We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Asia Center of Japan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Asia Center of Japan
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8-10-32 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052 , Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 93 hotels in Minato
Saint Paul
1 review
“Okay place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The room was compact but okay; the bathroom has been remodeled and is great. The staff was helpful. The bed wasn't the greatest but it was wide enough for a single person and was okay, albeit a bit uneven. The breakfast buffet was fine. This hotel is close to Aoyama Itchome (Ginza) subway stop which is a handy stop if coming from the airport using the Keisei line to Ueno. The area around the hotel is very nice.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex are okay but are older. Don't know about the newer rooms. Bathrooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    139
    34
    6
    3
See reviews for
49
73
69
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions and have found the staff to be very helpful, the rooms, while small, conveniant,and well laid out and a reasonable price. The Breakfast is good and bottles of fresh water are always available.. Only downside, while the rooms are hardwired for the Internet, WiFi is only available in the lobby - where incidently then signal is strong, something I have not experienced in a lot of hotel receptions.
The Hotel is conveniantly located to Roppongi and Akasaka as well as being 5 minutes walk from the Aoyama Station on the Ginza Line.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel has very easy access to the Ginza metro line which made finding the place super easy and provides access to everything in Tokyo. The hotel staff was more than welcoming and helpful. Checked in quickly and found their guidance for our first walking venture great. The two of us found the semi double room adequate for two Americans and our stuff (we are backup packers). The AC worked well, plenty of hot water, tea kettle in the room as is a small refrigerator. Only wired internet in the room (free) and a wifi zone in the lobby. The room was very clean and well maintained. The bathroom had a wonderful Japanese soaking tub and a toto bidet on the toilet. The room is not large and we did find ourselves doing a close dance in the mornings. The breakfast was fine - I enjoy trying a typical Japanese breakfast but the also had typical western items too. The pastries were wonderfully delicate, flaky and tasty. The best news is that the hotel is less than a 8 minute walk to Tokyo Midtown shopping mall. Its right down the main street (which is full of small restaurants and noodle shops) so you cannot lose your way. The mall has many, many food options on the bottom floor. You can self-cater or find a great small booth for quick tempera on rice. We also found vegan and vegetarian options which was a nice surprise. Another 5 minutes you can continue your walk to Roppongi. Don't miss seeing General Nogi's house on your way. Its has the beautiful Nogi-Jinja shrine on the grounds. We happened to go by during a wedding which was beautiful!

Room Tip: Higher floor has the double rooms and a view of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aomori, Japan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My experience here was excellent. The location was great, the staff was friendly, and the room was clean. The breakfast was decent. And all things considered, I think the cost was fair too.

LOCATION: The hotel is in a central location to most parts of the city, which is great for general sightseeing purposes and probably just fine if you're there for business as well. It's a five minute walk to the Aoyama Itchome Station (closest entrance/exit: http://goo.gl/maps/h4J5y). If coming from Tokyo Station, take the Metro Marunouchi Line to Akasakamitsuke and transfer to the Metro Ginza Line, which will take you to Aoyama Itchome. Lastly, I really liked the neighborhood surrounding the hotel. I didn't really explore it, but it felt like a pretty nice area, and I can see that as a plus for families that are considering going here.

HOTEL STAFF: The staff was fantastic, just like the other reviews had stated. Much of the hotel staff could speak English well, but I was most impressed that they always seemed genuine. I felt like when they said good morning they were really sincere--not just saying it because they had to do so.

ROOMS: When booking a room, you will have to choose between the "annex building" or "new building", but they are actually in the same physical building. The difference is the annex rooms are older, the new rooms are newer. I stayed in one of the older rooms and I didn't have any problems. When I booked I made a note emphasizing that i wanted a smoke-free room, and happily that's exactly what I got. The room size was good and the bathroom size/setup was very standard, relative to average hotels in Japan. The bed wasn't amazing but it was just fine for me. Unless your picky and/or are going for a special occasion with your significant other, I would recommend booking the cheaper annex rooms, based on my experience. Lastly, a great feature in the room was a mini-fridge which could be used for your own foods/drinks.

BREAKFAST: The breakfast was above average, but not fantastic, in my opinion. There was a pretty good variety of both Western and Asian breakfast foods and drinks.

RECOMMENDATION: Yes :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel is a bit "off the beaten track," i.e., not in the usual tourist spots, but it's close (5 minutes) to Aoyama Itchome subway station and just a short subway ride from anywhere you might want to go. I stayed here with a group of teachers, and it was a great hotel for us, with English-speaking front desk staff, restaurant for breakfast, free wi-fi in the lobby, and washing machines. The rooms are small but slightly larger than some business hotel facilities I've stayed in in Tokyo. The rooms are very well insulated and perfect for the irregular sleep schedules of the jet-lagged.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located. We stayed first in Shinjuku, and then here, we should have done the other way around. All places in Tokyo are easily accessible with metro. This is the easiest area in Tokyo to get help, English is way ahead including the hotel. Here they speak English with a non Japanese accent, the staff is very helpful, maybe not as cheesy as in other places, but more professional. If you have question they look it up for you.

Western breakfast was good, best we had in Japan, croissants as good as in France. We will recommend this for any one of our friends going to Japan.

Negative, bed was extremely hard, and it took to time to get used to it and sleep well.

Plus:
++Location
++English
++Helpfulness
+Breakfast
+Free water
+Coin Loundry
-Room size
--Bed

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This hotel is located in Akasaka, not so far from Tokyo Midtown and Roppongi, just 5 minutes from Aoyama Itchome Station. You can find food and snack easily around the hotel. The atmosphere is quiet and calm, the staff is friendly and the breakfast is good, I love the croissant .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Asia Center of Japan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asia Center of Japan

Address: 8-10-32 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052 , Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Minato
#15 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#34 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Asia Center of Japan 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Asia Center of Japan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia Center Of Japan Hotel
Hotel Asia Center Of Japan Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Asia Center of Japan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.