We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stopover Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shiba Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Shiba Park Hotel to your Saves list
Shiba Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-5-10 Shibakoen, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0011, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Stopover Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed here for one night to break our flight from Italy to New Zealand. The hotel was booked by our travel agent including the transfer from the airport so we didn't really look into the area prior. It is a long way from the airport (over 60km's) so you get to see a good part of Tokyo on the way.

The area is a business district so there is no shopping within easy walking distance however there are plent of places to eat and most cater for English speakers. There is also the Zojoji temple and Tokyo tower within easy walking distance.

The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and helped us work out the best way to get to the attractions we wanted to see, including instructions for the subway which worked out great.

The room was a good size with a separate desk area and was well furnished, it was not new but was not in need of redecoration either. It had a fridge and also tea making facilities. The wifi was included in the room rate and was excellent. Shower over the bath wasn't great but it did the job. The room was very quiet at night so we got a good sleep.

We were advised on check in that we could stay until our pickup the next day which was 2:30pm of which we were very appreciative. However at 12:30 we got a call to check out by 1pm (please), there was obviously a misunderstanding between us and check in as to what "stay until our pickup" meant. However that wasn't a worry as we could use their waiting area downstairs and still had wifi access.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Annex would be quieter than the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    204
    76
    21
    8
See reviews for
107
126
43
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holstebro
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Shiba Hotel is centrally located in Tokyo and close to two metros and one train station. The staff is extremely kind and helpful - who isn't in Japan - and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. However, they do charge for even one hour late check-out. If you book and prepay on the internet they usually have a four nights for three offer. If you plan to go to Kyoto, don't buy the JR Pass, but take advantage of the cheaper and faster Nozomi-offer from japanican.com including public transportation in Kyoto.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Direct bus from Narita (¥3,000) before 17:30 or walk/taxi (¥2,000) from TCAT central bus station out of above hours.
Staff are very attentive, helpful and friendly. Great location for Hamamatsucho (JR line from Tokyo Station) and Onarimon (Toei Mita line).
Lots of good variety of eateries close by - try the Benita restaurant at bottom of road if you like Indian food.
Rooms are small but well equipped with fridge, kettle and vending/ice machine in corridor. Usual toiletries provided in bathroom.
Free wifi available in both rooms and reception.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a stopover en route from London to Tokyo. Helpful staff, nice and quiet with the usual Japanese attention to detail. The room was a bit small and the hotel needs new carpets, but it was great for a rest. Direct bus from Narita or the Narita Express and a 30 minute walk. Free coffee, pastries and wifi.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I've stayed at Shiba Park Hotel many many times already, but I really enjoyed my last stay. The staff is always friendly and ready to help you out with whatever concerns you may have. The hotel itself is located in a quiet area with minimal foot traffic as compared to other parts of the city. You're a little less than a half mile away from Hamamatsucho, which isn't too bad at all. Plus the area is lined with convenience stores and restaurants for a quick bite. Shiba Park Hotel's rooms are nicely sized- my family and I went with a triple room. There are great hotel amenities too, so you don't have to worry too much. Downstairs of the annex building is the wi-fi area and front desk (which moved from the main building since my previous trip in 2012).

Basically: Nice rooms, great staff, quiet location, pretty good location in distance to subway and JR, close to some attractions (Zojoji; Tokyo Tower), + wifi area .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 week and got to know the fabulous staff. First class service. Everyone was so nice and helpful!! The location was perfect. There were tons of eateries nearby and the train station was a short walk away with all the fun hubs like shibuya and ikebukuro only 10 mins away. We have stayed in shinjuku for our last 4 trips but will now stay @ shiba park because of the staff! My only gripe is the rooms need to be refurbished. Oh and we ate the best ramen at fukki- 3 min walk from the hotel open til 4am!! Highly recommend this hotel! ALOHA spirit in Japan!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I was very happy that I picked this hotel for a city weekend getaway. I did get a great price with hotels.com so that was one of the reasons for choosing the hotel. We paid under 30,000 yen for two nights. The room was quite nice, very comfortable beds and a lovely bathroom. It is only a 5 minute walk to the subway and about 8 minutes to the JR train station. Getting around the city was easy. There are restaurants and shops close to the hotel as well as the Zojoji Temple and the Tokyo Tower. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shiba Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiba Park Hotel

Address: 1-5-10 Shibakoen, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0011, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Minato
#22 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shiba Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the best in Japanese hospitality, the Shiba Park Hotel. It's been our tradition to serve the Japanese and overseas guests alike, with our well-trained, friendly and helpful staff. This first class budget hotel in Tokyo offers services regardless of whether you are traveling on business or pleasure. Shiba Park Hotel is a great located in the heart of Tokyo. This Tokyo budget hotel has great access to 4 major train and subway stations, and is close to Tokyo's major sightseeing spots as well as the business districts. For your accommodation in Tokyo, this Shiba Park Hotel offers various room types to suit families and small groups, as well as business traveller's needs. WiFi is available in all guest rooms free of charge. The famous Tokyo Tower and the beautiful temple (Zojoji) are just a few steps away. There is a Michelin star French restaurant in this hotel for your inhouse dining, but if you love to eat out, there are hundreds of little great restaurants around this hotel in Minato-ku, Tokyo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your Shiba Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shiba Park
Shiba Park Minato
Shiba Park Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shiba Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.