We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great access to metro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shiba Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shiba Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Shiba Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-5-10 Shiba-koen, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0011, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 92 hotels in Minato
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great access to metro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is just a few blocks from the subway from the airport. The desk clerks were super helpful as long as we knew where we wanted to go. They made reservations for us but couldn't really help us find our way. The breakfast buffet was good. Tokyo tower is a few blocks away, and Ropppongi is walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    151
    57
    18
    7
See reviews for
73
88
35
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed in this location, due to its proximity to the office area & also a fair bit of walking distance from Tokyo tower. Close to Hamamatsucho station, so travelling to Haneda is easy from here.The hotel itself is a good one, with very friendly staff, convenient but small rooms. The breakfast was good & its a value for money. They could provide more discounts to corporate travellers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here for a week as it is near my office. Hotel is dated but room is reasonable size and comfortable. Clean. No English programs on the tv. Join their member program to enjoy some freebies and earn some points that can be offset against your hotel room rate or restaurants bill. Some staff doesn't speak very good English but is always very helpful. Airport buses pass through the hotel and staff will ensure you get on them. Wifi available in room. I chose to be upgraded to business room and was allow use of a lounge. Not much available there but it is good enough for me to get coffee especially if I have chosen to take the Japanese breakfast which doesn't serve coffee. Price is reasonable especially because it is near the subway and monorail from Haneda airport. Also lots of eateries around the neighbourhood which served pretty cheap food. Noise from outside can't be heard but sometimes you can hear other guests in the hallway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel has a great central location, near lots of major attractions such as the Ferrari and Aston Martin Store. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Very close to the underground but no noise pollution. Very close to the infamous roppongi but not so close that it has any spill off of it.

Room Tip: Its expensive but good for business. However, If you are interested in making friends, especially in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Shiba Park is an older hotel, with a newer annex across a narrow street. We asked, but no triples were available in the newer annex.

We stayed in the older building, in a room that was circa 1980. The room had only wired internet (free); wireless was only in the business center. We later saw that some rooms on the floor had been more recently updated in a lavender color-scheme, but none on our end of the floor.

While the room's age was distressing, the room was clean, and did not smell of smoke (although in prior years smoking was permitted there, as indicated by the "please refrain from smoking in bed" sign). The triple, including the rollaway, were all equally firm beds. The value of this hotel is it's center-city location at a reasonable cost for a triple. It wasn't nearly as nice as the other Tokyo triple we had on the first leg of our trip, but that hotel was also on the outskirts - while here we paid for location, location, location (specifically being close to Ginza and a cheap taxi from the Tsukiji Fish Market at 4am).

The room's age aside, the service was very good, English was excellent, and they provided free candy at registration. All of which helped offset the disco-era room.

Room Tip: Request the newer annex, if a room of the size you need is available there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier,France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

A long awaited dream ! first time in Tokyo !
Very nice hotel, genuinely located and very calm to rest after experiencing tokyo madness !!!
You're not far away from Tokyo tower and the lovely temple at her feet, and you're on the yamanote line : 20 min to shibuya, shinjuku and a little less from akihabara ! 30 minutes to haneda airport bt monorail ! very central !
We had a lovely room (said to be from the old part decoration of the hotel but it reminds me my 90's dream of japan so it was cool), very clean and efficient; the fridge is really helpful ( god bless 7 eleven and family mart !) and the bathroom very clean and efficient too ( we're in japan).
I loved the hotel atmosphere and the crew was very nice and eager to communicate with us ! very helpful for toei theatre movie hours, finding sailor fuku and ayumi hamasaki concert !
Thanks guys for your help and warm smiles ! :D

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsH, Web Marketing at Shiba Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Ayufan,
Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you pointed out, while our hotel is quite centrally located, and you can go most of major spots in Tokyo without having to transfer, it is also very calm and good to rest after experience busy Tokyo . Our hotel opened in 1949 and it is one of the oldest hotels in Tokyo. I love our warm and cozy atmosphere and are happy that you loved it too! We hope that you will continue to visit Tokyo. And when you do, please come back to Shiba Park Hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was very easy to find and in a great location. It's very near to the train station which makes it easy to get around. Arrived at hotel very early(due to flights) so our room was not ready. Staff offered to look after our cases so we could go out.
Rooms our a little small but had everything we needed. The room was very clean and tidy and presented well.
Buffet breakfast was nice but a little on the expensive side.
The staff were very helpful and spoke good English so we never had a communication problem.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsH, Web Marketing at Shiba Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Simon M,
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us.
It was a pleasure to read your positive review of our hotel and staff. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon! Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shiba Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiba Park Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Shiba Park
Shiba Park Minato
Shiba Park Hotel Tokyo, Japan
Address: 1-5-10 Shiba-koen, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0011, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Minato
#26 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shiba Park Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Jalan and Venere so you can book your Shiba Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shiba Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.