We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Tokyo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-50 Shirokanedai, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8640, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 93 hotels in Minato
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Value for Tokyo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Reservations
I made through travel agent, good rate, and non-smoking room, I got a smoking room, then I got a dog room that smelled bad. Finally I got a good person at the front desk. Her name was Ito san (Sheraton please take notice) and she was so very helpful the entire stay and got us into a nice room. Thanks!
The room that worked for us had a balcony and we could get fresh air, it was a little bit more expensive. I suggest brining bottles of water with you… as the room only had one free bottle and we were quite thirsty from travel. The room was nice sized for Japan and we were not bothered by noise.

Breakfast
The buffet has a nice selection of items including fresh fruits. Often there is a waiting long to get seated. The buffet are is quite crowded. I stayed several days and also tried the set breakfast it was fine but slow and wait in line.

There is some excellent food at the Megruo station area. Don't miss the Japanese pork place. Nice little park called Happon En it is 5 min walk from hotel and very peaceful.

Room Tip: Suggest you contact hotel directly and tell them what type of room you want. They have lots of smok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo_Santa, Manager at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your staying at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo.
I also thank you for taking your time to write to us.
I am very sorry to provide you with smoking room at first. Though 70% of our hotel room is non-smoking room, we cannot meet 100% of guest’s requirement.
I am very pleased with your positive evaluation to our front staff, and I passed along your kind remarks to her and front team.

Our peak time in the morning is around 8 am on weekdays. There are three restaurants offering breakfast within the hotel and we also have room-service breakfast, however, it rarely happens all the seats are taken. We strive to take the necessary corrective measures for the purpose of eliminating congestion status.

We have shuttle bus service from hotel to Meguro railway & subway station. (Every 15 minute)
There are so many restaurants, bars and shops around Meguro station.
Better than that, A few glossary markets, 24 hours-open convenience store, 100 yen shop, liquor shop and some nice restaurants are within walking distance from the hotel.

We are thankful you chose to stay with us & look forward to seeing you again then next time

Sincerely
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    383
    125
    32
    16
See reviews for
173
138
99
238
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Miyako chain of hotels has been acquired by Sheraton. This is one of the former Miyako properties. It shows in the style of the hotel, which has the usual touch of the Western style hotels run by Japanese chains. Fortunately Sheraton has added a bit more of an international feel to it. Staff speak English well.

Stayed at a Premium Deluxe room, which probably was refurbished quite recently. Good size and nice design. The only thing that I didn't like so much is the bathtub with shower curtain. Probably too expensive to change to a more modern standard.

All in all, when staying in the area and looking for an upmarket hotel, the Sheraton Miyako is a decent choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo_Santa, Manager at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your staying at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo.
I also thank you for taking your time to write to us.

We, Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo has a franchisee contract with Starwood so, the owner is still Miyako Hotel.
Though we are remodeling guest room little by little to meet Sheraton’s standard, we are sorry but we don’t plan to enlarge the wet area as “separated shower room besides bathtub”, for the time being.
I shared your opinion with our management team.

All of us here hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

In this day and age of upgraded facilities to have many modern conveniences, especially in bathrooms, this hotel almost is a trip back in time. Rooms are a good size with comfortable beds. Bathrooms are old-fashioned with bathtubs fitted with showers. However, that is fine if not important to the traveler to have a separate shower stall. The lobby and ground floor coffee shop has as a backdrop a beautiful garden view, something which the best classic hotels in Japan have always had. The location is excellent: 5-10 minutes by taxi to Shinagawa railway station where train services serve both airports and the intercity bullet trains. The area is a pleasant up-market residential and shopping district so offers enough attractions for those who lack the energy to wander far away from the hotel after a tiring day out.

Room Tip: Should ask for a good view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo_Santa, Manager at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your staying at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo.
I also thank you for taking your time to write to us.
Our bathroom is tiny so, bathtub and shower stand together. We are sorry but we don’t plan to enlarge the wet area of each room for the next renovation.
we also have shuttle bus service from hotel to Meguro railway & subway station. (Every 15 minute)
There are so many restaurants, bars and shops around Meguro station.
Better than that, A few glossary markets, 24 hours-open convenience store, 100 yen shop, liquor shop and some nice restaurants are within walking distance from the hotel.
All of us here hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again.

