a jacuzzi. We had a nice swim before enjoying our pre-dinner cocktails. The sheets are wonderful and the room is "big" for Tokyo standards.

The service at this hotel is excellent. We felt at home the whole time and will definitely try to book here again!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Club Lounge for breakfast, cocktails, wifi and more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Address: 6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Minato
#3 Spa Hotel in Minato
#3 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#5 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#10 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Minato
Grand Hyatt Minato
Grand Hyatt Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Minato Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.