We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nikko Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nikko Tokyo to your Saves list
Hotel Nikko Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-9-1 Daiba, Minato 135-8625, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have been recently twice to a reception party, both were well organized. The place is to recommend if you have to visit the fair in "Big Sight", or other appointments in the area, altough there are other hotels in front of the exhibition venue. It is a classic hotel from the Nikko chain, which means "middle class among the upper". Bevare that there are two different places for breakfast and one of them has a very poor choice of western foods, as most patrons are Japanese or Asian. The "Champagne Bar" at the reception level is OK for a quick drink before dinner, if the weather permits you can sit outside and enjoy the view. There is no wine selection (one red and one white) and few champagne to choose from. The bar at the lower floor is nice if you are too tired to go out, but nothing special.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    995
    667
    119
    26
    18
See reviews for
683
543
103
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for a week for a conference. Arrived on the Limo Bus from Narita AP at around 11:30. Was told we'd have to wait until 15:00 to get into the room. On the same subject, while the checkout time was quite late (12 noon) the option of a later checkout was going to cost us Y80k. This was a lasting impression of this hotel. Lovely but inflexible and not very generous.

However this was a lot to like about the hotel. Great location for access to the academic precinct (Miraikan et al). Away from the insane waves of humanity you get in Tokyo proper. The robo-train line (Yukikamome) is awesome - cheap, quick and reliable.

Room had a great view out over the port (harbour). Good quality room fitout. Firm bordering on hard (by Western standards) mattress. Bathroom was nice. Bidet toilet (if you haven't used one before it's quite an experience!) Plenty of power outlets. Mini-bar and 'smart' hot water boiler. Given how tight the hotel was being in other respects I was bracing myself for an extortionate Internet access charge - but was pleasantly surprised Y10k for the whole stay. Quick too. I have my own wireless travel router so the standard wired connection was fine.

Staff were very friendly and welcoming.

Breakfast buffet had a great range of Eastern and Western options. Be early or you'll have to wait (although the turnover is quick). We ate at the Icho teppan bar restaurant. Horrendously expensive but extremely good!

If you want to eat a bit cheaper some nights then the food court in the bottom of the mall opposite has some good cheap options (the Korean is good).

I suspect the close cost control is due to the type of operation. These big flash hotels have a *lot* of staff. Just in the lobby there were >5 behind the front desk plus 3 floor walkers plus porters etc etc. Pity they couldn't relax things just a shade re things like early check in. Would have been 5 stars had that been the case.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in the same bed as your partner then make sure you make this clear when booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We picked this hotel for the second and last Tokyo leg of our Japan by rail tour, because we had to catch an 06:25 flight from Haneda. We got a good last minute deal, but were amazed by the size of the ocean view double room - which even had space for a sofa and 2 chairs. The balcony looked out to the Rainbow Bridge. The bathroom was also very large and lavish with a shower stall and bath combined in a wet room area.

The downside is the front desk staff (as mentioned frequently here) don't command great English, and when we arrived to check in at 3pm there was already a long queue. It took 20 mnutes to get to the front, although staff served complimetary drinks to ease the wait. There was a sign in the room warning that there may also be a queue at checkout time too. I would suggest avoiding the 3pm rush - there was no line up at 4pm.

Daiba is an interesting and recommended visit - the monorail journey gives great views from the front car, and there are 4 separate malls. The Toyota Megaweb is also worth a visit. Restuarants in the area are all of the mall type, so nothing special.

We also stayed in Shinjuku earlier in our stay and would also highly recommend the Century Southern Tower where we stayed which is closer to the action.

Room Tip: The Ocean View rooms are worth the small supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

After a lot of research into hotels in Tokyo for my wife & I chose this one. I am very glad to say that we had a wonderful stay & highly recommend. It is in an area of man made island Odaiba & surrounded by 3 shopping malls, Fuji Tv with 25th floor observation deck are within walking distance. Make sure you have a breakfast package. The rooms are spacious with large bathrooms which are packed with every amenities required. The staff from Gerald Ballieu to Guest relations to more or less everyone are great. The views from the hotel are stunning. You will not be disappointed. Highly recommend airport limousine bus service which costs 500 Yen pp from Haneda Airport(one way) & 2700 Yen pp from Narita(one way). You can catch return bus from the hotel as well. Great value. ENJOY!

