We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, okay hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shiba Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Shiba Park Hotel to your Saves list
Shiba Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-5-10 Shibakoen, Minato 105-0011, Tokyo Prefecture (Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #23 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good location, okay hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Shiba Park was booked for us through a tour company. It's a fine place to stay but nothing special. Rooms are quite small, but it's a big city so I wasn't surprised. A/C worked sporadically but not too well. Clear that previous guests had smoked in the room and the bathroom pipes smelled. Also woke up early one morning to a fire alarm going off which wasn't their fault, but didn't help the experience. I did like the beer vending machine on each floor, but sadly that might have been my favorite part. Nice staff though

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    249
    88
    27
    8
See reviews for
131
149
48
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was my first visit to Japan and the first Japanese hotel that I stayed in.
It was a most pleasant experience.

Having found my way easily from Daimon subway station (5min walk) I got to the reception and found check-in to be ultra quick.

The room (double) was clean and nice with all the four star facilities.
There was nothing to complain about!

Breakfast was good and the restaurant staff charming.
The bar was rather pricy but then everything in Japan is rather pricy.
There is a Japanese style restaurant as well as a western style one.

The front desk will change currency with the minimum of paper work.

There are plenty of small supermarkets (7/11 type), ATMs and fast food outlets nearby.

This is an ideal place to make your base in Tokyo.
Finally, the staff were extremely helpful, knowledgeable and charming but then most Japanese are!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo B.C.
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed at the Shiba Park Hotel for one evening. The hotel is a bit on the older side but nicely maintained, clean, with helpful and friendly staff. Typical for Japan hotels the rooms are small and offer barley enough space to turn around. Staff was extremely pleasant and helpful with directions and assistance.
The hotel has a number of restaurants and eateries. The Chinese restaurant located in the basement served excellent food with good service although it was extremely expensive. The main floor coffee shop serves more reasonably priced food and an excellent breakfast. The coffee shop staff were great!
The hotel is located close (a 5 minute walk) to the Tokyo Tower and the Zojoji Temple. The Temple is located in a beautiful park setting. You should allow a full afternoon for a relaxing visit. The hotel is about a 5-minute walk to the nearest Tokyo subway station and a 15 minute walk to the JR Hamamatsucho Station, which is on the main Yamanote Loop, allowing for connections to any of the major JR stations and Narita Airport.
All in all the Shiba Park Hotel was a very nice place to stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Hartley NSW
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Would highly recommend this hotel. Excellent location close the subway, JR, monorail and we found some great local restaurants close by. We stayed 4 nights, the staff were friendly and efficient, helping us with directions and tourist information, nothing was to much trouble. Rooms were a little dated but were in good condition, very cosy and plenty of room. WiFi was available in the lobby free. Breakfast Buffet was a great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is very well located, being an easy walk to the subway and a JR station. One of the big strengths of this hotel is the staff - they were all really helpful. I was travelling with my husband and our two adult daughters and we spent 2 nights at this hotel at the beginning of our Japan trip and 5 nights at the end of the trip and all staff we met were very helpful.

Unfortunately, the rooms are in need of refurbishment. We had booked one double non-smoking room and one twin non-smoking room. For our first stay, we were informed that we had been given an upgrade and were given two triple rooms on the 4th or 5th floor (sorry I can't remember exactly which one). These rooms were very cramped and all of the furnishings and carpets were quite stained. Although, the cleaners tried to keep the rooms clean, they were so stained that it was impossible to make the rooms look clean.

On our second stay we were given one double and one twin room on the 11th floor and these rooms were much better. Whilst still in need of refurbishment, the rooms were a much better size and nowhere near as stained.

Whilst our rooms had no smoke smell, there is a strong smoke smell in the lobby.

There is free cable internet in the rooms and free wifi in the lobby.

The hotel is also very close to a number of restaurants. Although as we soon learnt anywhere in Japan is located quite close to restaurants.

The staff at this hotel and its location make this hotel a reasonable budget option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel is excellently located - close to the metro, JR lines and the monorail to Haneda airport. When we arrived we received a warm and friendly welcome and the staff couldn't have done more to be helpful and friendly throughout our stay.

The room was spacious (for Tokyo!) and comfortable. We found the place spotlessly clean and the cleaning ladies took a shine to our young son which he found very pleasing!

If I had one negative it was that if you are traveling for business (as I often do) then the wifi in the rooms isn't really quick enough to work easily. If you are on holiday though, and just want to check your e-mails then it's fine. There is also free, quicker Internet in the lobby.

Overall I would return here the next time I travel to Tokyo with family.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the new anex building off the main street. These rooms have been refurbished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for two nights, as part of a tour of Japan. Hotel very comfortable and clean, and has a good choice of Japanese breakfast, or Western. The hotel has free wi fi , in the lobby. The hotel is also in walking distance of the Tokyo underground (Daimon station) which links to the rest of the underground network.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Shiba Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiba Park Hotel

Address: 1-5-10 Shibakoen, Minato 105-0011, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Minato
#31 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shiba Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the best in Japanese hospitality, the Shiba Park Hotel. It's been our tradition to serve the Japanese and overseas guests alike, with our well-trained, friendly and helpful staff. This first class budget hotel in Tokyo offers services regardless of whether you are traveling on business or pleasure. Shiba Park Hotel is a great located in the heart of Tokyo. This Tokyo budget hotel has great access to 4 major train and subway stations, and is close to Tokyo's major sightseeing spots as well as the business districts. For your accommodation in Tokyo, this Shiba Park Hotel offers various room types to suit families and small groups, as well as business traveller's needs. WiFi is available in all guest rooms free of charge. The famous Tokyo Tower and the beautiful temple (Zojoji) are just a few steps away. There is a Michelin star French restaurant in this hotel for your inhouse dining, but if you love to eat out, there are hundreds of little great restaurants around this hotel in Minato-ku, Tokyo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel, getaroom.com, JAPANiCAN and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Shiba Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shiba Park
Shiba Park Minato
Shiba Park Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shiba Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.