We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Asia Center of Japan

Save Saved
You added Hotel Asia Center of Japan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Asia Center of Japan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8-10-32 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052 , Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Minato
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great value for money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have stayed here 3 times now and am never disappointed. The location is unbeatable with 4 metro lines close by. The staff are wonderful. The breakfast is fine too. You can walk to Omotesando and Harajuku plus Tokyo Midtown, the National Art Centre and Roppongi. The rooms are small but so are all hotel rooms in Tokyo. You get fresh towels and sheets on a daily basis. It is just great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    145
    35
    6
    3
See reviews for
51
76
69
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trnava, Slovacchia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have been there three times during the last 5 years and always i found a perfect "Japanese style" on both room space and people. People there are very friendly and willing to help you as much as they can. The rooms are quite small but this is, as said, in line with most of the hotels in Tokio. The nice environment and the apparently quite area (even if quite in the center of the metropolis) are the things i remember the most and i am always considering choosing this hotel whenever i plan a trip in Tokio. Nice choice for a short or long stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have only been to Tokyo twice, and despite staying in Shinjuku for one night, I just love this area. It is a lovely quiet location but walking distance to JR Shinanomachi (20 min), and subway (5 min). Nice area - some restaurants, galleries and shops, alsoTokyo Midtown, Roppongi and Mori tower nearby. Good breakfast (not fancy) but enough to choose from to start the day. Friendly and helpful reception staff. Comfortable rooms for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The good points of this hotel:

Location - good access to all parts of the city using the subway, or even the JR overground line. A few small restaurants close by.

Quiet - in a small street, residential area with apartment blocks nearby.

Reception desk staff - friendly, helpful, speak English.

Information - in lobby , plenty of brochures with ideas of places to go and things to do.

Beds comfortable.

Good value for money in our case, room size OK and breakfast included.


Not so good:

The first room we were allocated smelt really overpoweringly of stale cigarette smoke. We arrived quite late and no other room was available. The next 2 nights we were offered a room on a non-smoking floor, which was better.

The rooms themselves were a bit well-worn. Dreary colour scheme. Carpet tiles showing signs of wear. Bathroom quite small and not impeccably clean - eg a long hair wound round the base of the handrail on the bath.

Breakfast room staff not so helpful, also not speaking English.

Breakfast OK with both western and Japanese food, not a great choice of dishes and no butter for the bread, just margarine.


Last point, a tip for access if you come by subway:

Take the Ginza or Hanzomon line to Aoyama Itchome station and go to Exit No 4. You will see the post office on the opposite side of the road and to the left a big boulevard with a park on the far side. Turn right out of exit 4, cross one side road at lights, then at next lights cross the main road to the other side. Follow the small road on the other side, perpendicular to the main road, going between 2 big blocks and then a little downhill and the hotel is on the right. Approx 5 mins walk altogether.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room (if you are a non-smoker!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Lorenzo
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is the best bargain that my wife and I have encountered in Tokyo. It is located near the very center of the city and very close to the subway which provides easy access to the whole city. The rooms are Spartan but impeccably clean and very utilitarian. Breakfast variety is limited but more than adequate and there are some reasonably priced restaurants in the area. To top it off a most helpful staff makes a stay there a treat. We cannot recommend this hotel too highly.

Room Tip: Bookings should be made well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

For the price of the hotel, this is a great hotel in Tokyo. Clean room, decent size for Tokyo, yes the old building rooms are a bit older but still in good condition, they've got everything you need. Free internet and free bottled water from reception. Staff on reception speak a decent level of English. Breakfast if included with the room is ok, but not worth paying the 995 yen for if not. The western breakfast was cold most mornings!

Within 10 mins walking distance to the busy Roppongi and served well by 2 subway stations. Hotel can be a little tricky to find in the dark when you arrive, easiest way to spot it is look for the side street closest to the steak restaurant with a moustache sign!

Would definately recommend to stay here if you are planning on exploring Tokyo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were really pleased that we chose this hotel to start our holiday in Japan. We arrived an hour or so before their standard check in time, but we were able to check in without a problem and get a bit of much needed sleep before heading out for the evening. The staff spoke excellent English, and were happy to recommend somewhere to eat - a great local Japanese restaurant.

The location was ideal for the Tokyo Metro, with at least three stations and a variety of lines within easy walking distance. Tokyo Midtown, Roppongi, Roppongi Hills and so on were a comfortable wander away for all of our evening needs.

It barely needs saying that the room and bathroom were small by western standards, but we found them perfectly sufficient, and the semi-double bed was adequate for my partner and I. Everything was spotless.

The breakfast buffet was good, with plenty of western and Japanese choices. Free wifi in the lobby. All in all, and especially for the price, I’m not sure we could have picked a better hotel for exploring Tokyo.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Asia Center of Japan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asia Center of Japan

Address: 8-10-32 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052 , Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Minato
#14 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#16 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Asia Center of Japan 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Odigeo, Rakuten and Venere so you can book your Hotel Asia Center of Japan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia Center Of Japan Hotel
Hotel Asia Center Of Japan Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Asia Center of Japan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.