We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Tokyo!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-50 Shirokanedai, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8640, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 93 hotels in Minato
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stay in Tokyo!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I just returned from a family vacation at the Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo for 7 days. Check-in was quick and the room lived up to my expectations. We stayed in the Deluxe rooms which I believe are the same size as the standard rooms but with updated bathrooms.The rooms were pretty standard but extremely clean. The deluxe rooms were roomy in comparison to many Japanese hotel rooms and came with a lounging chaise, desk with 2 chairs, LCD TV., 2 twin beds and of course bathroom with a bidet. We had no issues with Wi-Fi and were able to connect our lap top, iPhones and iPad without any issues. There was no in-room safe and they were only located at the front desk. Luckily, since I read reviews that most of the rooms did not come with a safe, we purchased a cheap, portable lock box from Amazon prior to coming and locked up the items in the safe when out of the room and stored the safe in our luggage. Also, room was not sound proof but putting in ear plugs at night worked like a charm.

We only used room service twice (when we arrived and the last day). The food was okay but very pricy. 6,600 yen for burgers, fries, drink and slice of cake for 2 people. There is a 7-11 down the hill from the hotel, which we used to buy food as well as drinks and stored in the in-room fridge. There are also several Lawson's and Family Mart convenience stores that you can go to and load up on salads, fruits, snacks etc. For hot meals, you can go to the smaller restaurants near the hotel and pick-up a bento box or ramen for about 700 yen.

The hotel is located in a residential area and there is not much to do but it is a nice rest from the more chaotic areas of Tokyo such as Shinagawa and Shibuya. The hotel has a shuttle bus that will take you to the smaller Meguro train station as well as the bigger Shinagawa station (last shuttle goes out at 10:00 am for this station). Make sure to buy a JR Rail pass before you leave for Japan, which will allow you to ride to other destinations such as Osaka, Kyoto, Yokohama, etc. Also, once at the train station, you can purchase Suica passes at station kiosks. These train cards will provide you with unlimited transportation on the Tokyo subways. The Suica passes are re-loadable and can be used at vending machines and convenience stores as well. We used both the JR rail passes and the Suica cards at least 6 times a day, so we definitely got our money's worth from the purchase.

When I return to Tokyo, I will definitely stay at the Sheraton Miyako again. I was debating whether we should stay at a pricier hotel but did not regret my decision. You will spend most of your time sightseeing, that it doesn't make sense to pay for a hotel with more bells and whistles that is only going to be used as a place to rest at night. Also, the hotel staff always went above and beyond to help with directions and any questions that we asked; which made for a pleasant stay. Use the money saved by staying at the Sheraton for extra souvenirs! Travel tip: Bring a very, very good pair of walking shoes. Between walking to our destination from the train stations and the different tours, we logged 6-7 miles each day.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a higher floor. We were on the 5th floor and literally could feel the room sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo_Santa, Manager at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your staying at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo.
I also thank you for taking your time to write to us.
We currently refurbished all bathrooms on three floors and all rooms on one floor.
There is Link@Sheraton on the lobby floor, and the guests use free WiFi in lobby area, meeting rooms and guest rooms.
Also we hold Sheraton Social Hour in our bar from everyday from 17:00pm to 20:00 pm.
You can enjoy Starwood’s Specialty Select Wine by the glass from the excellent winery all over the continent.
Our concierge team prepares for various kind of maps, information and they can advise the best dining, shopping and sightseeing plan for you.
It is true there are guest rooms with in-room safe and without. We are planning to equip in-room safe
in all rooms near future.
In regard to sound leakage in the room, soundproofing material which is used for recent upgraded rooms should solve this problem.
There has been a problem with remedial measures for a while now and let me assure to you that we are taking all the steps we can to change it.

We appreciate your sincere feedback and hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again.

Sincerely,
Guest Service
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    384
    127
    32
    16
See reviews for
175
139
99
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Nice large rooms by Japanese standards. A Western Hotel,not a Japanese experience. Only about $60 US dollars by private car from Honeda Int'l Airport inTokyo. Fairly close to a subway station. In sort of a residential section, so a bit of hike to restaurants. Stayed there 2 days. Staff is very customer focused, speak excellent English.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms in quiet neighborhood, no need to worry about traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo_Santa, Manager at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your staying at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo.
I also thank you for taking your time to write to us.
I am very pleased with your positive comment to my staffs..
I am sure to pass along your kind remarks to my team.

Our hotel is located in one of Tokyo’s rich residential area so it is true that it is 7-8 minutes’ walk from the hotel to the nearest 24 hours-open convenience store.
We operate free shuttle service to JR Meguro station leaving about every 15 minutes and I recommend to use this shuttle for your shopping and dining out.
Our concierge prepare for various kind of maps, information so please get the advice there before you go out.

We appreciate your sincere feedback and hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Guest Sevice
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I've stayed at many Sheraton properties over the years and have seen the good and the bad. This hotel, whilst nice, is starting to feel ever so slightly dated. The reminiscence of the Miyako chain hotels is still evident, although it does have splashes of the Sheraton feel. As a SPG gold member my upgrade was available at check in even though the hotel was booked out and we arrived very late. So a big plus to the hotel for looking after their members.

