We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Makes Sense in Tokyo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-50 Shirokanedai, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8640, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Tustin, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It Makes Sense in Tokyo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is a superb Hotel when visiting Tokyo for business or pleasure. This has been my go-to Hotel whenever I travel to Tokyo. This Hotel has everything a western traveler wants and needs. Excellent service and style, you feel well taken care of and it's genuine. The rooms are western sized with excellent amenities. The decor is updated, although the Hotel has been around for a long time. Originally part of the Miyako, Japan Hotels, this property has been owned subsequently by Radisson and now Sheraton without losing its style (you have to wander through the mature Japanese Garden) and superior service.

The location is off the beaten path but easily accessed in a quiet neighborhood. Tokyo is so busy and noisy that this oasis is a pleasure. The best part is you can catch a FREE shuttle from Shinagawa or Meguro JR stations avoiding expensive Taxi fares. I told you, it makes sense.

I stayed again recently after a long absence from Japan. The fitness facilities have been significantly upgraded. It's not easy to find a hotel in Japan with Fitness Facilties at all, this one is now top notch.

One comment that I must mention, on 11 September 2001 I had arrived at this Hotel the night before the attacks on USA. I was supposed to stay three days and return home to California. There were no flights for about one week when ANA was allowed to fly again into LAX. I had no reservation and this is a popular hotel. This Hotel was gracious, upgraded me to a suite and told me I had a room for as long as I needed. This was incredibly gracious and I was comforted to be in familiar surroundings until I was able to get a flight.

This level of service continues today. This should be your address in Tokyo.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, but try to get booked into upper floor rooms. they have an upgraded decor and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    432
    137
    37
    18
See reviews for
199
157
105
271
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

This is my 5th time at this hotel and some things have gotten better other things have stayed the same. I generally stay in the Sheraton since I am a Gold SPG member and the Westin is far more expensive (price, points,etc) (BTW the Westin is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in).
The hotel is in between Meguro and Shinagawa so in some respects it is in the middle of nowhere but if you know how to get around and use the Metro it is not too bad. The shuttle bus works but again it only takes you to and from Meguro all day.
The staff has improved over time and is friendly and helpful. The desk and the concierge is efficient.
The beds were comfortable with many pillow choices. They had real bathrobes vs yakatas

The bad is the rooms have not changed since the Sheraton took over the hotel over 10 years ago. The bathrooms are old and stained -- toilet, bath, sink. While they have the washlet toilets the other fixtures are old and out of date, unless 1960 was the look they were trying to obtain.
The other issues are there is not enough light in the room. There are these flashlight bulb lights at the bed which can't be more than 20 watts. With all of the lights on the room is dark. While the internet speed is relatively fast it is wired not wireless. There are not enough outlets in the room if you need more than 2. Also there are not enough draws if you are staying for a week.
So while there are issues with the hotel the stay is pleasant but unless they renovate even though I am an SPG member I will start to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I stayed 4 nights at Sheraton Miyako hotel in TYO on a recent business trip.
From NRT, you can catch a direct Limo Bus to Sheraton for JPY3000. Location is not near JR station but the hotel has a free shuttle to JR station

Check-in was smooth and was allocated a room on the 10th floor. Room was quite big but i found the round study table to be a bit small. In-room internet was free and quite fast. No Wi-Fi, thus you need to plug the LAN cable in and work from the desk. Decor ok, a bit old (esp the toilets) but the bed was comfortable and good for sleep

It was winter, thus they had the heater on, no air-con, but the hotel was kind enough to bring up a fan for me. Breakfast at lobby cafe was normal fare but free if you are higher tier SPG members, else chargeable

The basement Jap restaurant was incredibly expensive. I arrived late into hotel and decided to eat in hotel instead of going out. A simple beef set dinner costs me around 200 bucks which was expensive even by Jap standards.

Overall, I was happy with the stay but I have stayed at better Sheraton hotels, this one falls a tad short in terms of overall appeal

Room Tip: Ask for high-floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This was my second time coming to the hotel. In general first was a good experience, but this time I was booked on the 2nd floor. I have never seen such a rooms since the 1970's, it was like going back in time. Incredible this room or floor has not been upgraded in 40's years, I am serious. Decor was circa 1970's not even the 80s'. I complained and was moved to a smoking floor which was the same type of room as my last stay, quite pleasant.
But considering the out of place location of the hotel, they could update the older rooms and even update some other areas of the hotel which are a bit lagging.
Does not fit the Sheraton brand very well.

Room Tip: NOT THE 2nd floor unless you want to go back to the 1970's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Located not very central but the hotel was better than expected. Guest room is large and clean.

However, the air conditioner didn't work well so the room wasn't cool but the staff tried his best to solve the problem.

Unlike the other Sheraton, please beware of the additional charge if you request some more bottled water or use the fitness center.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

As others have said, the hotel is aged. But the service from everyone from the bell boy, to the check in counter, to the concierge and the gym is amazing.

The last time I stayed here I forgot a wallet in the room locker, where I keep all my foreign exchange. I must've had a couple of thousand dollars in it along with a few credit cards. I called the concierge desk when I arrived back home thinking the wallet is gone, but I was very pleasantly surprised they have my wallet and have kept it in a hotel safe, and that they have already emailed me. They had tried to call but I was on the flight. Great service!

I am now a platinum with SPG and I was given free breakfast, drinks during the day, and access to the gym. There wasn't much of a room upgrade because there are only 2 suites in the hotel. But it's an adequate room with a comfortable bed and a shower with good water pressure.

Breakfast was serviced in the Chinese restaurant on the first floor.

The gym is old but has a good sauna, hot and cold dipping pools.

Free shuttle bus to Meguro station, access to the JR Yamanote Line.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This relatively old hotel is located in a peaceful part of Tokyo.
If you would like to use public transportation you will need to use the shuttle provided by the hotel or walk a few blocks to find a subway station.
Otherwise the hotel is fine, provided you do not end in a "old room" because these rooms seem to come from a 30-40 year old construction. The newly renovated rooms are much better.

They had a concierge that was the best one I encountered. She provided precise, friendly advise and plenty of very important details like maps a schedules.

Room Tip: Rooms in the upper floors seem to be better apointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-1-50 Shirokanedai, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-8640, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Minato
#17 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#25 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 495
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Tokyo
Sheraton Minato
Minato Sheraton
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.