We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Asia Center of Japan

Save Saved
You added Hotel Asia Center of Japan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Asia Center of Japan
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8-10-32 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052 , Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 93 hotels in Minato
Lugano, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Small western style room..the bathroom was small too and floating (i think because of the antiseismic system). In the room: 2 yukata, hairdryer, soap/shampoo, kettle and tea bags. Two floors have the laundry (the dryer is not much powerfull, so its better if you put few things in it). Free bottles of water at the reception. Receptionists very kind!! The hotel is 5 mins from the underground Aoyama-Itchome. 10-15 mins walking from Roppongi. Breakfast: western and japanese (both fantastic). Free wi-fi at the reception. To find a good restaurant of sushi, go from the hotel to Roppongi..i don't remember the name, but it's small, unique and very friendly..(if i'll find the name i'll post it!!!), it's at a corner on the left side of the street..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    129
    34
    5
    3
See reviews for
42
67
64
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Was pleasant to stay for 3 nights.
Staffs were kind enough.
If you visit Japan for the first time, be prepared most of affordable hotels has this room size.
Breakfast was OK but the same menu,
Best location in Aoyama, Tokyo...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed for four nights in the Asia Center Hotel and had a very good experience. I booked a single room, and as expected, it was very small, but clean, functional and a great deal at about $70 including breakfast. The bathroom was also very small and might be challenge for a very large person. But for most people it will be fine. Wired internet was OK, and the lobby has wifi as well.

Location is good as it is very close to a Metro Stop that gets you to Shibuya or Ginza quickly. Aoyama Dori, which is a major street, is just a few minutes away and offers a lot of restaurant choices. There is also a small convenience store about a minute form the hotel.

The reception offers free bottles of water, which is a great benefit, and staff was very helpful and spoke decent English. Breakfast buffet was included and offered Japanese and Western versions. I love the Japanese breakfast which includes grilled fish, miso soup, rice and assorted pickled things.The breakfast room is far from elegant, and most to the guests are lower budget travelers, but again, that is expected at this price point. This is not a Western business hotel.

Overall, a great choice for budget travelers who don't have to be right in Ginza or the other business hubs in Tokyo. I would stay here again and would recommend it to friends.

The airport bus does not go there directly, so I would recommend to take the bus to the Akasaka Excel Hotel and then either take the subway or a cab if you have heavy luggage (about $20 dollars--cabs are ridiculously expensive in Tokyo).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel surprised us for the rate we paid for 4 nights we stayed in Tokyo. The hotel is 300m from the closest subway station and a 10min walk to the nightlife in Roppongi.
The rooms are small but manageable and very clean, fairly typical of most hotels in Tokyo.
The breakfast buffet was value for money as well given that cafes around the area are closed during the weekend (the hotel is in a commercial district).
Free wifi is available in the lobby.
Would definitely recommend this hotel for a great base.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room to avoid the noise of other bathrooms in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Good location, close to the subway, walking distance to Roppongi. We would definitely stay there again. The staff were very helpful and there were lots of useful maps and activity info in reception. Free wi-fi in reception.

Room Tip: Rooms are small, but bigger than other Tokyo hotels we've stayed in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The staff were very welcoming and accommodating. We checked in the morning just to drop our bags before heading out of the city for a day trip and they checked our luggage in. So we had no worries about our luggage for the rest of the day. When we returned in the evening he room was ready. The hotel was nice and clean and so was the room. After surviving the small hotel rooms in Ishinomaki and Sendai City, the room size in this hotel didn't matter much for me, I guess it's the typical room size in Japan based on what I read from other reviews. The room had standard amenities with bathrobes and everything, so nothing to complain there. It is in a quiet area but close to two metro stations from which you can get to just about everywhere. Nothing to complain also about the breakfast. I chose this hotel after an online extensive research and didn't regret what I found on the spot. It was all value for money and we had a great, comfortable stay. It is close to two big hotels - the Akasaka Excel and ANA Intercontinental - which are along the the limousine bus service route to and from Narita, so no hassles in getting from and to the airport. I would recommend to book a room in this hotel from its web site from which you can get good deals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed there for 7 days for a business trip, and survived the first two days without our luggage. During this period, all the staff was super helpful, and the hotel is quite equipped. Breakfast was nice; the restaurant is actually quite big. If it weren't for the great service of the hotel, we probably couldn't have survived this business trip.
BTW, all the hotel rooms in central Tokyo are small, so do be reasonable.

Room Tip: top floor can a bit warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Asia Center of Japan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asia Center of Japan

Also Known As:
Asia Center Of Japan Hotel
Hotel Asia Center Of Japan Tokyo
Address: 8-10-32 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052 , Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Minato
#24 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Asia Center of Japan 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Rakuten, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Hotel Asia Center of Japan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Asia Center of Japan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.