We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Introduction to Japan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shiba Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shiba Park Hotel to your Saves list
Shiba Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-5-10 Shiba-koen, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0011, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Minato
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Great Introduction to Japan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was my first visit to Japan and the first Japanese hotel that I stayed in.
It was a most pleasant experience.

Having found my way easily from Daimon subway station (5min walk) I got to the reception and found check-in to be ultra quick.

The room (double) was clean and nice with all the four star facilities.
There was nothing to complain about!

Breakfast was good and the restaurant staff charming.
The bar was rather pricy but then everything in Japan is rather pricy.
There is a Japanese style restaurant as well as a western style one.

The front desk will change currency with the minimum of paper work.

There are plenty of small supermarkets (7/11 type), ATMs and fast food outlets nearby.

This is an ideal place to make your base in Tokyo.
Finally, the staff were extremely helpful, knowledgeable and charming but then most Japanese are!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    193
    69
    19
    8
See reviews for
100
113
41
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo B.C.
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed at the Shiba Park Hotel for one evening. The hotel is a bit on the older side but nicely maintained, clean, with helpful and friendly staff. Typical for Japan hotels the rooms are small and offer barley enough space to turn around. Staff was extremely pleasant and helpful with directions and assistance.
The hotel has a number of restaurants and eateries. The Chinese restaurant located in the basement served excellent food with good service although it was extremely expensive. The main floor coffee shop serves more reasonably priced food and an excellent breakfast. The coffee shop staff were great!
The hotel is located close (a 5 minute walk) to the Tokyo Tower and the Zojoji Temple. The Temple is located in a beautiful park setting. You should allow a full afternoon for a relaxing visit. The hotel is about a 5-minute walk to the nearest Tokyo subway station and a 15 minute walk to the JR Hamamatsucho Station, which is on the main Yamanote Loop, allowing for connections to any of the major JR stations and Narita Airport.
All in all the Shiba Park Hotel was a very nice place to stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Hartley NSW
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Would highly recommend this hotel. Excellent location close the subway, JR, monorail and we found some great local restaurants close by. We stayed 4 nights, the staff were friendly and efficient, helping us with directions and tourist information, nothing was to much trouble. Rooms were a little dated but were in good condition, very cosy and plenty of room. WiFi was available in the lobby free. Breakfast Buffet was a great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is very well located, being an easy walk to the subway and a JR station. One of the big strengths of this hotel is the staff - they were all really helpful. I was travelling with my husband and our two adult daughters and we spent 2 nights at this hotel at the beginning of our Japan trip and 5 nights at the end of the trip and all staff we met were very helpful.

Unfortunately, the rooms are in need of refurbishment. We had booked one double non-smoking room and one twin non-smoking room. For our first stay, we were informed that we had been given an upgrade and were given two triple rooms on the 4th or 5th floor (sorry I can't remember exactly which one). These rooms were very cramped and all of the furnishings and carpets were quite stained. Although, the cleaners tried to keep the rooms clean, they were so stained that it was impossible to make the rooms look clean.

On our second stay we were given one double and one twin room on the 11th floor and these rooms were much better. Whilst still in need of refurbishment, the rooms were a much better size and nowhere near as stained.

Whilst our rooms had no smoke smell, there is a strong smoke smell in the lobby.

There is free cable internet in the rooms and free wifi in the lobby.

The hotel is also very close to a number of restaurants. Although as we soon learnt anywhere in Japan is located quite close to restaurants.

The staff at this hotel and its location make this hotel a reasonable budget option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel is excellently located - close to the metro, JR lines and the monorail to Haneda airport. When we arrived we received a warm and friendly welcome and the staff couldn't have done more to be helpful and friendly throughout our stay.

The room was spacious (for Tokyo!) and comfortable. We found the place spotlessly clean and the cleaning ladies took a shine to our young son which he found very pleasing!

If I had one negative it was that if you are traveling for business (as I often do) then the wifi in the rooms isn't really quick enough to work easily. If you are on holiday though, and just want to check your e-mails then it's fine. There is also free, quicker Internet in the lobby.

Overall I would return here the next time I travel to Tokyo with family.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the new anex building off the main street. These rooms have been refurbished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for two nights, as part of a tour of Japan. Hotel very comfortable and clean, and has a good choice of Japanese breakfast, or Western. The hotel has free wi fi , in the lobby. The hotel is also in walking distance of the Tokyo underground (Daimon station) which links to the rest of the underground network.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed a great four nights at this hotel. the staff were super friendly and efficient, really helpful. Conveniently located, a 'relatively' short walk from the JR station rolling suitcases. The split building for the hotel, entering the main building only to walk out again and across the road to the 'Annex' to get to check in, was a bit disconcerting at first, but okay.

The staff are more than helpful in providing directions to various tourist sites and ringing tour companies to make enquiries/bookings. The restaurants are great! I highly recommend the 'lady's box' at the Japanese restaurant!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shiba Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiba Park Hotel

Address: 1-5-10 Shiba-koen, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0011, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Minato
#20 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shiba Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shiba Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shiba Park
Shiba Park Minato
Shiba Park Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shiba Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;