We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 year older...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-50 Shirokanedai, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8640, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Singapore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“1 year older...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Since my trip last year, the hotel has not changed much, was built in 1979 and cannot hide its age, in particular the bathroom is pathetic... That said, it still is conveniently located, although one needs taxi of shuttle for restaurants/supermarkets as there's really nothing nearby. Only real point I want to emphasize this time is the concierge service... in many hotels I stayed at, they can't do much beyond booking taxis (that is, when there is someone at the counter!)... here they are well staffed (not uncommon to see 2-3 staff there, esp. on week-ends), very knowledgeable and they have loads of brochures and documentations to give away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    432
    137
    37
    18
See reviews for
199
157
105
271
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Firstly, I would like to comment on the location.

There really is no "Central" Tokyo, as there are different things to do in each part of Tokyo.

That being said, this hotel is in a fine location. It is hardly noisy, and there is a free shuttle that goes to and from the nearest JR station (Meguro).

That being said, this hotel is quite nice.

The room was nice and spacious. I was glad they offered internet included, which is unusual for most Sheraton hotels.

I can't comment on the breakfast, as I never tried it, as I thought it was too pricey.

But overall, a very good stay. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed here because it was recommended for a workshop nearby. Location was great to get to the workshop at Ookayama, but otherwise it is in a very quiet spot. Walked around for over an hour one night trying to find something to eat, but most places nearby close at 9pm. Did not try the hotel breakfast because at A$40 it was way to much to spend. It is only a 10 min walk to nearest subway where to access more interesting placecs such as Shinjuku and Ginza. Internet was free but surprisingly fitness centre and pool was not (100Yen per visit). Would only stay here again if convenient for work. There are so many other places that are much more interesting to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is quite an old property with wide open spaces around the lobby. I was upgraded to a non-smoking Superior room which was of a decent size that had 2 single beds and a garden view. I was on a high floor which was quiet with no noise. I arrived late and the check in staff were excellent. Unless you are a smoker book early for a non-smoking room. I was not able too but requested it on the booking and they duly obliged. The choice of English tv is limited and could be improved on so don't expect much! Wireless internet was in the room and free. The signal strength was not bad bu did drop out on Skype from time to time.

The bathroom was adequate but let it down with a shower curtain and shower with a mind of its own. Very hot water, take care! Perhaps if they spent less on the toilets and remote controls they could update the bath tubs and showers. There was a good range of bathroom amenities but for some reason they didn't provide any shower gel.

All staff were very helpful and extremely polite. Both reception and concierge were top draw during my stay.There is no business centre and printing documents is not straightforward and was a frustrating exercise. This should be addressed!

I ate in both the Chinese restaurant which was good with fast service. In comparison Cafe California had a poor choice of menu and the service was slow. The lobby bar was nothing special and quite expensive.

The location of the property is in a quiet area and limiting in terms of local restaurants etc, however, there was always taxis waiting and the hotel has a shuttle service and the unwary is about 5 minutes walk up the hill. The hotel is served by the airport bus from both Haneda and Narita.

Would stay there again and recommend if you are not fussy about the location and require a modern environment.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel twice in the last month. The hotel is very clean and comfoirtable. The staff is very helpfull and the rooms are nicely decorated, clean fully equpped, very comfortable mattress and roomy (in Tokyo terms). The location of the hotel is far from the JR tarin station, the hotel offers a shuttle to the station but I prefer hotels that are within walking distance to central train stations. The area in which the hotel is located is mainly residential and there are no coffe or convenient stores in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. Beacause of the lack of coffe shops near the hotel, we had breakfast in the hotel. The buffet breakfast is very good but overpriced (over $30 per person). Overall a great hotel for business travellers that do not need immediate access to train stations.

Room Tip: We had a king size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed here on our final night of a 3 week sight seeing tour of Japan. We chose it because they were happy to accommodate a family of 5 in a room, which many hotels do not.

The check in could not have been smoother with extremely good English spoken by the attendant. She was so lovely to our three children aged 1,5 and 6 and gave them Sheraton fluffy toy puppies which they were thrilled about.
When we were initally taken to our room, we were disappointed to note it was on a smoking floor. This was immediately rectified and we were placed on a higher floor in a non smoking room. Relief!

The room itself was roomy, with 2 king singles, a fold out bed and a couch style bed. Plenty of room for the 5 of us.

Although we have stayed in more central locations in Tokyo, there is still ease of access from here, and we utilised the Meguro - Hotel Shuttle which runs all day every 15 minutes until 10pm on multiple occasions. However, a metro stop is only a block or two away.

In short, not the fanciest hotel ever, but solid, spacious and excellent for a family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel twice (as recently as last week), which is within 5 minutes taxi ride of Shinagawa station. I have enjoyed my stay both times because of nice rooms and accommodation. The American Buffet restaurant had a good breakfast as well w/ very nice service (One of the hallmarks of Japan). Having said that, It takes too long to walk anywhere (including restaurants), so that is a limting factor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-1-50 Shirokanedai, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8640, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Minato
#17 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#27 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 495
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Tokyo
Sheraton Minato
Minato Sheraton
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.