We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shiba Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shiba Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shiba Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-5-10 Shiba-koen, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0011, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 93 hotels in Minato
Forest of Dean
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

well the hotel is in a good location a short walk to the temples not far from tokyo tower and metro. the hotel is in two buildings we stayed in main building the room very nice and was kept very clean and mini bar filled every day lol. the staff very friendly and everyone spoke good english which helped alot the only good thing was my kids do speak a bit of Japanese

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsH, Web Marketing at Shiba Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Suzi_Davison,
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your stay at Shiba Park Hotel. Yes, our hotel is located in a very convenient location and you can access to most of popular attractions very easily. We hope you and your family enjoyed exploring around the hotel and Tokyo. I assume that your kids are interested in Japan, and I am very glad! Please come back again. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    169
    63
    19
    8
See reviews for
83
101
40
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel is located in two buildings across a small street from each other. I stayed in the Annex on an upper floor. The room was adequate, but felt worn and dated. Based on views from the elevator I think it's possible the hotel is being gradually updated. The public areas are sparsely furnished. Some dishes at breakfast buffet were not well-cooked and selection was fairly limited.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsH, Web Marketing at Shiba Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear capegirardeau,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Shiba Park Hotel.
Yes, we are gradually renovating some of the hotel facilities. We are one of the most classic hotels in Tokyo and this might give you the impression that the hotel is old and dated. However, we maintain rooms well for your pleasant stay and always to try to find better way to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable. We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed for three nights at Shiba Park Hotel with our six month old baby in Nov 2013. We arrived on a public holiday at 10.30am after an overnight flight and were surprised and happy to be able to check in early - big bonus with a baby in tow. The staff were incredibly efficient (about 5 mins for check in), took our luggage up to our room, modified the bedding arrangement to suit us without hassle. Front desk staff very helpful when I asked for help finding ATMs, places to buy baby needs - they even provided a map of restaurants within walking distance. We booked the triple room but did not use the fold out bed - this provided more space for our baby to play on the floor and for his cot. The room was large for a Tokyo business hotel. Although the room decor is a little dated, it was clean. The room was equipped with everything we could have needed with a baby. The house keeping staff were excellent. Great location near Daimon subway station and JR Hamamatsucho (two totally different stations, not confusing!). Easy to find location. Lots of baby friendly restaurants close by for dinners.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsH, Web Marketing at Shiba Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear majanddaz,
Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Yes, we are baby/child friendly hotel. Baby cot, bed guard and baby amenities are available free of charge. During event seasons such as holloween, christmas and summer holidays, we have kids activities near front desk so children can enjoy at hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family again! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at this property for two nights at the start of our visit to Japan.

As this was part of a group booking, I cannot reliably comment on value for money as I,m not sure how the pricing was built into our overall cost.

Check in was uneventful and the rooms had obviously been pre assigned as were were handed a room key and envelope with breakfast vouchers.

Personally we found the hotel to be rather dark and dated with a lingering smell of smoke around, however the rooms were adequate, clean and an acceptable size for Tokyo, and all amenities provided including wi-fi in the rooms.

Breakfast was a choice of Japanese or Western, Western being served in their sister building directly across the small road.
The choice was sufficient, not really hot but acceptable should you not wish to eat Japanese.

Location was good, close to the subway and many restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is not far from the Diamon subway station stop. It is located near many restaurants and the tokyo tower. The room was very comfortable and had all the amenities. The hotel staff was very polite and helpful. The breakfast choice was western style or japanese style. The selection was very good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Recently tried checking in exactly at noon as per instructions of my tour company, "Inside Japan," which is the precise check in time on 30 September 2013. Honestly and without exaggeration, it took nearly half an hour to check in as insufferable front desk stay bungled computerized reservation system assigned and withdrew at least three different room assignments, asked for passport three times and did everything feasible to make me feel unwelcome during my very first hotel check-in in Japan. They would not let me use a luggage cart. Hotel lies near a subway stop with two different names, "Daimon" and "Hamanatsucho." It has two different buildings: a main one and an annex. This makes it a headache to reach for newcomers to Tokyo for sure. The room was spacious for Japan, clean and well equipped. The comp breakfast was great. However the bitter feeling at check in was hard to overcome.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if at all possible. Most all others even in Tokyo have friendlier and more effectiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent five nights at the Shiba Park in September 2013. Our twin room was of adequate size and had all the amenities that we required.....hairdryer, small refrigerator, thermos to boil water for tea, large flat screen TV, a table and two chairs. The washers/dryers, ironing board and iron were located on the 4th floor. Breakfast can either be Japanese style which is served in the annex section (building two) or Western style which is served in the first building and consists of runny scrambled eggs (which you will find throughout Japan), asst. breakfast rolls, toast, cold meats, beans, potatoes, yogurt, canned fruit, cereals......more than adequate. The staff is friendly and helpful and the location is convenient to the subway and near the Tokyo Tower.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shiba Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiba Park Hotel

Address: 1-5-10 Shiba-koen, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0011, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Minato
#27 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shiba Park Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Shiba Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shiba Park
Shiba Park Minato
Shiba Park Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shiba Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.