Sincerely,
Guest Service
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Having spent almost two weeks travelling around Japan, our group of 3 were ready for some R&R in Tokyo and were all very pleased with the Sheraton Miyako.
The staff were all very courteous (as we'd come to expect in Japan), the rooms a good size (this was the largest triple room we'd had during our travels) and in a good condition, and the location was good for getting in and around Tokyo.

The hotel runs a free shuttle every 15 minutes to Meguro station on the JR line which connects you to the main stations of Shibuya and Shinjuku as well as many others. There is also a metro station (run by a different company) within walking distance and this was useful getting to areas like Roppongi.

The only negatives we found were:
(1) There was no safe in the room and instead we had to leave our valuables with reception. This itself turned into a bit of an adventure as the staff member led me into a little side room with a row of safety deposit boxes along the wall, presented me with an appropriately-sized box for which I signed and he gave me one of the two keys necessary to open the box. It all felt a little like a Swiss bank!
(2) There is an additional charge to use the gym/swimming pool/public bath of about JPY 1500. The gym itself wasn't that impressive, but the pool more than made up for it! Have a look at the Traveller's photos for a shot, it was one of the largest (and quietest!) pools I'd seen anywhere.

Overall, I'd definitely consider staying at this property again on a future trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo_Santa, Manager at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to view our hotel.
We appreciate your positive review to our hotel staff.
We take your views as a valuable suggestion then we will improve our operation and services.
We hope you will remain a valued customer.

Sincerely,
Guest Service
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is located close to the subway (walking distance) and it also has a shuttle to another subway station which has more connections.
The rooms are nice, similar to a U.S. room; the staff is very pleasant and helpful.
As Starwood Platinum guests, we had free access to the executive lounge and to a free buffet breakfast with huge selection.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo_Santa, Manager at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments.
We are pleased to hear about your positive experience at our hotel.
We share your feedback with our team for the purpose of improving our operations and services for future guests.
We hope you will remain a valued customer.

Sincerely
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I arrived here with a reservation booked from a friend who lives about 500 meters away.
While the hotel in not centrally located, it is fast and easy to get around the city from there. There is a shuttle that drops you off at the train station every 15 minutes and from there you can get around Tokyo just fine. The fast and lever of service is amazing.
The only negative aspect of the hotel is that even though we had a booked no smoking room, the whole floor smelled like smoke, but not the inside of the roon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo_Santa, Manager at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your staying at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo.
I also thank you for taking your time to write to us.
As you commented, we have shuttle bus service from hotel to Meguro railway & subway station. (Every 15 minute)
There are so many restaurants, bars and shops around Meguro station.
Meanwhile, there is only one floor in which non-smoking room and smoking room are mixed here, such as the left wing is used for non-smoking and the right wing is used for smoking.
We are very sorry for your bad experience this time and I share your comment with housekeeping manager for the purpose of
improvement to this identified problem.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely
Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Many Americans have traveled to Tokyo and have stayed in the Narita area, but if you fly in to Haneda, this airport this airport is located closer to the City Center. As most Americans realize it is not uncommon to wake at midnight starving. This is one of the few properties that has 24 hour dinning, and complimentary WiFi in the lobby. With exceptional service, you find you are centrally located to all areas of Tokyo, and for you shoppers there is an underground mall that connects most properties, that offer a variety of food options, upscale stores, as well as traditional places.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo_Santa, Manager at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your staying at Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo.
I also thank you for taking your time to write to us.
We have shuttle bus service from hotel to Meguro railway & subway station. (Every 15 minute)
There are so many restaurants, bars and shops around Meguro station.
Better than that, A few glossary markets, 24 hours-open convenience store, 100 yen shop, liquor shop and some nice restaurants are within walking distance from the hotel.
Our excellent concierge teams prepare for various kinds of maps, information and advise the best dining and shopping plan
We are thankful you chose to stay with us & look forward to seeing you again then next time

Sincerely
Guest Service
Sheraton Miyakohotel Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-1-50 Shirokanedai, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8640, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#21 Family Hotel in Minato
#29 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Tokyo
Sheraton Minato
Minato Sheraton
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.