We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #3 of 93 hotels in Minato
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Good location near Shinjuku Station, department stores, electric shopping street, bars and restaurants. Large room with fantastic windows that give a panaramic view of Tokyo. Close to Tokyo Municipal Government Tower (TMGT)that has a free observatory on the 47th floor. Bathroom small, dated, but adequate. Comfortable bed. Use the airport bus shuttle located in the circular drive on the West side of Shinjuku Station for a cheaper, but the same, limousine service. Very good bakery and Convenience store, on Ground Level, level 2, well priced and stocked with a wide array of items. Get tourist maps from the Tokyo information bureau located in TMGT.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    526
    215
    38
    20
    7
See reviews for
118
189
103
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Have stayed at the Grand Hyatt in Roppongi a number of times before. The hotel never dissapoints. Although expensive but much of Tokyo and Japan fits into that category. Everything is fantastic. If u have had a late night out, the hotel has two sets of blinds in every room, so no way you will be woken by morning sunlight. The beds are extremely comfortable. And if needed the hotel has an extensive list of DVD's for viewing. And hotel has great location next to Roppongi Hills Shopping Center. Excellent...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was our first family trip to Tokyo. After a spectacular mistake involving the Hyatt reservations call center, the general manager at the Grand Hyatt personally interceded to make things right. He and the executive assistant manager more than met the task. We were upgraded to a corner suite with club access. We were on the side of the hotel facing Mt. Fuji, which involved some spectacular sunset and sunrise views of the mountain and city. Staff is efficient and attentive. The club was busy, but never crowded, and again, very attentive staff whenever assistance was needed. The room featured bedside controls for lighting and window shades. Although there were other occupants nearby, we never heard any noise within our room. Public spaces in the hotel are beautiful. As this was a family trip, the Roppongi area was our preference over the other Hyatt locations in Shinjuku. We absolutely made the right call - the subway connection is very close by, and the Roppongi Hills complex area has plenty of great restaurants and shopping just steps away. I would highly recommend this hotel, and I hope to return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of the hotel, facing opposite from the Mori tower offer some very fine views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I have come to Tokyo for business for the last 6 years and I have always stayed here. I have been very satisfied with the location, the service (including the level of English among the service staff), the room (including wifi connection) and the restaurant. It offers everything a business traveller could wish for. The one thing that stands out among these years is the efficiency of the staff and the service they provided - they are always very reliable. Once I had a misunderstanding of the timing of a meeting, the hotel sent a car with an experienced driver to take me through the short cut and less jammed roads to the meeting place. Another time we needed a few more rooms at the last minute at the high season, the hotel provided them without too much fuss (I don't know how they found the availability, but it certainly didn't look like they weren't full). I also liked the spa very much although it is quite pricey (but then what do you expect in Tokyo)!

Room Tip: I always have a standard room which has quite reasonable space for Tokyo hotels. It is certainly su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I can see why this is the #2 hotel in Minato! We booked here via CX Holidays, the holiday package arm of Cathay Pacific. We got an automatic upgrade to a Grand Room on the Club floor with a free bottle of (nice) red wine included. Thank you, CX Holidays!

We've been sightseeing and shopping around Tokyo before. Our sole purpose for booking this vacation was to eat as much Japanese food as possible. The hotel is located in Roppongi, which is the perfect area for a culinary tour! It's also attached to the Roppongi Hills shopping center, which is a large and beautiful shopping mall.

The hotel wifi on the Club level is pretty fast. The breakfast and cocktails in the Club Lounge are not bad. The Nagomi Spa & Fitness center has a 20m swimming pool with three lap lanes and a jacuzzi. We had a nice swim before enjoying our pre-dinner cocktails. The sheets are wonderful and the room is "big" for Tokyo standards.

The service at this hotel is excellent. We felt at home the whole time and will definitely try to book here again!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Club Lounge for breakfast, cocktails, wifi and more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here for 2 night on a weekend visit to Tokyo and couldn't have been more pleased.

Although the room wasn't the biggest, it was nicely decorated and suited me fine. The service I got was great and having lounge access was also nice. Especially since the weather was nice and I could enjoy the terrace outside. The lounge was crowded but I was able to find a decent seat every time, so not too bad.

One of the best things is the location. You can easily walk/shop in the nearby area, and subway access is also close. The lunch in the restaurant downstairs was also very nice, I even got to enjoy the spring sun.

And if you like jazz, it's convenient and enjoyable to visit the bar that is located in the adjoining mall.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

It is a nice hotel but I would rather stay in Ritz if all things equal. The Ritz has a better room and it is much bigger. I tried the restaurants in both hotels but they are pretty much the same. The bar however in the Hyatt offers a great Jazz session so be sure to visit there at least once in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Address: 6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Minato
#3 Spa Hotel in Minato
#3 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#5 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#10 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Minato
Grand Hyatt Minato
Grand Hyatt Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Minato Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.