Rooms are adequately appointed and very comfortable. Nothing beats a heavenly bed. Staff are friendly and accommodating. The breakfast is nice but nothing special. There is a lovely Japanese garden which should be visited. Due to the location of the hotel it really isn't near anything so you either walk or use the free shuttle service to Meguro station leaving about every 15 minutes.

For me my only complaints would be, I'd like a little more light in the rooms at night, not just ambient lighting. For example there is no main light in the bedroom only light sources come from lamps. At the moment as I look up there are a mixture of 6 sprinklers,smoke alarm and sensors in the roof but not a single light???? My only other peeve is an aircon thermostat box from the 70's on the wall, which gives it that dated feeling.

I would recommend this hotel over the Sheraton Grande in Tokyo any day of the week. They are chalk and cheese.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo_Santa, Manager at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your staying at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo.
I also thank you for taking your time to write an excellent and precise comment about us.
We are pleased to hear about your positive experience at our hotel.
We are sorry for the shortage of light in your room.
We can provide table lamp or other kind of lightning sources. Please request additional lights when you book our hotel next time, to be sure, though we can deal with such request on-site.

We hope you will remain a valued customer.

Sincerely,

Guest Service
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The rooms were a nice size i think for Japan standards. The walk from Meguro is 20 min. and is mostly downhill bypassing some grocery stores and restaurants. The Meguro station is on the JR which is very convenient and there is a closer subway line called Shirokanedai which is also convenient. They have good restaurants and the bar had a live jazz duo playing when we arrived. The only negative is that you have to pay for the pool and the health-club but the experience is worth it. An interesting note is that the temple where the graves for the 47 Ronin are a short walk away. Being near some embassy's the roads are wide and new

Room Tip: We chose this hotel using Starwood points
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo_Santa, Manager at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your staying at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo.
I also thank you for taking your time to write to us.
As for your commentary regarding charge of gym, our health club is mainly open to local memberships.
Please understand that this facility is not exclusive for hotel guests and we charge both local members and hotel guests the usage fee or SPG point, however SPG platinum member is given free access benefit.
The live Jazz performance in our lobby lounge is very popular among our guests.
Also we hold Sheraton Social Hour in our bar from everyday from 17:00pm to 20:00 pm. You can enjoy Starwood’s Specialty Select Wine by the glass from the excellent winery all over the continent.
We hope you will remain a valued customer.

Sincerely,

Guest Service
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I always stay at Sheraton Miyako Hotel whenever I'm in Tokyo as it's conveniently located - near my office in Japan and it also provides free shuttles to the nearest stations (MEguro), as well as to Shinagawa, making commute a breeze.

Sheraton Miyako is not only reasonably priced, the service staff is also very friendly and professional.

My last stay at Sheraton Miyako was in May and since then I had a couple of trips, so I hadn't unpacked my Japan bag (yes, I have 2 different bags since I travel often and pre packing 2 bags make things easier). 1 whole month later, I realised I was missing my iPad and that I left it at the Sheraton Miyako. I dropped an inquiry, not really expecting anything. However, I received a prompt reply that they found my iPad and they asked for my address to send it to me.

Within a week, I received my iPad. I'm speechless from this experience - no other hotel in Asia where I have lost items have returned anything to me before.

I'm a loyal customer to the Sheraton Miyako from now on.

Room Tip: In Japan, they have smoking and non-smoking rooms, so be sure to state you want non-smoking room, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo_Santa, Manager at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to view our hotel.
We appreciate your positive review to our hotel staff.
We take your views as a valuable suggestion then we will improve our operation and services.
We hope you will remain a valued customer. ARIGATO.

Sincerely,
Guest Service
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

On business, best to pre-book breakfast as vouchers cheaper than purchase on the day. Hotel is quiet but not very close to trains. Excellent shuttle service available. Taxis are plentiful and not that expensive if your office is not to far. Make sure you book a non smoking room before you travel.

Room Tip: Make sure you request in the booking non smoking rooms, as always very afficient check in in Japan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo_Santa, Manager at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your staying at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo.
I also thank you for taking your time to write to us.
As you commented, we have shuttle bus service from hotel to Meguro railway & subway station. (Every 15 minute)  As you already know, our hotel is located in very quiet and safe residential area with a lot of green. Our concierge staff shows you our neighborhood by map.
Please be sure to drop in at our concierge desk next time.
All of us here hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again.

Sincerely,
Guest Service
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I was in Tokyo for the very first time on a business trip and I was booked in this hotel. It is not close to any nearby attraction and is a 10 minute walk uphill or downhill to the nearest train station but what makes is neat is they have a free shuttle service from 7:30 am to 10:00 pm to a station that leads you to the places every person must try and see.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo_Santa, Manager at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your staying at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo.
I also thank you for taking your time to write to us.
As you commented, we have shuttle bus service from hotel to Meguro railway & subway station. (Every 15 minute)
There are so many restaurants, bars and shops around Meguro station.
Better than that, A few glossary markets, 24 hours-open convenience store, 100 yen shop, liquor shop and some nice restaurants are within walking distance from the hotel.
Our excellent concierge teams prepare for various kinds of maps, information and advise the best dining and shopping plan.

Sincerely,
Guest Service
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-1-50 Shirokanedai, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8640, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#20 Family Hotel in Minato
#29 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Tokyo
Sheraton Minato
Minato Sheraton
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.