Room Tip: Higher rooms with view over Rainbow Bridge or harbour with breakfast are well worth THE PRICE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

One of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. We stayed 4 nights here and had an amazing time. We were greeted at check in by a lovely French concierge (I wish I knew his name) who made our arrival as seamless as possible. he took us up to our interconnecting rooms(rare in Japan) and showed us around. The rooms were on the 10th floor and had fabulous views of Tokyo city and The Rainbow Bridge. I never tired of my view and knew I'd have to pay a small fortune for a view like that in one of the city hotels. The rooms were HUGE, we felt like we each had a suite. The twin beds are large and very comfortable. There was a shrill sound coming from the air conditioning unit but nothing the ear plugs didn't fix. The hotel's located away from the hub bub of the city and a pleasure to escape to at the end of the day when you've just had enough of the crowds, but not too far out to not be bothered to go back into the city for dinner. The Monorail station is connected to the hotel, which is a joy at the end of the day when your feet just cannot walk anymore. There's no wi-fi in the room but it's free in the lobby so it was a good excuse to go down there and people watch. There is a mall next door which had some good shops and fairly basic restaurants and another mall nearby. We didn't eat at the hotel, we always went into the city for dinner. It is an effortless ride of maybe 10-15 mins to Shimbashi station Y310. My only negative comment would be the Y3000 for a swim, but apart from that there is just way too much to do in Tokyo. We got a great rate for a 4 night stay and I would stay at the Hotel Nikko again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Get a bridge view, high floor. The view's amazing. Stay for 3-4 nights to get a long term discou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have stayed in Tokyo before but never expected to find a hotel with such spacious rooms, so I was pleasantly surprised. A very nice location in a recreation area with amusement park, beach and malls as well as a fine walking/running track along the seaside. There's even a Statue of Liberty! The hotels has many restaurants with cuisine from various countries, they all seem to have mouthwatering dishes in a beautiful setting. We didn't try them because there was so much to explore outside the hotel and the prices are rather high compared to restaurants in the city or the malls. A perfect setting for a wedding, I saw many newly weds there during our short 5 day stay, which gave a romantic party feeling. Check-in and check-out was slow because there was always a queue, and there is no way you can enter the room before 3pm. We arrived from Europe in the morning and were totally sweatty and dead by the time we got our room keys.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zama, Japan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Though I have never stayed here, I have ever been here many times. I can introduce this except rooms. At first, what I must point out is the location. For Japanese, it is partly good because there are amusements and water front atomosphere. Dating spots! But as my personal opinion, there is just developping area. There are many undevelopped space. So, it may be good for country side Japanese.... Not good access to other Tokyo area. So, I can't find out the reason why foreigners must stay there exceprt international conference. If you were conference member or "otaku" for conventions, not bad choice. - In general, such conventions are opened near here. I visti here to participate in conferences.

Well, the service and the facilities is new, clean and very good. You will be able to feel luxuary and comfortableness. The atomosphere is not of a rich snob. And stuffs can speak English. Of course, there is consierge desk. But it is less gorgeous in comparison with 5 stars in Europe. Inside and outside the hotel, there are cafes, bars and restaurants. But the costs are a little expensive. Then, the location rises again, as a problem. No choice.

As a conclusion, I can't find out the strong reanson to stay there especially for foreigners except conference and convetions. If you need water front atomosphere with reasonable price, not bad choice. But I don't recommend because there are many alternatives. If the area is more developped and have accumulated more city function, it will be good choice in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nikko Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Tokyo

Address: 1-9-1 Daiba, Minato 135-8625, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Minato
#4 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#4 Spa Hotel in Minato
#5 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#9 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Nikko Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nikko Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Tokyo Hotel
Nikko Tokyo Minato
Hotel Nikko Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nikko Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.