We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-50 Shirokanedai, Minato 108-8640, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinagawa / Gotanda)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a nice hotel similar in size and quality to most of the Sheraton properties around the world. Lesser in quality than the Tokyo Westin but higher quality than say the Courtyard Marriott in Ginza - the dated look can come across as charming if you're in the right mood.

Location: This place isnt close to my office and I was staying there to build on my SPG status. As such I usually cab it everywhere once I get here which is an expensive option . It is close to the Meguro station which can be leveraged if you want to navigate the Tokyo subway system.

Staff: As is the case in most Asian countries the staff is overly helpful with anything. Feel free to ask the staff most anything and they'll patiently direct you and be helpful.

Food: While I was their the Miyako was rebuilding their breakfast restaurant so they moved towards the back of the hotel inside the Chinese place. Both locations served a good (but relatively expensive) breakfast (it is in downtown Tokyo). The Chinese place serves a great dinner too.

Rooms: Some of the rooms overlook a wonderful garden area - which is an interesting oasis in the middle of Tokyo but is probably reserved for their SPG elite guests. The TVs arent so intuitive but you can switch from Japanese language to English language (CNN, movies, etc) with a series of remote control maneuvers. If you can't figure it out just ask them. Laundry service is great and the rooms are extremely clean. As others have pointed out the look and feel is a bit dated. If you want the marble and the shine and want to stay in the family - go to the Westin instead.

Transportation: There are great transportation "limo bus" services to and from Narita and Haneda airports so unless you are on a very tight schedule you can limit the expensive taxi options (over $100 USD). Travel time to the airports can be over 60 mins, so plan accordingly.

My viewpoint is that of a person who travels 40%+ for the last two years globally (through North and South America, Asia and Europe). I am a Starwood Preferred Guest Platinum and Marriott Gold preferred guest and I have I've stayed at this hotel three or four times. Happy traveling!

Room Tip: Ask about the rooms with a view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dalaz_pdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
434 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Sheraton is always reliable and Miyako was the same. Nothing really stands out either good nor bad. Guests are checked in quickly, breakfast buffet is good, beds are nice, wife is reliable ... everything works and with good service. The price is moderate so I happily recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Only reason I stayed here was because its part of the Starwood Chain and I love the SPG points. The hotel is old. It needs upgrading. Its really not up to your typical Sheraton. I stayed at the Sheraton Seattle which is night and day. Its close to the train station which is good.
Stay here if you want something reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katongkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A very comfortable hotel close to Meguro station. My room on 11th floor was excellent and very comfortable. Food in the western and japanese restaurant was very good. The staff were of course, this being Japan, were very polite and attentive. This was the best hotel I have staying in today in Tokyo. I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bearkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I enjoyed it and was up to snuff with Sheraton brand. It was a fairly quick 7 min walk to subway station and you have access to all of Tokyo, but other than that, it felt far from restaurants, night life, sites etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batumi, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

What I liked the most at this hotel was that it was very much guest-oriented and trying to provide as much assistance as possible to make easier and more enjoyable stay and experience. For example, they give you customized maps with directions from the hotel to all major tourist sightseeings, also they serve bus every 15 min to and from two nearest major train / metro stations for free. One thing which was a bit disappointing is that they charge you additional cost if you want to use the gym. This sounded a bit cheap for the Sheraton brand.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer_Geo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

This was the second time that I have stayed at this property and returned based upon the previous visit earlier in the year. Nothing much changes but this time round the room allocated on the seventh floor was not as good as before. It's has all facilities but in sad need of an update. The hotel is convenient for both the subway and rail stations with a free shuttle to the nearby JR station and in the morning only to Shinagawa station. However, it is quite remote but quiet which can be a bonus in a noisy city. the staff remain very courteous and proficient.
The cafe restaurant is fine for dinner and breakfast but in the evening they close at 10pm on the dot as do other resturants which can be a little inconvenient if you arrive late and don't want room service. the cocktail bar in the basement was good but unfortunately smoke filled.

Overall it was acceptable, but could be improved, but i would stay there again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hudson0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 101 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,263 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
The Westin Tokyo
The Westin Tokyo
#1 of 10 in Meguro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,324 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hilton Tokyo Odaiba
Hilton Tokyo Odaiba
#10 of 101 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,241 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 66 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-1-50 Shirokanedai, Minato 108-8640, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Minato
#16 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#19 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#27 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 494
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, JAPANiCAN, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Rakuten so you can book your Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Tokyo
Sheraton Minato
Minato Sheraton
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing