We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be sure to have a drink at the bar at night! What a view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nikko Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Nikko Tokyo to your Saves list
Hotel Nikko Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-9-1 Daiba, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 135-8625, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Port Douglas, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Be sure to have a drink at the bar at night! What a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Travelled to Tokyo for a Trade show so chose Hotel Nikko as it was close to the Exhibition Centre called the Tokyo Big Sight. This is one of those majestic, old world glamour, types of hotels. Although it is huge you don't feel like a number at any time. The standard room was large and beautifully furnished and decorated and in perfect condition, the bathroom huge and glamorous with some of the best 'in-house' products. The shampoo, conditioner and wash were beautiful and came in large glass bottles, all natural and quality! I also must mention the warm toilet seat - I so want one at home now! I ate in the wine and grill resturant twice, it was excellent and has a fantastic wine list with mainly quality Aussie wines. Prices are 5 star of course so if you need to budget a little there is an upmarket shopping and resturant centre attached to the hotel via a walkway. Breakfast was included and was excellent with the usual five star buffet with all the trimmings. Staff are very helpful, very polite and curteous and most speak English. Make sure you take the time to sit in the bar at night and enjoy the view of the bridge and Tokyo city all lit up. Although when looking at this location you may think you are out of the main Tokyo area, your not. The Bay has an efficient mini raliway that will take you to the main Tokyo Metro easily and from there you can get anywhere! So for say an extra 10 minutes train trip you get to stay in a beautiful hotel for no where near the price of one smack bang in Tokyo! Lastly I am a female travelling alone and I felt safe in this hotel as well you do throughout Tokyo, it's a great city. Enjoy! Wifi is free in the lobby area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    644
    116
    23
    18
See reviews for
653
522
103
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

To say we were impressed with this place would be an understatement. Situated literally on the doorstep of Daiba monorail station and a short walk from the subway getting to the hotel was a breeze from Tokyo Station, and allowed for a relaxed bit of sight seeing via the monorail route. The hotel itself is impressive with a grand foyer that has a beautiful view of Tokyo Bay and the Rainbow Bridge as it's backdrop, We stayed on the 10th floor in an Ocean View room, and for the price we were amazed at what we got A big 40 sqm room with a balcony that overlooked the bridge, providing us with a wonderful view, especially at night.. Massive windows that allowed us to enjoy the view but with heavy curtains to allow for privacy when we wanted it. Everything was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was big and modern. The service at the hotel was excellent and staff went out of their way to make sure you were feeling welcomed. We will definitely be staying here again when we return to Tokyo and find it hard to imagine a better place for the price....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Location:
Nikko Tokyo is located in Odaiba (reclaimed land just across Tokyo Bay) with great views of the bay itself and Rainbow Bridge. This area is well known as an amusement area with one of the largest exhibition centre in Tokyo. There are several shopping malls nearby (Palette Town, DiverCity, Aquacity and Decks) with great choices of restaurants. Highly recommend the Ramen food court on the 5th Floor of Aquacity which specializes in ramen from different regions of Japan. This area of Tokyo is actually less crowded compared to downtown Tokyo (eg Shibuya, Shinjuku etc).

Transport:
Take the Limousine Bus from Narita which stops directly at the hotel (270 Yen and a 70 minute ride). There’s also the bus service available from the hotel to Disneyland/DisneySea.
Daiba station (Yurikamome line) is located right next to the hotel. The train connects you across Tokyo Bay to downtown Tokyo in 20 minutes where you could get off at:
(1) Shinbashi station (either for Ginza or to change to Ginza line for Shibuya); or
(2) Shiodome station (change to Oedo line for Roppongi / Shinjuku).

Service:
Staffs were polite (within expectations of a 5 star Japanese owned hotel). No problems in communicating with the staffs in English (but try to keep the conversation/instructions simple and uncomplicated).

Rooms:
Very spacious by Japanese standards (some rooms could fit in 3 separate beds – good for families) with a balcony.
Strongly advice to pay a bit more for rooms with the view of Tokyo bay (and Rainbow Bridge). Was informed that my room has a “garden view” but the Yurikamome railway line was right in front of my room. Although not noisy, the sight was quite unpleasant.
Only TV channel available in English was CNN. The rest of the channels were in Japanese.
Internet is chargeable but you can get free wifi in the lobby. But the connection was quite spotty at times.
Despite reducing the temperature on the control panel, the room temperature seemed to have been automatically kept a bit on the high side. The balcony door was opened a bit to cool down the room.
Mattress and pillows sufficiently comfortable but certainly not one of the best I've slept in.

Overall, a pleasant stay away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Tokyo.

Room Tip: Select the room with views of Tokyo Bay and Rainbow Bridge. Avoid rooms facing the railway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here last weekend with family. The room facing Tokyo Bay with Rainbow Bridge as backdrop was so beautiful. It has balcony so you can enjoy even more standing on the balcony (very rare in Tokyo). Detail facility is of high quality (inheritance of bubble time), quality of bed, sofa, linen = perfect. Food quality at buffet restaurant is not bad but not in par with the silver, bone china quality to serve them.
Service was flawless, fast and friendly.
Hotel located just next to series of shopping mall (Decks Odaiba, Aquacity, Diver City) this gave you plenty of choice of restaurant option.
Pool is only permissible for age 18 and up, so children don't expect to swim. At lobby I saw a clown entertaining kids with balloon and games.

Room Tip: Choose room with view of Rainbow Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and recommend it . The view on the rainbow bridge and tokyo bay is amazing, the room was really big especially for Tokyo standard and the bed and pillow super comfortable. Even if it s a little bit outside the city center it s a good location
As you have the yurikamome line just in front of the hotel and this line is beautiful and convenient. The food is expensive but very good breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013



I stayed in hotel nikko in 2010 with my hubby and 1 yr old son..because of our flight timing, we arrived late at night. However, check in was a breeze and we were in our room in less than fifteen minutes..room was quite small but with a balcony which I liked. A baby cot was also ready for us in our room. A great thing about the hotel is that it provides shuttle service to disneyland. The bus was huge and not crowded both going to and coming back from disneyland. We really saved a lot on transportation. Also, there is a shuttle service to the nearest train station. The only thing is you have to take note of its timing lest u miss the shuttle bus. The hotel is also within walking distance to rainbow bridge and aqua city. Being muslims, it was hard to find halal food but we were pleasantly surprised that there is a good Indonesian restaurant in the shopping centre. In all, this is a hotel I will patronise again the next time I visit Japan!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Rooms are large by Japanese standards, the door to the small balcony opens, which not only gives great night views across to Tokyo, but means you can tame the over zealous Japanese heating in winter, considering thick soft doonas are on the beds. The bathrooms are brilliant, bath and separate shower all in the same room, with a glass door, best yet. Correct about the WiFi with a 1050 yen one time hit, not appreciated. The mono rail to Shinabashi is a draw back if time is limited on your stay, as it is the old slow style as per Singapore Airport.the free bus service to Disney was fantastic though, one less day working out train connections. Plenty of eating places next door in AquaCity, great Italian on 5F "To the herbs". Overall though the hotel is brilliant, as per all Nikko Hotels, very classy. Room service excellent, our delivered bag already in the room, extra kids robes,towels brought without asking, and even tonic water (damn hard buying in Japan convenience or most liquor stores). One downside was kids could not use the pool, as part of spa and over 18 only, so the swimming goggles were put away again, disappointment.

Room Tip: Ask for eastern end of hotel, the further west they put you the further the angle of viewing Tokyo a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nikko Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Tokyo

Address: 1-9-1 Daiba, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 135-8625, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Minato
#4 Family Hotel in Minato
#5 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#5 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#9 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Nikko Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nikko Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Tokyo Hotel
Nikko Tokyo Minato
Hotel Nikko Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nikko Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.